This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Chikoko Tree Camp
Chikoko Tree Camp
Chikoko Tree Camp

Reviews of Chikoko Tree Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

104 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Chikoko Tree Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 10 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Chikoko Tree Camp.
Lion

78% success

Leopard

11% success

Wild dog

33% success

Hippo

100% success

Buffalo

80% success

Elephant

80% success

Zebra

80% success

Giraffe

67% success

Spotted Hyena

30% success

Roan antelope

22% success

Wildebeest

20% success

Pangolin

11% success

Sable antelope

11% success

Aardvark

0% success

Eland

0% success

Showing 51-60 of 104
Duration
Arrival date
Mr M & Mrs D
UK

"Sleeping amongst the trees........."

2 nights Arrived 18 Jul 2013
"........ with Elephants below.

From Tafika, a short drive to the river crossing (Crocodile Crossing point) then punted across the Luanga. A very pleasant few hours walking to Chikoko Camp in the company of our Guide (Alex), NP Scout (Alex 2), Justin the Tea-bearer and one other guest.

The camp is smaller and more intimate than Tafika but just as stylish and in another beautiful setting. The food and hospitality is also of the same high standard.

Walking on foot, you may not get the same frequency of large animal encounters. But the intensity of the encounters more than makes up for this. We came across Hyenas and Vultures on an Elephant carcass, and being at eye level to a Hyena certainly makes you feel alive. It was lovely to appreciate the scenery and also to learn about tracks and droppings.
" See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr F & Ms C
Tavistock

"Chikoko Tree Camp review"

1 night Arrived 8 Jul 2013
"A beautiful little camp with the same excellent standards as others in the "Remote Africa" family.

The memory of Chikoko Camp Staff bearing a decorated chocolate cake cooked in a hole in the ground and singing Happy Birthday as my husband blew out the candles will be treasured forever. Remote Africa Safaris know how to go the extra mile!" See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs G
Bristol

"Chikoko Tree Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Jul 2013
"Chikoko Tree Camp is beautiful and in an amazing location. We had an absolutely fabulous time doing the Chikoko walking trail.

All the staff were incredible, the food fantastic and it was a real privilege to be guided by Isaac with his wealth of experience and slightly cheeky sense of humour.

We would thoroughly recommend a few days walking safari and couldn't imagine anywhere better to do it than here.

" See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs D
Toronto

"A place to live in the moment & relax"

2 nights Arrived 28 Jun 2013
"Spending time at Chikoko camp certainly had a different feel to it than driving safari. It was Isaac Zulu who lead us to Chikoko on our first day. I remember how Isaac's great sense of humor set a positive tone to our venturing into the bush right from the start.

The remaining two days at Chikoko were spent with Brent Harris. We enjoyed his guiding style, very relaxed and easy going yet informative. On our last morning walk it was just Alexei & I so we mentioned to Brent we'd like to slow down the pace of walk and try to get closer to animals as long as it was safe. It was exactly what we did and we appreciate Brent's flexibility in helping us do so. Those few hours we spent walking in the bush without rushing, posing to see the wildlife is one of the best moments of the entire trip.

The two days we spent at Chikoko allowed us to forget about the rest of the world living in the moment. The set up of the camp contributed to it, of course. It feels even more relaxed and isolated than Tafika but you really have all the "creature comforts". With basic open fire kitchen, the food was always ready and the bread they bake is fantastic! The staff who looked after our needs are very efficient. I would certainly return back to Chikoko and I'd recommend this camp particularly for those who look for more of an active safari style." See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia; 4n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr B & Ms M
UK

"Chikoko and Crocodile"

1 night Arrived 21 Jun 2013
"Much more basic accomodation as expected, as these are bush camps - but I'd still describe the as luxury camping. We enjoyed both camps and the sence of isolation as there are no roads at all to the camps.

Again enjoyed the walking with Brent." See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr E
France

"Chikoko Tree Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 30 Oct 2012
"Everything was entirely to our liking: wonderful (also vegetarian) food, the chalets, wonderful sightings of lion, leopards, wildebeest, roan antelope, eland etc. etc. The walks with Stephe were much more improvised and took us where there were animals to be seen.

" See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
Stockport

"Chikoko Tree Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 3 Oct 2012
"Chikoko is a walking camp, no drives were on offer. Part of the journey to camp involves crossing the Luangwa river in a canoe.

Walking in the bush is very different to jeep drives, you will see fewer animals because they are more wary of people on foot, but it is really exciting to walk amongst them. Seeing a lion watching you with nothing between except blades of grass really grabs your attention.

We judged the location to be "good" with the river completely dry, but it would have been "excellent" when there is water by the camp. The food was every bit as good as at Tafika - how they do this at such a remote location is amazing. We saw a cake baking in the oven - a hole in the ground - which when we ate it was light and delicious.

The rooms here are on two levels, with the bedroom above and facilities below. The stairs are a bit rustic in nature, and need care at night. We didn't find any problem with this however. The bedroom upstairs has only three walls, being completely open at the front. It is completely private, though, and overlooks the river (dry when we were there).

Same high standards of service as at the main camp, with not many compromises to its remote location. Enjoyed it immensely." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia; 4n in Malawi
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr T & Ms N
Toronto

"Ian and Michelle - Chikoko Tree Camp Review"

2 nights Arrived 2 Oct 2012
"Walking safaris are rather different from game drives. It is great being on the ground hiking along the game trails. I will admit that the heat can be fierce at times but we had been warned about that so can't complain. Our walking Guide Isaac was extremely knowledgeable about a great many things - tough to stump him with a question. He was also full of amusing stories.

The park ranger was very capable both at tracking & spotting game and also at protecting the animals by ensuring we did not put them into a bad situation.

The Tree Camp facilities were great. We liked the idea of a second story bedroom with NO WALL so we had a commanding view of the plain in front of the camp and could watch the Impala, Puku, Kudu, Elan, Warthogs, Elephants, Zebras, Monkeys, baboons, and all the birds.

One of the impressive aspects was the food. There was a small kitchen hidden behind a grass wall. We asked to see the chef after a midday meal and we were amazed to see what great food was being prepared from very rudimentary facilities, based upon open fires." See all these reviews: 7n in Zambia; 6n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs W
Derbyshire

"Chikoko Tree Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 10 Sep 2012
"Guide and guard full of endless knowledge

Always had things to tell you of interest never tired and work with smiles on their faces

I learnt so much and nothing seemed too much trouble" See all these reviews: 16n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs G
Thirsk

"I won't forget Chikoko!"

2 nights Arrived 12 Jun 2012
"This camp is outstanding for the feeling of remoteness and for experiencing the African bush under the stars! There were some terrific night sounds including roaring lions very close to the camp which we were lucky enough to spot later on, lying in the sun, while we were eating breakfast round the campfire.

The guide was fantastic; he was very informative and went out of his way to guide us to see as much as possible. He interacted very well with us all and we felt very confident on the walking safaris.

All the staff were very friendly, attentive and professional. Nothing was too much trouble and the food and accommodation were exceptional. It was a truly amazing place to be and an experience I'll never forget." See all these reviews: 4n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 51-60 of 104
99%
104 reviews of Chikoko Tree Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
100
4
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in South Luangwa National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Tafika

Tafika

Tafika is one of the best camps in Zambia: naturally built, with few apparent luxuries, but actually very high quality. Service and food are excellent, but the real focus is on top guiding skills and wildlife experience.


98% (274 reviews)
Nkwali

Nkwali

In the heart of South Luangwa, overlooking the river, Nkwali is unusual in being open year round. It offers great safaris; a high standard of food, service and care; and an excellent springboard for Robin Pope's various safaris in the park.


96% (202 reviews)
Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp is a small, owner-run camp in a quiet but excellent game area of the Luangwa. Photographers will particularly appreciate the camp’s series of wildlife hides.


96% (188 reviews)
Nsefu

Nsefu

One of the Luangwa's oldest camps, Nsefu is a great safari camp in a remote, beautiful and game-rich location with top-rate guiding.


98% (166 reviews)
Tena Tena

Tena Tena

Tena Tena is one of the Luangwa's best camps in a beautiful location – it's very small, feels very remote and 'in the bush', is run exceedingly well and has top rate guiding.


95% (137 reviews)
Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba is a small, fairly simple, owner-run bushcamp in an excellent game area. It offers first-class walking, 4WD safaris and great game hides; come for excellent guides and a real bush feel.


99% (126 reviews)
Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp is a great little rustic bushcamp built to high standards that focuses on excellent walking safaris, with the emphasis on top wildlife guides.


98% (82 reviews)
Kapani Lodge

Kapani Lodge

Just on the south-east side of the national park, Kapani Lodge is the base camp for Norman Carr Safaris, one of the Luangwa's oldest safari operations. It's also a very solid safari camp that has retained lots of character, and runs very well indeed.


95% (80 reviews)
Mchenja Bushcamp

Mchenja Bushcamp

Set in a shady ebony grove on the banks of the Luangwa, Mchenja is a smart tented bushcamp. It combines well with Kakuli and Nsolo – its sister camps with a focus on walking safaris.


98% (63 reviews)
Kakuli Bushcamp

Kakuli Bushcamp

Beside the Luangwa River, Kakuli is a comfortable tented bushcamp offering 4WD safaris and walking safaris – the best of which are camp-to-camp walks linking Kakuli with its nearby sister camps.


97% (62 reviews)
Flatdogs Camp

Flatdogs Camp

A relatively big but very good safari camp, Flatdogs offers value for money with great guiding and good food in a comfortable, relaxed setting.


98% (61 reviews)
Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Lodge is a small and consciously stylish lodge in the Mfuwe area, overlooking the Luangwa River and the South Luangwa National Park beyond – an area renowned for great game.


96% (60 reviews)
Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo is a small, comfortable bushcamp overlooking one or two pools in the usually dry Luwi riverbed. It concentrates on walking safaris in an interesting and diverse area, led by a knowledgeable guide.


97% (52 reviews)
Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta is a laid-back, friendly and good-value lodge on the outskirts of South Lunagwa National Park.


96% (39 reviews)
Luwi Bushcamp

Luwi Bushcamp

In a remote part of the South Luangwa National Park, Luwi is a rustic bushcamp whose emphasis is on walking safaris with great guiding and a chance of seeing some rarely seen and elusive antelope.


93% (38 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris bush-camp

Robin Pope bush-camp

RPS bushcamping in South Luangwa National Park, Zambia


99% (25 reviews)
Lion Camp

Lion Camp

Lion Camp is an established and comfortable camp with a swimming pool, located near to the game-rich Lion Plain in the northern part of South Luangwa National Park.


94% (22 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris walking safari

Robin Pope walking

A seven-day Robin Pope Walking Safari in South Luangwa National Park starts and finishes at a permanent camp, with five days walking between comfortable mobile camps.


98% (21 reviews)
Kapamba Bushcamp

Kapamba Bushcamp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Kapamba is a small and very comfortable bushcamp offering good walks and game drives.


94% (17 reviews)
Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House is a vast and very smart four-bedroom house specifically designed for families and small groups, and offering an exclusive and flexible safari experience.


100% (14 reviews)
Chinzombo

Chinzombo

Opened in early June 2013, Chinzombo offers luxurious and stylish accommodation with very high levels of service and excellent guiding.


98% (13 reviews)
Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp is a classic bushcamp with particularly delightful hosts and offers top-class walking safaris in South Luangwa National Park.


98% (13 reviews)
Bilimungwe Bushcamp

Bilimungwe Bushcamp

A smart bushcamp with four very spacious chalets, Bilimungwe offers interesting walking safaris in pretty riverine woodland, as well as day and night safari drives.


95% (12 reviews)
Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village – beside the South Luangwa National Park, offers guests the rare opportunity to appreciate local village life. Visit for a few hours or stay overnight.


95% (11 reviews)
Robin's House

Robin's House

With your own expert guide, private vehicle, chef and valet, the two-bedroom Robin's House offers an exclusive, flexible safari experience – and is open year round.


94% (10 reviews)
Three Rivers Camp

Three Rivers Camp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Three Rivers Lodge is being constructed by the confluence of three of the valleys rivers.


94% (10 reviews)
Mfuwe Lodge

Mfuwe Lodge

In a game-rich area close to the South Luangwa’s main Mfuwe Gate, Mfuwe Lodge is relatively large by park standards, but it’s stylish, modern and family friendly.


90% (10 reviews)
Island Bush Camp

Island Bush Camp

Island Bushcamp is a good-value, rustic, walking-only camp, in arguably one of the most remote parts of the South Luangwa, well away from all other camps.


100% (9 reviews)
Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge is a luxurious designer camp set in a stunning location, high on a hill overlooking a floodplain within South Luangwa. Explore from here on 4WD safaris and walks.


93% (9 reviews)
Chindeni

Chindeni

Chindeni Bushcamp is a very modern and minimalist camp, which is a far cry from your traditional bushcamp and unlike most of the other camps in South Luangwa.


94% (7 reviews)
Chamilandu Bushcamp

Chamilandu Bushcamp

A very comfortable little bushcamp, Chamilandu has a picturesque setting by the Luangwa River, with a range of habitats that can be explored on foot and by 4WD, day and night.


100% (5 reviews)
Mwamba Camp-out

Mwamba Camp-out

The Mwamba-Camp Out allows you to have an incredibly adventurous night in the bush, sleeping under mosquito nets with activities led by some of the best guides in Zambia.


90% (4 reviews)
Zungulila

Zungulila

Zungulila is a small, comfortable tented bushcamp with an emphasis on walking safaris, in the remote southern section of the South Luangwa.


93% (3 reviews)
Chichele Presidential Lodge

Chichele Lodge

Chichele Presidential Lodge stands within the park on a hill with superb views. Its hotel-like, air-conditioned rooms and child-friendly attitude make it ideal for families or those who don't want to get too close to the bush outside.


100% (1 review)
Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

For an adventurous night in South Luangwa National Park, come and sleep out in the bush, around a campfire, with an experienced guide and game scout.


100% (1 review)
Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp is a basic safari camp in the far north of the South Luangwa, with walking safaris led by renowned guide Deb Tittle.


No reviews yet
Shawa Luangwa Camp

Shawa Camp

Due to open in June 2020, we’re expecting Shawa Luangwa Camp to be a small, intimate and rustic camp, with a good location in a remote section of the South Luangwa National Park.


No reviews yet
Chikunto Safari Lodge

Chikunto

Chikunto Safari Lodge is a new property in Zambia's South Luangwa National Park, sitting on a peninsula of land created by the meandering Luangwa River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa