This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Nkwali
Nkwali
Nkwali
Nkwali
Nkwali
Nkwali
Nkwali

Reviews of Nkwali

Wildlife sightings and reviews

240 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Nkwali and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Apr-2018, 62 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Nkwali.
Lion

89% success

Leopard

93% success

Wild dog

63% success

Hippo

100% success

Elephant

98% success

Giraffe

98% success

Zebra

98% success

Buffalo

86% success

Spotted Hyena

84% success

Wildebeest

26% success

Eland

8% success

Roan antelope

6% success

Aardvark

4% success

Sable antelope

4% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 211-220 of 240
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs W
Poole

"Nkwali review"

3 nights Arrived 9 May 2009
"Although this was our first Safari and first visit to the Continent of Africa, the trip lived up to all our expectations." See all these reviews: 7n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr Y & Dr C
Essex

"Nkwali review"

4 nights Arrived 5 May 2009
"This was our fourth visit and we enjoyed some wonderful wildlife again. In one 24 hour period we saw a Leopard hunting in daylight (unsuccessfully), had wine on the river watching the sun go down, a pride of lions at night and a pack of wild dogs the following morning. In between there was a barbeque in the bush under tha stars.

We might have been especially lucky on previous visits, but we wdidn't feel that we were made to feel as special this time. We were not asked by the camp if we wanted to go walking or on a boat trip although these were arranged when we asked. There was a large South African birding group in camp which seemed to take priority and the best guides. Ours was enthusiastic and helpful, but inexperienced.

Another very good experience, but not sure we'd go back to Nkwali. Even at this time of the year we came across a number of other vehicles (admittedly most from Nkwlai or the Robin Pope houses." See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr C & family
Dorset

"Nkwali - fantastic"

6 nights Arrived 9 Apr 2009
"Everything about it was brilliant. Service was superb and extremely friendly - nothing was too much trouble

The food was consistently excellent

Our guide - Sebastian - was very knowledgable and very helpful

Cannot recommend it too highly" See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
Hythe

"Nkwali review"

8 nights Arrived 26 Mar 2009
"Wild Dog week - on arrival there was confusion on who was leading the week activities (R Pope or WDC) and it took a couple of days to sort out what was happening as there was no initial greet and inform on the week. We had a fantastic time anyway but this is something that could be improved.

The WDC people were wonderful and the standard of guide at R Pope's was excellent based on our experience of Botswana including Kwando, Namibia and South Africa. We had 4 different guides with different personalities but all very good. R Pope's were extremely accomodating in trying to offer multiple activities for each taste when the wild dog were showing no sign of coming close to the area. 9 leopard in 8 days is pretty good and elephant shrew and white tailed mongoose a bonus, birding fantastic.

Transport across river novel and good for quick park access. Nice to be able to go by boat on the river. More game than we expected for emereld season and with the wild dog finally turing up, a whole day with them was a bonus that you wouldn't get on any other trip.

N'kwali is a lovely camp especially for emereld season. Good access, friendly and confident staff, excellent food without feeling force fed. We had to ration the cake intake!

Having said we wouldn't normally go to the same camp twice - we would with N'kwali." See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs G
Beckenham

"A Christmas to remember."

7 nights Arrived 18 Dec 2008
"We were lucky to be upgraded to Robin's House giving us the unexpected, but very welcome, luxury of our own bungalow complete with a dedicated team to look after us. We also had the benefit of game drives with just the two of us on board. The game viewing wasn't spectacular - as is often the case at this time of year - but our guide, Obi, ensured that there was always something of interest to see just around the next bend. Game viewing highlights included a pair of Pels Fishing Owls, spending time up close with elephants and their calves, and a male lion roaring from only 10m away!

Having the use of boats on our doorstep (literally) to get across the river, and into the park, added to the overall experience. Opportunities for walking were somewhat curtailed due to the muddy conditions underfoot, but we manged to get out twice during our 6 days there.

The carol concert, where all the safari lodges and their guests congregated under a nerby baobab tree, is a memory that will stay with us for many Christmas's to come So, too, was the excellent play performed by local drama group, Seca. This is the second time we've been to Nikwali, and we hope it won't be the last." See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia; 8n in Malawi
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Ms G
Lincolnshire

"Nkwali review"

3 nights Arrived 31 Oct 2008
"Nkwali was a good camp run very professionally and there were many very good things about it. From its point of view it did suffer a little in comparison with the camps further north away from the busy main gate and it may have been better to do the camps in reverse order.

The guiding was good but some drives were extremely quiet and with the luck of the draw we saw no cats at all in the area. The time it took to get to the park could be a drawback but they did try and vary the routes as much as possible. In the event the drive to the main gate was the best wildlife option as the game was much more plentiful there than taking the nearer routes via the boat and the river crossing.

The guiding was good but not outstanding. I would also praise their willingness to allow us to make a particularly early start on two occasions so as to be on the bridge at the main gate before sunrise." See all these reviews: 17n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
R family
Scotland

"Nkwali review"

2 nights Arrived 21 Oct 2008
"After 3 days of being private at Luangwa Safari house it was a nice change to mix with other travellers and to swap stories. Met many interesting people over dinner. We carried on our game drives in the park with Joseph who was excellent and informative.

Camp was well run and accommodation very good. Although different from the safari house we really did enjoy our time here. A refreshing change. Boys got to try their hand at beating the drum for meal time. Pool again was a big plus to the boys. They loved it and was a great way for them to pass the down/quiet time. Could see the need for a English/Welsh hostess here - more staff and guests to coordinate. Done very effectively.

Different from the luxury of the previous 3 days but we loved this camp.

Another of the many highlights from this part of the trip was the morning we spent at the school and village sponsored by Robin Pope. We were privileged to get into the local school, Jonathan pumped water from the well, we chatted to the local nurse, we eat lunch prepared by a villager....a very humbling experience and a huge learning experience for the boys." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Derbyshire

"Wonderful start to our safari at Nkwali"

2 nights Arrived 16 Oct 2008
"From the minute we disembarked at Lusaka, we were met by Robin Pope staff who took care of us and led us swiftly through to where we needed to be. This continued at Mfuwe and indeed throught all our transfers.

On arrival at our first camp, Nkwali, we were welcomed like old friends and therefore settled in very easily. It seemed they couldn't do enough to make sure we were OK. Aware of my special diet, they still took the time to regularly check that everything they gave me was OK. I was impressed by their attention to detail.

We loved the accommodation (and the wake-up call of African drumming each morning!) On our very first night drive we came across a leopard and her cub - and then again on our second night! This was setting a precedent! The day drives were fantastic too with very knowledgeable, friendly guides. We were sad to have to leave but looked forward to Nsefu." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
Berks

"well run, good food and good walking"

2 nights Arrived 9 Oct 2008
"Good atmosphere, well run and well organsied, good walking opportunities, good food." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia; 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs H
Altringham

"Excellent Nkwali"

5 nights Arrived 2 Oct 2008
"Robin Pope has now sold his major shareholding in Robin Pope safaris and several things were not the standard we had experienced before. Peopel said that he is still a director and has a large shareholding, but once somebody else holds over 50% of the shares overall control passes to them. (Robin himself seemed to be just the same as ever.)

For instance, the steps cut into the bank down to the river were positively dangerous, perhaps because it was the end of the season, but they were a disaster waiting to happen. If they had given me a spade for an hour I could have made them safe, that was how little it needed. Since the river channel has moved we found that Nkwali had lost some of its charisma, and game watching from camp in the afternoons across the river was less good than our previous visit.

The game viewing was excellent and we saw 15 giraffes mourning another. Our guide was very patient with us and happy to show us tiny creatures and plants. - he found us tiny chameleons, for example. There were elephants in the camp during the day and at night, which was very exciting. The food was very good, very plentiful, the rooms kept well-cleaned, and the staff found nothing too much trouble. All in all, we would recommend Nkwali to anyone." See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 211-220 of 240
96%
240 reviews of Nkwali by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
201
34
5
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in South Luangwa National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Tafika

Tafika

One of the best camps in Zambia, Tafika is naturally built, combining excellent service and food with top guiding skills for a superb wildlife experience.


98% (319 reviews)
Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp

Small and owner-run, the riverside Kaingo occupies a a quiet but excellent game area, with a series of wildlife hides and a focus on photography.


97% (213 reviews)
Nsefu

Nsefu

One of the Luangwa's oldest camps, Nsefu is a great safari camp in a remote, beautiful and game-rich location with top-rate guiding.


98% (192 reviews)
Tena Tena

Tena Tena

One of the Luangwa's best camps, in a beautiful, remote bush location, Tena Tena is very small, exceedingly well-run and has top-rate guiding.


95% (154 reviews)
Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba Bushcamp

Small, remote and owner-run, Mwamba offers first-class walking, 4WD safari drives and superb hides, with excellent guides and a real bush feel.


99% (152 reviews)
Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp is an excellent small, rustic bushcamp that concentrates on walking safaris, and is run by a top-quality operation.


98% (119 reviews)
Big Lagoon Camp

Big Lagoon Camp

Big Lagoon Camp is a great little rustic bushcamp built to high standards that focuses on excellent walking safaris, with the emphasis on top wildlife guides.


98% (93 reviews)
Kapani Lodge

Kapani Lodge

Kapani Lodge is now the main office base for Norman Carr Safaris, one of the Luangwa's oldest safari operations.


95% (78 reviews)
Flatdogs Camp

Flatdogs Camp

A relatively big safari camp, Flatdogs offers value for money with great guiding and good food in a comfortable, relaxed setting.


98% (74 reviews)
Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Lodge is a small and consciously stylish lodge in the Mfuwe area, overlooking the Luangwa River and the South Luangwa National Park beyond – an area renowned for great game.


96% (74 reviews)
Mchenja Bushcamp

Mchenja Bushcamp

Set in a shady ebony grove on the banks of the Luangwa, Mchenja is a smart tented bushcamp. It combines well with Kakuli and Nsolo – its sister camps with a focus on walking safaris.


98% (70 reviews)
Kakuli Bushcamp

Kakuli Bushcamp

Beside the Luangwa River, Kakuli is a comfortable tented bushcamp offering 4WD safaris and walking safaris – the best of which are camp-to-camp walks linking Kakuli with its nearby sister camps.


97% (65 reviews)
Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo is a small, comfortable bushcamp overlooking one or two pools in the usually dry Luwi riverbed. It concentrates on walking safaris in an interesting and diverse area, led by a knowledgeable guide.


97% (55 reviews)
Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta is a laid-back, friendly and good-value lodge on the outskirts of South Luangwa National Park.


96% (45 reviews)
Luwi Bushcamp

Luwi Bushcamp

In a remote part of the South Luangwa National Park, Luwi is a rustic bushcamp whose emphasis is on walking safaris with great guiding and a chance of seeing some rarely seen and elusive antelope.


93% (39 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris bush-camp

Robin Pope bush-camp

RPS bushcamping in South Luangwa National Park, Zambia


99% (29 reviews)
Lion Camp

Lion Camp

Lion Camp is an established and comfortable camp with a swimming pool, located near to the game-rich Lion Plain in the northern part of South Luangwa National Park.


95% (26 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris Mobile Safari Camp

Robin Pope mobile

RPS mobile safari camps are at the heart of their set-itinerary walking safaris in South Luangwa National Park, which start and finish at a permanent camp.


98% (24 reviews)
Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge is a luxurious designer camp set in a stunning location, high on a hill overlooking a floodplain within South Luangwa. Explore from here on 4WD safaris and walks.


96% (21 reviews)
Kapamba Bushcamp

Kapamba Bushcamp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Kapamba is a small and very comfortable bushcamp offering good walks and game drives.


95% (20 reviews)
Mfuwe Lodge

Mfuwe Lodge

In a game-rich area close to the South Luangwa’s main Mfuwe Gate, Mfuwe Lodge is relatively large by park standards, but it’s stylish, modern and family friendly.


94% (18 reviews)
Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp is a classic bushcamp with particularly delightful hosts and offers top-class walking safaris in South Luangwa National Park.


99% (16 reviews)
Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House is a vast and very smart four-bedroom house specifically designed for families and small groups, and offering an exclusive and flexible safari experience.


100% (14 reviews)
Three Rivers Camp

Three Rivers Camp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Three Rivers Lodge sits at the confluence of three of the valleys rivers.


95% (13 reviews)
Island Bush Camp

Island Bush Camp

Island Bushcamp is a good-value, rustic, walking-only camp, in arguably one of the most remote parts of the South Luangwa, well away from all other camps.


100% (13 reviews)
Chinzombo

Chinzombo

Opened in early June 2013, Chinzombo offers luxurious and stylish accommodation with very high levels of service and excellent guiding.


98% (13 reviews)
Bilimungwe Bushcamp

Bilimungwe Bushcamp

A smart bushcamp with four very spacious chalets, Bilimungwe offers interesting walking safaris in pretty riverine woodland, as well as day and night safari drives.


95% (12 reviews)
Chindeni

Chindeni

Chindeni Bushcamp is a very modern and minimalist camp, which is a far cry from your traditional bushcamp and unlike most of the other camps in South Luangwa.


97% (12 reviews)
Robin's House

Robin's House

With your own expert guide, private vehicle, chef and valet, the two-bedroom Robin's House offers an exclusive, flexible safari experience – and is open year round.


95% (11 reviews)
Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village – beside the South Luangwa National Park, offers guests the rare opportunity to appreciate local village life. Visit for a few hours or stay overnight.


95% (11 reviews)
Chamilandu Bushcamp

Chamilandu Bushcamp

A comfortable little bushcamp, Chamilandu has a picturesque setting by the Luangwa River, in an area with a range of habitats to explore on foot and by 4WD.


100% (5 reviews)
Mwamba Camp-out

Mwamba Camp-out

The Mwamba-Camp Out allows you to have an incredibly adventurous night in the bush, sleeping under mosquito nets with activities led by some of the best guides in Zambia.


92% (5 reviews)
Zungulila

Zungulila

Zungulila is a small, comfortable tented bushcamp with an emphasis on walking safaris, in the remote southern section of the South Luangwa.


93% (3 reviews)
Shawa Luangwa Camp

Shawa Luangwa

Opened in June 2021, Shawa Luangwa Camp is a small, intimate and rustic camp, with a good location in a remote section of the South Luangwa National Park.


93% (3 reviews)
Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

For an adventurous night in South Luangwa National Park, come and sleep out in the bush, around a campfire, with an experienced guide and game scout.


100% (2 reviews)
Chichele Presidential Lodge

Chichele Lodge

Currently in the final stages of an extensive rebuild, Chichele Presidential Lodge stands high within the park, with superb views, and is due to reopen in late 2024.


100% (1 review)
Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp is a basic safari camp in the far north of the South Luangwa, with walking safaris led by renowned guide Deb Tittle.


No reviews yet
Chikunto Safari Lodge

Chikunto

Chikunto Safari Lodge is a more traditional property in the South Luangwa National Park, sitting on a peninsula of land created by the meandering Luangwa River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa