This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Chikoko Tree Camp
Chikoko Tree Camp
Chikoko Tree Camp

Reviews of Chikoko Tree Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

104 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Chikoko Tree Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 10 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Chikoko Tree Camp.
Lion

78% success

Leopard

11% success

Wild dog

33% success

Hippo

100% success

Buffalo

80% success

Elephant

80% success

Zebra

80% success

Giraffe

67% success

Spotted Hyena

30% success

Roan antelope

22% success

Wildebeest

20% success

Pangolin

11% success

Sable antelope

11% success

Aardvark

0% success

Eland

0% success

Showing 41-50 of 104
Duration
Arrival date
B family
Switzerland

"A great experience"

2 nights Arrived 8 Oct 2013
"As Tafika Chikoko Tree Camp surpassed our wishes. With Brent we had a fabulous guide. Steward is a very knowledgable scout and it makes you feel good to have these guys around you while walking in the bush. The third in the bush walking team was the tea porter George, but he makes much more then carrying tea. You have to witness is yourself, nothing more is said here.

The chalets are great, the food in a camp where everything is made bush style (fresh bread and cakes in an oven in the ground) is excellent and all the staff friendly and helpful. Walking in the bush and staying in Chikoko was a highlight. You have to be aware though, that a minimal amount of fitness is needed, especially in the hot season." See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Kent

"Perfection"

1 night Arrived 25 Sep 2013
"Absolutely wonderful experience.

The camp was quite simply constructed, as a remote bush camp should be, but everything we needed was provided. The standard of service at the camp was extraordinarily good, especially considering that everything had to be carried in from the nearest river crossing.

The food in particular was wonderful, all cooked from fresh on site. The game walks were brilliant, a 4 hour walk at sunrise and a 2 hour walk late afternoon), brilliantly led by Alex, our guide and camp manager." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia; 7n in Zambia; 2n in Zimbabwe; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr & Mrs C
Henley

"chikoko a fine bushcamp"

2 nights Arrived 25 Sep 2013
"No electricity or mobiles - so what. This is a real bushcamp with no frills but comfortable and friendly. We tracked lions twice." See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr P & Ms F
Stirling

"Crocodile - Chikoko walking tour"

1 night Arrived 18 Sep 2013
"This was part of a circular tour we did from Tafika via Crocodile, Chikoko and back to Tafika. Our Guides were Brent and Mukupa with scout Levy.

This camp has two storey huts which provide good views over the grasslands in front of the camp. The comfort and cuisine here match the other Remote Africa Safari camps, and the staff are friendly and helpful.

We had good sightings of mixed groups of animals here, which made for great photos in the soft evening light." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Prof V & Mr T
Oxford

"Idyllic tree-houses"

2 nights Arrived 17 Sep 2013
"This was our favourite of all the places we stayed. Unbelievable numbers of animals on the plain right in front of our tree-house.

We were looked after by an excellent team (Alex the guide, Alex the scout, and James and Crispin running the camp). Just an utterly romantic place to be." See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms M
North London

"Magical place"

2 nights Arrived 8 Sep 2013
"Chikoko lived up to everything we expected from a walking safari and more.

The setting is magical - right in the middle of the bush, peaceful and comfortable. We loved our quirky 2 storey hut and soon got used to the steep "staircase" down to the bathroom (which had a great view over the dry river). The food and service in the camp were both excellent, and how they produce such wonderful and plentiful food with such basic facilities is amazing.

We had Isaac as our guide and he knows everything! I can't praise the walking, the team and the whole experience of staying at Chikoko enough." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs C
E Sussex

"Chikoko Tree Camp"

2 nights Arrived 5 Sep 2013
"We had a super time at Chikoko - it is in a splendid spot and the rooms are very comfortable and, whilst the stairs need a certain concentration, they are not a problem - heavens alive, we are in the bush not at the Savoy!

We had a very happy stay and have nothing but praise for this little camp - indeed, to have a maximum of six guests is brilliant, so long as you have the right guests which we did!" See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
The H Family
Germany

"Great camps in a remote area only for walking"

2 nights Arrived 3 Sep 2013
"Crocodile Bushcamp and Chikoko Tree Camp

After leaving Kaingo and crossing the Luangwa river two times by canoe we reached Crocodile Bushcamp. The area is an only walking area without any vehicles or their tracks around. On our 3 day walking safari we walked around the camps and from one camp to the other.

Crocodile Bushcamp and Chikoko Tree Camp are rustic but wonderful places to stay in the wild and without missing anything (remember no vehicles: everything incl. food and drinking water has to be carried to the camps by porters !!!). The food is fantasic and we didn't understand how they create those delicious meals just with an hole in the bottom oven!!! Like in all the other camps we had visited on our safari also the staff of these 2 bushcamps was so friendly and helpful.

Our guide during the whole walking safari was Isaak with an incredible guiding experience of more than 40 years !!!! He was the best walking guide we could have got. In his presence there was no moment where we felt uncomfortable or unsafe even when approaching lions or having unexpected encounters with hippos or elephants.

A walking safari is an other wonderful experience - you are part of the nature you visit and although we saw many big and small animals (I was surprised how close we could get to many of them) you see and learn so much about the small things you usually miss when going by vehicle. And Isaak told us so much about all those things - it was really fantastic!

In conclusion: If you visit Zambia don't miss to go on a walking safari - and Crocodile Bushcamp and Chikoko Tree Camp in an only walking area are perfect places to do it! (... and ask for Isaak as your Guide !!!)" See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs S & family
Quebec

"Amazing"

1 night Arrived 12 Aug 2013
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs I
Cheadle

"Chikoko Tree Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Jul 2013
"Again, excellent guiding and wonderful walking with a lovely camp to begin and end the day in," See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia; 4n in Malawi
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 41-50 of 104
99%
104 reviews of Chikoko Tree Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
100
4
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in South Luangwa National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Tafika

Tafika

Tafika is one of the best camps in Zambia: naturally built, with few apparent luxuries, but actually very high quality. Service and food are excellent, but the real focus is on top guiding skills and wildlife experience.


98% (275 reviews)
Nkwali

Nkwali

In the heart of South Luangwa, overlooking the river, Nkwali is unusual in being open year round. It offers great safaris; a high standard of food, service and care; and an excellent springboard for Robin Pope's various safaris in the park.


96% (203 reviews)
Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp is a small, owner-run camp in a quiet but excellent game area of the Luangwa. Photographers will particularly appreciate the camp’s series of wildlife hides.


96% (188 reviews)
Nsefu

Nsefu

One of the Luangwa's oldest camps, Nsefu is a great safari camp in a remote, beautiful and game-rich location with top-rate guiding.


98% (166 reviews)
Tena Tena

Tena Tena

Tena Tena is one of the Luangwa's best camps in a beautiful location – it's very small, feels very remote and 'in the bush', is run exceedingly well and has top rate guiding.


95% (137 reviews)
Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba is a small, fairly simple, owner-run bushcamp in an excellent game area. It offers first-class walking, 4WD safaris and great game hides; come for excellent guides and a real bush feel.


99% (126 reviews)
Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp is a great little rustic bushcamp built to high standards that focuses on excellent walking safaris, with the emphasis on top wildlife guides.


98% (82 reviews)
Kapani Lodge

Kapani Lodge

Just on the south-east side of the national park, Kapani Lodge is the base camp for Norman Carr Safaris, one of the Luangwa's oldest safari operations. It's also a very solid safari camp that has retained lots of character, and runs very well indeed.


95% (80 reviews)
Mchenja Bushcamp

Mchenja Bushcamp

Set in a shady ebony grove on the banks of the Luangwa, Mchenja is a smart tented bushcamp. It combines well with Kakuli and Nsolo – its sister camps with a focus on walking safaris.


98% (63 reviews)
Kakuli Bushcamp

Kakuli Bushcamp

Beside the Luangwa River, Kakuli is a comfortable tented bushcamp offering 4WD safaris and walking safaris – the best of which are camp-to-camp walks linking Kakuli with its nearby sister camps.


97% (62 reviews)
Flatdogs Camp

Flatdogs Camp

A relatively big but very good safari camp, Flatdogs offers value for money with great guiding and good food in a comfortable, relaxed setting.


98% (61 reviews)
Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Lodge is a small and consciously stylish lodge in the Mfuwe area, overlooking the Luangwa River and the South Luangwa National Park beyond – an area renowned for great game.


96% (60 reviews)
Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo is a small, comfortable bushcamp overlooking one or two pools in the usually dry Luwi riverbed. It concentrates on walking safaris in an interesting and diverse area, led by a knowledgeable guide.


97% (52 reviews)
Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta is a laid-back, friendly and good-value lodge on the outskirts of South Lunagwa National Park.


96% (39 reviews)
Luwi Bushcamp

Luwi Bushcamp

In a remote part of the South Luangwa National Park, Luwi is a rustic bushcamp whose emphasis is on walking safaris with great guiding and a chance of seeing some rarely seen and elusive antelope.


93% (38 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris bush-camp

Robin Pope bush-camp

RPS bushcamping in South Luangwa National Park, Zambia


99% (25 reviews)
Lion Camp

Lion Camp

Lion Camp is an established and comfortable camp with a swimming pool, located near to the game-rich Lion Plain in the northern part of South Luangwa National Park.


94% (22 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris walking safari

Robin Pope walking

A seven-day Robin Pope Walking Safari in South Luangwa National Park starts and finishes at a permanent camp, with five days walking between comfortable mobile camps.


98% (21 reviews)
Kapamba Bushcamp

Kapamba Bushcamp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Kapamba is a small and very comfortable bushcamp offering good walks and game drives.


94% (17 reviews)
Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House is a vast and very smart four-bedroom house specifically designed for families and small groups, and offering an exclusive and flexible safari experience.


100% (14 reviews)
Chinzombo

Chinzombo

Opened in early June 2013, Chinzombo offers luxurious and stylish accommodation with very high levels of service and excellent guiding.


98% (13 reviews)
Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp is a classic bushcamp with particularly delightful hosts and offers top-class walking safaris in South Luangwa National Park.


98% (13 reviews)
Bilimungwe Bushcamp

Bilimungwe Bushcamp

A smart bushcamp with four very spacious chalets, Bilimungwe offers interesting walking safaris in pretty riverine woodland, as well as day and night safari drives.


95% (12 reviews)
Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village – beside the South Luangwa National Park, offers guests the rare opportunity to appreciate local village life. Visit for a few hours or stay overnight.


95% (11 reviews)
Robin's House

Robin's House

With your own expert guide, private vehicle, chef and valet, the two-bedroom Robin's House offers an exclusive, flexible safari experience – and is open year round.


94% (10 reviews)
Three Rivers Camp

Three Rivers Camp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Three Rivers Lodge is being constructed by the confluence of three of the valleys rivers.


94% (10 reviews)
Mfuwe Lodge

Mfuwe Lodge

In a game-rich area close to the South Luangwa’s main Mfuwe Gate, Mfuwe Lodge is relatively large by park standards, but it’s stylish, modern and family friendly.


90% (10 reviews)
Island Bush Camp

Island Bush Camp

Island Bushcamp is a good-value, rustic, walking-only camp, in arguably one of the most remote parts of the South Luangwa, well away from all other camps.


100% (9 reviews)
Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge is a luxurious designer camp set in a stunning location, high on a hill overlooking a floodplain within South Luangwa. Explore from here on 4WD safaris and walks.


93% (9 reviews)
Chindeni

Chindeni

Chindeni Bushcamp is a very modern and minimalist camp, which is a far cry from your traditional bushcamp and unlike most of the other camps in South Luangwa.


94% (7 reviews)
Chamilandu Bushcamp

Chamilandu Bushcamp

A very comfortable little bushcamp, Chamilandu has a picturesque setting by the Luangwa River, with a range of habitats that can be explored on foot and by 4WD, day and night.


100% (5 reviews)
Mwamba Camp-out

Mwamba Camp-out

The Mwamba-Camp Out allows you to have an incredibly adventurous night in the bush, sleeping under mosquito nets with activities led by some of the best guides in Zambia.


90% (4 reviews)
Zungulila

Zungulila

Zungulila is a small, comfortable tented bushcamp with an emphasis on walking safaris, in the remote southern section of the South Luangwa.


93% (3 reviews)
Chichele Presidential Lodge

Chichele Lodge

Chichele Presidential Lodge stands within the park on a hill with superb views. Its hotel-like, air-conditioned rooms and child-friendly attitude make it ideal for families or those who don't want to get too close to the bush outside.


100% (1 review)
Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

For an adventurous night in South Luangwa National Park, come and sleep out in the bush, around a campfire, with an experienced guide and game scout.


100% (1 review)
Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp is a basic safari camp in the far north of the South Luangwa, with walking safaris led by renowned guide Deb Tittle.


No reviews yet
Shawa Luangwa Camp

Shawa Camp

Due to open in June 2020, we’re expecting Shawa Luangwa Camp to be a small, intimate and rustic camp, with a good location in a remote section of the South Luangwa National Park.


No reviews yet
Chikunto Safari Lodge

Chikunto

Chikunto Safari Lodge is a new property in Zambia's South Luangwa National Park, sitting on a peninsula of land created by the meandering Luangwa River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa