This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Chikoko Tree Camp
Chikoko Tree Camp
Chikoko Tree Camp

Reviews of Chikoko Tree Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

104 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Chikoko Tree Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 10 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Chikoko Tree Camp.
Lion

78% success

Leopard

11% success

Wild dog

33% success

Hippo

100% success

Buffalo

80% success

Elephant

80% success

Zebra

80% success

Giraffe

67% success

Spotted Hyena

30% success

Roan antelope

22% success

Wildebeest

20% success

Pangolin

11% success

Sable antelope

11% success

Aardvark

0% success

Eland

0% success

Showing 61-70 of 104
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs D
London

"Chikoko Tree Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 24 Oct 2011
"Another winner. Chikoko is in the most gorgeous location and the chalets (may not be the proper word) are beautifully placed and comfortable but not at the expense of their beauty and simplicity. After a little bit of a tricky start (one of our twin bedded rooms was available and we spent the first night in the guide's chalet - not with him of course!) it was perfect. Mix-ups happen and John Coppinger was most apologetic so this isn't worth any kind of fuss.

We were lucky with the other guests on the second night, who were amusing and lively company. I suppose with such an intimate set-up, we could have picked the short straw and found ourselves stuck in the Bush with people we couldn't stick, which could have been a bit of a downer (for them too as four women of a certain age isn't everyone's cup of tea) but that fate was avoided, particularly on the second night.

The staff are charming and most attentive and the food is fabulous. Bravo Patson. Alex Phiri is a charming and interesting host and most knowledgeable guide too and we loved being reunited with the irrepressible Brighton, owner of Africa's most engaging laugh for sure.

One small point is worth making. On our first day's walk there was a logistical challenge as two guests from Chikoko had to be swopped with two from Crocodile Camp, not a simple thing to sychronise in the Zambian Bush. However, the four and a half hour walk in blistering heat was too long for most of us. Two of our group is over 70 and I am the youngest at almost 60. I realise that as part of a larger group, it's not possible to hive off when the going gets too much but the walk was an endurance test for us, given the very high temperature.

Alex was able to show us some fascinating things, we would never have picked up elsewhere but we found the tests a bit of a challenge - or maybe it was just that the heat got to us." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr & Mrs C
Henley

"roan antelope at last"

2 nights Arrived 28 Sep 2011
"This was our 4th visit as we like the layout and no-car style of this little camp. Walking to/from camp with Isaac & Batwell we saw 8 roan antelope, Cookson wildebeest, kudu and eland, plus a nice lion looking the other way until he heard us.

The roan we had missed on 3 previous visits - they are magnificent animals with fine ears and horns appearing like a star on their high head. Isaac patiently retaught us the flora and fauna, and his stories are a joy." See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Dr P
Aberdeenshire

"Chikoko tree camp"

2 nights Arrived 25 Sep 2011
"I loved this place! The rooms have a downstairs bathroom and the bed is upstairs along with a viewing platform which also means that the bedroom is fully open on one side, letting in air and light in abundance.

I gathered from reading the visitors book that one, there wasn't even roofs above the bed, which sounds like a great idea for stargazing at night.

The game viewing was excellent here, too, and the food retained the high quality experienced at Tafika." See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr W & Ms W
NL

"Chikoko Tree Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2011
"Just like before this was one of the best places we stayed in." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 13n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs I
Cheadle

"Chikoko Tree Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 30 Jul 2011
"Brilliant walking country - we loved being able to soak up the sounds and smells as well as the sights.

We had been impressed by the standard of cooking at Tafika but were bowled over by what the chef produced at Chikoko e.g bread and cake from the same wood fired oven...

We loved the open wall on the bedroom.

I felt that there was no need for the shower to have a higher wall to protect the ladies' modesty - who's looking??" See all these reviews: 6n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs G
Sweden

"Great walking in a very intriguing habitat."

1 night Arrived 16 Jul 2011
"Very good walk to Chikoko. Excellent guiding (Stephen). Two storey "huts" gave excellent view. Everything well kept, clean, plenty off hot water for the shower. Food very good.

Afternoon walk brought us to a heard of some 200 buffalos and an open grassland of pukus, impalas, warthogs, elephants, elands, kudus and baboons, not to mention all the birds." See all these reviews: 18n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs P
Volcano

"Chikoko Tree Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 21 Jun 2011
"Our 2 nights at Chikoko were wonderful. Great camp location overlooking a game-filled area. There was always something to see while relaxing in camp! Our host and guide, Isaac, was a wealth of information and we enjoyed his sense of humor. The daily walking was leisurely, and we saw quite a bit of game, although the lions and eland eluded us!

The elevated room was very nice and comfortable.

The camp facilities were excellent for a walk-in camp.

Meals were excellent, and the bread that came out of the underground "oven" was fantastic!" See all these reviews: 10n in Zimbabwe; 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
Chichester

"Great sightings in a short visit"

1 night Arrived 5 Oct 2010
"Like Crocodile, this is another good bush camp, feeling reasonably remote despite its accessabiility, and with attentive staff. We found the walking and the environment more varied than at Crocodile.

Of course, this might just reflect our fortunes - we found lion and roan while walking, had a very atmospheric encounter with a large buffalo herd and had some great bird sightings (particularly maribou stork and marshall eagle). The split level rooms are unusual but work well." See all these reviews: 19n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr & Mrs C
Henley

"super bushcamp"

2 nights Arrived 25 Sep 2010
"We were on our own so had the full attention of Stephen Banda who is a top guide. Sightings from the camp were good all day and the walks were varied and lovely.

The area was full of animals this year. A zebra was killed just outside and the growing noise from Impala, Baboon, Puku and then Zebra was exciting, until finally the hyenas joined in. We tracked the kill down next morning and most had already gone.

Very nice to see the same staff year on year in the kitchen and looking after us. Being a simple bushcamp suits us very well as we do not want tiled floors or baths , but do like a shower and a flush toilet. As it is completely open at the front the atmosphere is great, but safe enough." See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs H
Lancs

"Chikoko Tree Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 23 Sep 2010
"This was probably the most memorable part of our holiday! Wonderful, informative, exciting walks with an expert guide, Isaac.

Good food and comfortable rooms.

Best of all -- the feeling of being close to the animals in pristine surroundings. Magic!" See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 61-70 of 104
99%
104 reviews of Chikoko Tree Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
100
4
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in South Luangwa National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Tafika

Tafika

Tafika is one of the best camps in Zambia: naturally built, with few apparent luxuries, but actually very high quality. Service and food are excellent, but the real focus is on top guiding skills and wildlife experience.


98% (275 reviews)
Nkwali

Nkwali

In the heart of South Luangwa, overlooking the river, Nkwali is unusual in being open year round. It offers great safaris; a high standard of food, service and care; and an excellent springboard for Robin Pope's various safaris in the park.


96% (203 reviews)
Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp is a small, owner-run camp in a quiet but excellent game area of the Luangwa. Photographers will particularly appreciate the camp’s series of wildlife hides.


96% (188 reviews)
Nsefu

Nsefu

One of the Luangwa's oldest camps, Nsefu is a great safari camp in a remote, beautiful and game-rich location with top-rate guiding.


98% (166 reviews)
Tena Tena

Tena Tena

Tena Tena is one of the Luangwa's best camps in a beautiful location – it's very small, feels very remote and 'in the bush', is run exceedingly well and has top rate guiding.


95% (137 reviews)
Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba is a small, fairly simple, owner-run bushcamp in an excellent game area. It offers first-class walking, 4WD safaris and great game hides; come for excellent guides and a real bush feel.


99% (126 reviews)
Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp is a great little rustic bushcamp built to high standards that focuses on excellent walking safaris, with the emphasis on top wildlife guides.


98% (82 reviews)
Kapani Lodge

Kapani Lodge

Just on the south-east side of the national park, Kapani Lodge is the base camp for Norman Carr Safaris, one of the Luangwa's oldest safari operations. It's also a very solid safari camp that has retained lots of character, and runs very well indeed.


95% (80 reviews)
Mchenja Bushcamp

Mchenja Bushcamp

Set in a shady ebony grove on the banks of the Luangwa, Mchenja is a smart tented bushcamp. It combines well with Kakuli and Nsolo – its sister camps with a focus on walking safaris.


98% (63 reviews)
Kakuli Bushcamp

Kakuli Bushcamp

Beside the Luangwa River, Kakuli is a comfortable tented bushcamp offering 4WD safaris and walking safaris – the best of which are camp-to-camp walks linking Kakuli with its nearby sister camps.


97% (62 reviews)
Flatdogs Camp

Flatdogs Camp

A relatively big but very good safari camp, Flatdogs offers value for money with great guiding and good food in a comfortable, relaxed setting.


98% (61 reviews)
Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Lodge is a small and consciously stylish lodge in the Mfuwe area, overlooking the Luangwa River and the South Luangwa National Park beyond – an area renowned for great game.


96% (60 reviews)
Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo is a small, comfortable bushcamp overlooking one or two pools in the usually dry Luwi riverbed. It concentrates on walking safaris in an interesting and diverse area, led by a knowledgeable guide.


97% (52 reviews)
Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta is a laid-back, friendly and good-value lodge on the outskirts of South Lunagwa National Park.


96% (39 reviews)
Luwi Bushcamp

Luwi Bushcamp

In a remote part of the South Luangwa National Park, Luwi is a rustic bushcamp whose emphasis is on walking safaris with great guiding and a chance of seeing some rarely seen and elusive antelope.


93% (38 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris bush-camp

Robin Pope bush-camp

RPS bushcamping in South Luangwa National Park, Zambia


99% (25 reviews)
Lion Camp

Lion Camp

Lion Camp is an established and comfortable camp with a swimming pool, located near to the game-rich Lion Plain in the northern part of South Luangwa National Park.


94% (22 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris walking safari

Robin Pope walking

A seven-day Robin Pope Walking Safari in South Luangwa National Park starts and finishes at a permanent camp, with five days walking between comfortable mobile camps.


98% (21 reviews)
Kapamba Bushcamp

Kapamba Bushcamp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Kapamba is a small and very comfortable bushcamp offering good walks and game drives.


94% (17 reviews)
Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House is a vast and very smart four-bedroom house specifically designed for families and small groups, and offering an exclusive and flexible safari experience.


100% (14 reviews)
Chinzombo

Chinzombo

Opened in early June 2013, Chinzombo offers luxurious and stylish accommodation with very high levels of service and excellent guiding.


98% (13 reviews)
Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp is a classic bushcamp with particularly delightful hosts and offers top-class walking safaris in South Luangwa National Park.


98% (13 reviews)
Bilimungwe Bushcamp

Bilimungwe Bushcamp

A smart bushcamp with four very spacious chalets, Bilimungwe offers interesting walking safaris in pretty riverine woodland, as well as day and night safari drives.


95% (12 reviews)
Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village – beside the South Luangwa National Park, offers guests the rare opportunity to appreciate local village life. Visit for a few hours or stay overnight.


95% (11 reviews)
Robin's House

Robin's House

With your own expert guide, private vehicle, chef and valet, the two-bedroom Robin's House offers an exclusive, flexible safari experience – and is open year round.


94% (10 reviews)
Three Rivers Camp

Three Rivers Camp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Three Rivers Lodge is being constructed by the confluence of three of the valleys rivers.


94% (10 reviews)
Mfuwe Lodge

Mfuwe Lodge

In a game-rich area close to the South Luangwa’s main Mfuwe Gate, Mfuwe Lodge is relatively large by park standards, but it’s stylish, modern and family friendly.


90% (10 reviews)
Island Bush Camp

Island Bush Camp

Island Bushcamp is a good-value, rustic, walking-only camp, in arguably one of the most remote parts of the South Luangwa, well away from all other camps.


100% (9 reviews)
Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge is a luxurious designer camp set in a stunning location, high on a hill overlooking a floodplain within South Luangwa. Explore from here on 4WD safaris and walks.


93% (9 reviews)
Chindeni

Chindeni

Chindeni Bushcamp is a very modern and minimalist camp, which is a far cry from your traditional bushcamp and unlike most of the other camps in South Luangwa.


94% (7 reviews)
Chamilandu Bushcamp

Chamilandu Bushcamp

A very comfortable little bushcamp, Chamilandu has a picturesque setting by the Luangwa River, with a range of habitats that can be explored on foot and by 4WD, day and night.


100% (5 reviews)
Mwamba Camp-out

Mwamba Camp-out

The Mwamba-Camp Out allows you to have an incredibly adventurous night in the bush, sleeping under mosquito nets with activities led by some of the best guides in Zambia.


90% (4 reviews)
Zungulila

Zungulila

Zungulila is a small, comfortable tented bushcamp with an emphasis on walking safaris, in the remote southern section of the South Luangwa.


93% (3 reviews)
Chichele Presidential Lodge

Chichele Lodge

Chichele Presidential Lodge stands within the park on a hill with superb views. Its hotel-like, air-conditioned rooms and child-friendly attitude make it ideal for families or those who don't want to get too close to the bush outside.


100% (1 review)
Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

For an adventurous night in South Luangwa National Park, come and sleep out in the bush, around a campfire, with an experienced guide and game scout.


100% (1 review)
Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp is a basic safari camp in the far north of the South Luangwa, with walking safaris led by renowned guide Deb Tittle.


No reviews yet
Shawa Luangwa Camp

Shawa Camp

Due to open in June 2020, we’re expecting Shawa Luangwa Camp to be a small, intimate and rustic camp, with a good location in a remote section of the South Luangwa National Park.


No reviews yet
Chikunto Safari Lodge

Chikunto

Chikunto Safari Lodge is a new property in Zambia's South Luangwa National Park, sitting on a peninsula of land created by the meandering Luangwa River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa