This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Tafika
Tafika
Tafika

Reviews of Tafika

Wildlife sightings and reviews

273 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Tafika and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 34 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Tafika.
Lion

88% success

Leopard

94% success

Wild dog

43% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Spotted Hyena

97% success

Buffalo

94% success

Wildebeest

52% success

Eland

11% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Showing 131-140 of 273
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs & Mr O
California

"Excellent Guiding and Wildlife at Tafika"

4 nights Arrived 13 Oct 2013
"Tafika is owner-operated, and it shows--they care! Their operation is very professional, while conversations are very inclusive on any number of issues. John and Carol are attentive to every detail; their daughter Jenny is an absolute delight, adding a soft, more casual, relaxed persona--she's going to make a great addition to the management team; Brian offers great experience and advice (though, in the future, I'll make sure never again to say my husband is the primary photographer); Heather was very helpful, concerned everything was just right. There is a distinct effort made to ensure you enjoy a wide variety of experiences, while accommodating guests' individual preferences as best possible. Guests, guides, and dinner tables were rotated, so encouraging engagement of different people in the smaller groups.

We were given the family chalet; it's location and veranda overlooking the Luangwa River, with the never-ending bird and wildlife, was fabulous! The open-ended thatched chalet was our favorite of the trip, allowing any breeze to pass through, including lovebirds and weavers to share the second bedroom unused by us; the sausage tree overhead invited birds and elephants to visit, dropping flowers into the area leading to the sink. What a delight!

We enjoyed all the activities we partook: the Carmine bee-eater hide was well worth visiting, as was watching the morning arrival of the innumerable gray-crowned crane; a morning walk was educational (good thing we weren't responsible for lighting the fire, using wood and friction, for the tea-break), with many good animal sightings; game drives were very productive, especially the variety seen at night--a highlight was watching a serval successfully catch then eat a fish; but the overall highlight of our stay was the microlight flight--as close to enjoying the freedom of a bird as a human is able; John is an excellent pilot; the aerial view adds an eye-opening perspective; I cannot recommend it highly enough.

We certainly hope to be return visitors." See all these reviews: 16n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
B family
Switzerland

"Tafika beats all expectations"

2 nights Arrived 6 Oct 2013
"It's a great location, the Coppinger family are wonderful hosts and the staff is motivated and well trained. Lloyd our guide greeted us with cool drinks at Mfuwe airport and on the way back showed us wild dogs that he had spotted on the way to the airport. Never having seen any wild dogs in Africa before this was a stunning begingning. Could it go on this way? Yes it did. Our beautiful bush chalets, the quality of the food and the committment of our guide Lloyd and in the evening drives his spotter where just fantastic. It goes too far to number all species that we saw, we saw nearly everything! I

t's wonderful that Tafika also sponsors the village school, besides employing many people from Mkasanga village. We can fully recommend Tafika." See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Lisvane

"Great family, private camp."

4 nights Arrived 5 Oct 2013
"We last visited Tafika in 2007 and have also visited the three walking camps. Pleased to say the standards are still very high, particularly the catering which is second to none!

It was great to see wild dogs on three occasions and spend time observing behaviour amongst the pack.

since our last visit a number of guides have moved on or been re-assigned to the walking camps and it was good to see new faces and share their perspectives on flora and fauna although we missed the experience of the other guides." See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs L
Lewes

"The camp that has that extra something"

5 nights Arrived 5 Oct 2013
"Our third camp on this holiday, and (without taking anything away from the excellent time we had at the other two) the one that we put top of our list for a return visit if we can manage one in future. Partly that is to do with the additional activities on offer. The microlight flight at dawn costs extra, but boy was it worth it for both of us: words can't really capture it.

A short bike ride through the elephant zone near the camp costs nothing, but certainly adds spice. Back in Zambia for the third time, having worked there long ago, we would have reservations about a local village visit being a tourist show, were it not for the big support and involvement which John & Carol Coppinger have put into the school and the village: it was a lovely visit with a genuine response both ways.

The food was superb, and the direct contact with the family owning and running Tafika, and their employees who live in the village, the sense of continuity and the atmosphere it added, all gave something extra to our holiday that we valued and enjoyed, and we had a great five days." See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr S
Hong Kong

"Tafika Camp Review"

3 nights Arrived 3 Oct 2013
"Tafika camp is an institution in the valley. Hosts John and Carol have made this valley and their camp operations part of the pulse of the region.

I loved going to the local village and school, the walking safaris with guide Brent were the best I had ever done anywhere in Africa. Tafika is for serious safari goers. The rooms are more rustic and basic and the overall feel of the camp is not about luxury but rather functionality.

The game sights were awesome, the guiding phenomenal. All in all a truly wonderful experience." See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Dr & Mrs C
Henley

"Tafika 6th visit and as good as ever"

4 nights Arrived 21 Sep 2013
"they continue to make small improvements without changing the bushcamp atmosphere" See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr & Mrs S
Cheshire

"Tafika review"

8 nights Arrived 21 Sep 2013
"Another most enjoyable stay at Tafika. Very welcoming, good guiding and excellent food.

Thanks again to the Coppingers (all three of you!), Bryan, Heather, Rhona and all the staff." See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Dersingham

"Our second wonderful stay at Tafika"

3 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2013
"It was great to be welcomed back like old friends, and soon settled into the routine of the camp. The meals are superb with such a rich variety of dishes. There is no way you can remain hungry at Tafika! We had excellent game viewing, though just missed out on seeing wild dogs and lions - just the luck of the draw as they had been around both before and after our stay. The highlight for us was to sit and watch the hundreds of crowned cranes arriving at the salt springs area from their overnight roost.

This time we had asked to visit the local village and school which is supported by the Tafika Fund. We were guests of honour at the school, where we were entertained by children of all ages singing, dancing and reciting poems they had written. Wherever we went in the village we were surrounded by crowds of young children, all wanting to have their photo taken - and then to see the results on our cameras. A really worthwhile experience, and highly recommended." See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr P & Ms F
Stirling

"Tafika - Extraordinary"

3 nights Arrived 15 Sep 2013
"Located on the high bank of the Luangwa, with our open sided grass hut built around a living tree.

Elephants and hippos who wandered in and out of the camp. Walking safaris which begin with a canoe crossing of the river. Evening game drives had sunsets along the banks of the river amongst large flocks of Red-billed Quelea.

On our first night drive here we witnessed a face-off between two Leopards and a Hyena over the remains of an old kill. On one morning walking trip our guide (the long suffering [we did ask lots of questions!] but always courteous Brent Harris), along with scout Levy and tea-bearer Justin found the recent tracks of a Lion. We (they!) tracked her for two hours to a successful sighting along with two males. An amazing Birthday present for Mary, which the camp staff continued when she was treated to an african chorus of Happy Birthday and a specially decorated cake. I hadn't even mentioned this to anyone, which illustrates the care they take of their guests at Tafika." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Prof V & Mr T
Oxford

"Great start of our safari"

2 nights Arrived 15 Sep 2013
"Absolutely wonderful - a really stylish, friendly, well-run camp. The staff were all great and the Coppingers were extremely hospitable. Everything felt very relaxed. Fantastic food and lots of close encounters with elephants!

The microlight flight was an amazing experience!" See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 131-140 of 273
98%
273 reviews of Tafika by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
252
19
1
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in South Luangwa National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Nkwali

Nkwali

In the heart of South Luangwa, overlooking the river, Nkwali is unusual in being open year round. It offers great safaris; a high standard of food, service and care; and an excellent springboard for Robin Pope's various safaris in the park.


96% (203 reviews)
Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp is a small, owner-run camp in a quiet but excellent game area of the Luangwa. Photographers will particularly appreciate the camp’s series of wildlife hides.


96% (188 reviews)
Nsefu

Nsefu

One of the Luangwa's oldest camps, Nsefu is a great safari camp in a remote, beautiful and game-rich location with top-rate guiding.


98% (166 reviews)
Tena Tena

Tena Tena

Tena Tena is one of the Luangwa's best camps in a beautiful location – it's very small, feels very remote and 'in the bush', is run exceedingly well and has top rate guiding.


95% (137 reviews)
Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba is a small, fairly simple, owner-run bushcamp in an excellent game area. It offers first-class walking, 4WD safaris and great game hides; come for excellent guides and a real bush feel.


99% (126 reviews)
Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp is an excellent small, rustic bushcamp that concentrates on walking safaris, and is run by a top-quality operation.


99% (105 reviews)
Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp is a great little rustic bushcamp built to high standards that focuses on excellent walking safaris, with the emphasis on top wildlife guides.


98% (82 reviews)
Kapani Lodge

Kapani Lodge

Just on the south-east side of the national park, Kapani Lodge is the base camp for Norman Carr Safaris, one of the Luangwa's oldest safari operations. It's also a very solid safari camp that has retained lots of character, and runs very well indeed.


95% (80 reviews)
Mchenja Bushcamp

Mchenja Bushcamp

Set in a shady ebony grove on the banks of the Luangwa, Mchenja is a smart tented bushcamp. It combines well with Kakuli and Nsolo – its sister camps with a focus on walking safaris.


98% (63 reviews)
Kakuli Bushcamp

Kakuli Bushcamp

Beside the Luangwa River, Kakuli is a comfortable tented bushcamp offering 4WD safaris and walking safaris – the best of which are camp-to-camp walks linking Kakuli with its nearby sister camps.


97% (62 reviews)
Flatdogs Camp

Flatdogs Camp

A relatively big but very good safari camp, Flatdogs offers value for money with great guiding and good food in a comfortable, relaxed setting.


98% (61 reviews)
Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Lodge is a small and consciously stylish lodge in the Mfuwe area, overlooking the Luangwa River and the South Luangwa National Park beyond – an area renowned for great game.


96% (60 reviews)
Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo is a small, comfortable bushcamp overlooking one or two pools in the usually dry Luwi riverbed. It concentrates on walking safaris in an interesting and diverse area, led by a knowledgeable guide.


97% (52 reviews)
Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta is a laid-back, friendly and good-value lodge on the outskirts of South Lunagwa National Park.


96% (39 reviews)
Luwi Bushcamp

Luwi Bushcamp

In a remote part of the South Luangwa National Park, Luwi is a rustic bushcamp whose emphasis is on walking safaris with great guiding and a chance of seeing some rarely seen and elusive antelope.


93% (38 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris bush-camp

Robin Pope bush-camp

RPS bushcamping in South Luangwa National Park, Zambia


99% (25 reviews)
Lion Camp

Lion Camp

Lion Camp is an established and comfortable camp with a swimming pool, located near to the game-rich Lion Plain in the northern part of South Luangwa National Park.


94% (22 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris walking safari

Robin Pope walking

A seven-day Robin Pope Walking Safari in South Luangwa National Park starts and finishes at a permanent camp, with five days walking between comfortable mobile camps.


98% (21 reviews)
Kapamba Bushcamp

Kapamba Bushcamp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Kapamba is a small and very comfortable bushcamp offering good walks and game drives.


94% (17 reviews)
Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House is a vast and very smart four-bedroom house specifically designed for families and small groups, and offering an exclusive and flexible safari experience.


100% (14 reviews)
Chinzombo

Chinzombo

Opened in early June 2013, Chinzombo offers luxurious and stylish accommodation with very high levels of service and excellent guiding.


98% (13 reviews)
Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp is a classic bushcamp with particularly delightful hosts and offers top-class walking safaris in South Luangwa National Park.


98% (13 reviews)
Bilimungwe Bushcamp

Bilimungwe Bushcamp

A smart bushcamp with four very spacious chalets, Bilimungwe offers interesting walking safaris in pretty riverine woodland, as well as day and night safari drives.


95% (12 reviews)
Mfuwe Lodge

Mfuwe Lodge

In a game-rich area close to the South Luangwa’s main Mfuwe Gate, Mfuwe Lodge is relatively large by park standards, but it’s stylish, modern and family friendly.


91% (11 reviews)
Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village – beside the South Luangwa National Park, offers guests the rare opportunity to appreciate local village life. Visit for a few hours or stay overnight.


95% (11 reviews)
Robin's House

Robin's House

With your own expert guide, private vehicle, chef and valet, the two-bedroom Robin's House offers an exclusive, flexible safari experience – and is open year round.


94% (10 reviews)
Three Rivers Camp

Three Rivers Camp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Three Rivers Lodge is being constructed by the confluence of three of the valleys rivers.


94% (10 reviews)
Island Bush Camp

Island Bush Camp

Island Bushcamp is a good-value, rustic, walking-only camp, in arguably one of the most remote parts of the South Luangwa, well away from all other camps.


100% (9 reviews)
Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge is a luxurious designer camp set in a stunning location, high on a hill overlooking a floodplain within South Luangwa. Explore from here on 4WD safaris and walks.


93% (9 reviews)
Chindeni

Chindeni

Chindeni Bushcamp is a very modern and minimalist camp, which is a far cry from your traditional bushcamp and unlike most of the other camps in South Luangwa.


94% (7 reviews)
Chamilandu Bushcamp

Chamilandu Bushcamp

A very comfortable little bushcamp, Chamilandu has a picturesque setting by the Luangwa River, with a range of habitats that can be explored on foot and by 4WD, day and night.


100% (5 reviews)
Mwamba Camp-out

Mwamba Camp-out

The Mwamba-Camp Out allows you to have an incredibly adventurous night in the bush, sleeping under mosquito nets with activities led by some of the best guides in Zambia.


90% (4 reviews)
Zungulila

Zungulila

Zungulila is a small, comfortable tented bushcamp with an emphasis on walking safaris, in the remote southern section of the South Luangwa.


93% (3 reviews)
Chichele Presidential Lodge

Chichele Lodge

Chichele Presidential Lodge stands within the park on a hill with superb views. Its hotel-like, air-conditioned rooms and child-friendly attitude make it ideal for families or those who don't want to get too close to the bush outside.


100% (1 review)
Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

For an adventurous night in South Luangwa National Park, come and sleep out in the bush, around a campfire, with an experienced guide and game scout.


100% (1 review)
Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp is a basic safari camp in the far north of the South Luangwa, with walking safaris led by renowned guide Deb Tittle.


No reviews yet
Shawa Luangwa Camp

Shawa Camp

Due to open in June 2020, we’re expecting Shawa Luangwa Camp to be a small, intimate and rustic camp, with a good location in a remote section of the South Luangwa National Park.


No reviews yet
Chikunto Safari Lodge

Chikunto

Chikunto Safari Lodge is a new property in Zambia's South Luangwa National Park, sitting on a peninsula of land created by the meandering Luangwa River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa