This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Tafika
Tafika
Tafika

Reviews of Tafika

Wildlife sightings and reviews

273 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Tafika and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 34 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Tafika.
Lion

88% success

Leopard

94% success

Wild dog

43% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Spotted Hyena

97% success

Buffalo

94% success

Wildebeest

52% success

Eland

11% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Showing 121-130 of 273
Duration
Arrival date
Miss P
London

"3rd visit, still awesome"

3 nights Arrived 7 Jun 2014
"They moved my walking days to coincide with another group, so I had 2 nights at Tafika before the walking camps and one after, which was fine.

This was my third visit to Tafika, and as ever the hospitality, guiding, food, rooms, and everything really was excellent. I love the family atmosphere, pets and all, of this place. It was lovely to see Jenny taking her place in the family business, and maybe look forward to being guided by her next visit now she has passed her exams........

The only minor gripe, and not sure if this should go under the Tafika review or the walking camps review, is that at the walking camps the noise from the microlight is quite audible which slightly spoils the wilderness feel. There isn't much that can be done about the noise level, but on my last morning walking back from Crocodile it was particularly noticeable as I think they were taking 7 people up. I think they need to think about limiting the number of flights in one morning, to minimise the disturbance at the walking camps." See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
Sudbury

"Tafika review"

2 nights Arrived 7 Jun 2014
"Excellent accommodations, superior service, warm and informative staff.

Really stood out as first class for those really interested in experiencing the true Africa" See all these reviews: 13n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mr D & Ms Z
NJ

"A truly marvelous experience at Tafika!"

3 nights Arrived 3 Jun 2014
"Tafika was the best. We really liked the accommodations. The grass chalets were very comfortable and fun.

The entire staff were professional, knowledgeable, and friendly. They made our stay at Tafika special. We would like to mention each by name but there were so many and we would not like to omit someone due to our poor memory. We like that we had several different guides. Each brought his own unique perspective to the game drives and walking safaris. Their knowledge and passion for their work made our experience the best ever!

The food at Tafika was as good or better then most of the best restaurants to which we've been. Rona and her staff worked magic in their kitchen.

Lena enjoyed the microlight flight so much that she did it twice!

John and Carol run a very smooth and efficient operation. Quite impressive! We also appreciated how much they assist and support the local village and its people." See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Glos

"A warm welcome at Tafika"

3 nights Arrived 31 May 2014
"Lovely location. Staff very welcoming.

We were lucky enough to be the only guests during our stay and were well looked after." See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs T
Reading

"Terrific Tafika"

3 nights Arrived 17 May 2014
"From arrival to departure at Tafika we were made to feel totally at home and part of the family. The location is superb and it is hard to think of anything that can be better than dinner under the stars on the banks of the Luangwa river listening to the sound of hipos and lions.

We were very lucky to be there at the beginning of the season and although the animals were a little shy it made it even more exciting to find them. The walking safari with Alex was great and the sight and sound of yellow billed storks nesting was amazing.
We enjoyed getting to know our guide Lloyd who taught us so much and always managed to find the unexpected.

The microlight flight with John is not to be missed and gives a whole new view of the park.

Tafika is a special place run by very special people and we hope to be able to return again." See all these reviews: 7n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
The S party
Devon

"An experience of all that is"

3 nights Arrived 7 May 2014
"This place is wonderful, it's location gives one an idea of all that is truly wild in Africa. We were lucky to arrive at the start of the season and had the place almost to ourselves. Except that is, for the lovely staff who are a credit to the family owners.

John and Carol had to be at a Trade Fair for much of our stay but we were left in the capable hands of Heather, Rhona and their daughter Jenny. It leaves you feeling that you have been guests in a family home which is very special. We were lucky enough to see five leopards and enjoyed our game walk with Alex which involved a python appearing as we stopped to look at a bird's nest on the ground. The night drives are fabulous and new to us and they extend the number of sightings to nocturnal animals. Our guide was very knowledgeable and as delighted as we were with our large animal sightings and not forgetting the smallest elephant shrew and chameleon.

It was lovely to have our delicious meals with members of the family and staff and were most impressed with the food especially the salad and vegetables grown on the site. One meal was interrupted by a hippo taking out some of the newly erected fence around the compound!

We would be very happy to return one day and look forward to doing just that." See all these reviews: 6n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr M & Ms T
Ongar

"A real back to nature experience - brilliant"

3 nights Arrived 5 Nov 2013
"The hospitality shown by the family and the team was great. The team operated very professionally and efficiently to provide a great overall safari experience.

The rooms are very rustic but comfortable and fully acceptable. Our only comment would be that compared to the other camps the beds had more insect life that needed clearing out before sleeping commenced!" See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs LK
SW London

"Amazing time at Tafika"

2 nights Arrived 28 Oct 2013
"We had a wonderful stay at Tafika. The camp is situated about 5 minutes outside the park, but this is not an issue, as the bush and animals continue beyond the gate. In spite of it being at the end of the dry season (late October/early November) there was a lot more water around than we had expected and Tafika has an attractive outlook over a river/riverbed.

The rooms are made of straw and open to the air at the bathroom end. This does allow insects etc quite easy access (easier than in a netted tent), although mosquito nets around the beds work well at night. We weren't troubled by this, but others should perhaps be aware. Otherwise, clean sheets, well equipped and everything worked well.

We were the only guests staying at the time and the Copinger family and others invoked were completely welcoming and charming - we even joined in the daughter's birthday celebrations. So nice to be hosted by Zambians with genuine long-standing knowledge of the country.

The microlite flight is an absolute must-do: you should have complete confidence in John as a pilot, he is very experienced and careful.

The guiding was excellent (Brian, part owner and …). Leopards all over the place. The pack of 19 wild dogs on the salt pans were mesmerising the BBC were filming Waiting for the rains next door to us!" See all these reviews: 7n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs N
Edgware

"Nichols at Tafika"

2 nights Arrived 16 Oct 2013
"This was the largest of the four camps we stayed at and as it was the last camp on our itinerary at I was slightly concerned that it might be an anti-climax to the more intimate camps that we'd already stayed in. I need not have worried. The camp faces onto the river which ensures that a large variety of wildlife is always present. And far from the size of the camp deterring the animals, I was awoken during my first night by elephants browsing on the tree above our bathroom.

The walks and drives were largely along the river which ensured that we saw game in abundance, including large herds of buffalo and sizeable herds of elephant." See all these reviews: 13n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms G
Washington

"Wildlife Extravaganza!"

3 nights Arrived 15 Oct 2013
"Tafika is the place to go if you want to see all that Zambia has to offer as far as wildlife variety. It's absolutely amazing how much you see! Healthy lion prides, Cape Buffalo, Crawshay's zebra, Thornicroft zebras, civet, leopard, Elephant shrew, Pel's owl, Carmine Bee Eaters, Lilac Breasted Roller,Tawny Eagle, Fish Eagle, spotted hyena, even wildebeast (which have not been known to be seen much in this region). The list goes on! -I saw all of this and more while there for just 3 nights! An absolutely amazing experience!

What's also amazing is the food! It's all catered and varied each day. I never had a bad meal while there.

One thing to know about this camp is that the sleeping huts are open to the outdoors. This is both a plus and can be for some a negative. What I mean is that I love how much the hut is a part of the environment. What was sometimes a distraction was the insects. For most I'm sure this is not a concern in the least, but it's worth mentioning in case you are like me and not necessarily used to sleeping so closely with the smaller inhabitants of the park! There is definitely no health concerns to worry about though. You sleep with a mosquito net and there's bug spray on hand to use as well. I think it's just good to be aware ahead of time so you know what to expect! And it certainly didn't hinder my experience in the least! They were, in fact, very accommodating to my concerns!

You simply cannot beat the wildlife viewing while at Tafika. What's also nice is that you hardly run in to other vehicles while on drives! You really get the sense that you have the whole park to yourself!

The guides are absolutely top notch. Their level of expertise and training far surpasses what's needed to be a guide there. It's obvious this is a lifestyle choice for them and that they really love their job and the wildlife their showing you!

A fantastic camp that you will be sad to leave at the end of your stay!" See all these reviews: 6n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 121-130 of 273
98%
273 reviews of Tafika by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
252
19
1
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in South Luangwa National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Nkwali

Nkwali

In the heart of South Luangwa, overlooking the river, Nkwali is unusual in being open year round. It offers great safaris; a high standard of food, service and care; and an excellent springboard for Robin Pope's various safaris in the park.


96% (203 reviews)
Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp is a small, owner-run camp in a quiet but excellent game area of the Luangwa. Photographers will particularly appreciate the camp’s series of wildlife hides.


96% (188 reviews)
Nsefu

Nsefu

One of the Luangwa's oldest camps, Nsefu is a great safari camp in a remote, beautiful and game-rich location with top-rate guiding.


98% (166 reviews)
Tena Tena

Tena Tena

Tena Tena is one of the Luangwa's best camps in a beautiful location – it's very small, feels very remote and 'in the bush', is run exceedingly well and has top rate guiding.


95% (137 reviews)
Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba is a small, fairly simple, owner-run bushcamp in an excellent game area. It offers first-class walking, 4WD safaris and great game hides; come for excellent guides and a real bush feel.


99% (126 reviews)
Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp is an excellent small, rustic bushcamp that concentrates on walking safaris, and is run by a top-quality operation.


99% (105 reviews)
Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp is a great little rustic bushcamp built to high standards that focuses on excellent walking safaris, with the emphasis on top wildlife guides.


98% (82 reviews)
Kapani Lodge

Kapani Lodge

Just on the south-east side of the national park, Kapani Lodge is the base camp for Norman Carr Safaris, one of the Luangwa's oldest safari operations. It's also a very solid safari camp that has retained lots of character, and runs very well indeed.


95% (80 reviews)
Mchenja Bushcamp

Mchenja Bushcamp

Set in a shady ebony grove on the banks of the Luangwa, Mchenja is a smart tented bushcamp. It combines well with Kakuli and Nsolo – its sister camps with a focus on walking safaris.


98% (63 reviews)
Kakuli Bushcamp

Kakuli Bushcamp

Beside the Luangwa River, Kakuli is a comfortable tented bushcamp offering 4WD safaris and walking safaris – the best of which are camp-to-camp walks linking Kakuli with its nearby sister camps.


97% (62 reviews)
Flatdogs Camp

Flatdogs Camp

A relatively big but very good safari camp, Flatdogs offers value for money with great guiding and good food in a comfortable, relaxed setting.


98% (61 reviews)
Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Lodge is a small and consciously stylish lodge in the Mfuwe area, overlooking the Luangwa River and the South Luangwa National Park beyond – an area renowned for great game.


96% (60 reviews)
Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo is a small, comfortable bushcamp overlooking one or two pools in the usually dry Luwi riverbed. It concentrates on walking safaris in an interesting and diverse area, led by a knowledgeable guide.


97% (52 reviews)
Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta is a laid-back, friendly and good-value lodge on the outskirts of South Lunagwa National Park.


96% (39 reviews)
Luwi Bushcamp

Luwi Bushcamp

In a remote part of the South Luangwa National Park, Luwi is a rustic bushcamp whose emphasis is on walking safaris with great guiding and a chance of seeing some rarely seen and elusive antelope.


93% (38 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris bush-camp

Robin Pope bush-camp

RPS bushcamping in South Luangwa National Park, Zambia


99% (25 reviews)
Lion Camp

Lion Camp

Lion Camp is an established and comfortable camp with a swimming pool, located near to the game-rich Lion Plain in the northern part of South Luangwa National Park.


94% (22 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris walking safari

Robin Pope walking

A seven-day Robin Pope Walking Safari in South Luangwa National Park starts and finishes at a permanent camp, with five days walking between comfortable mobile camps.


98% (21 reviews)
Kapamba Bushcamp

Kapamba Bushcamp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Kapamba is a small and very comfortable bushcamp offering good walks and game drives.


94% (17 reviews)
Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House is a vast and very smart four-bedroom house specifically designed for families and small groups, and offering an exclusive and flexible safari experience.


100% (14 reviews)
Chinzombo

Chinzombo

Opened in early June 2013, Chinzombo offers luxurious and stylish accommodation with very high levels of service and excellent guiding.


98% (13 reviews)
Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp is a classic bushcamp with particularly delightful hosts and offers top-class walking safaris in South Luangwa National Park.


98% (13 reviews)
Bilimungwe Bushcamp

Bilimungwe Bushcamp

A smart bushcamp with four very spacious chalets, Bilimungwe offers interesting walking safaris in pretty riverine woodland, as well as day and night safari drives.


95% (12 reviews)
Mfuwe Lodge

Mfuwe Lodge

In a game-rich area close to the South Luangwa’s main Mfuwe Gate, Mfuwe Lodge is relatively large by park standards, but it’s stylish, modern and family friendly.


91% (11 reviews)
Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village – beside the South Luangwa National Park, offers guests the rare opportunity to appreciate local village life. Visit for a few hours or stay overnight.


95% (11 reviews)
Robin's House

Robin's House

With your own expert guide, private vehicle, chef and valet, the two-bedroom Robin's House offers an exclusive, flexible safari experience – and is open year round.


94% (10 reviews)
Three Rivers Camp

Three Rivers Camp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Three Rivers Lodge is being constructed by the confluence of three of the valleys rivers.


94% (10 reviews)
Island Bush Camp

Island Bush Camp

Island Bushcamp is a good-value, rustic, walking-only camp, in arguably one of the most remote parts of the South Luangwa, well away from all other camps.


100% (9 reviews)
Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge is a luxurious designer camp set in a stunning location, high on a hill overlooking a floodplain within South Luangwa. Explore from here on 4WD safaris and walks.


93% (9 reviews)
Chindeni

Chindeni

Chindeni Bushcamp is a very modern and minimalist camp, which is a far cry from your traditional bushcamp and unlike most of the other camps in South Luangwa.


94% (7 reviews)
Chamilandu Bushcamp

Chamilandu Bushcamp

A very comfortable little bushcamp, Chamilandu has a picturesque setting by the Luangwa River, with a range of habitats that can be explored on foot and by 4WD, day and night.


100% (5 reviews)
Mwamba Camp-out

Mwamba Camp-out

The Mwamba-Camp Out allows you to have an incredibly adventurous night in the bush, sleeping under mosquito nets with activities led by some of the best guides in Zambia.


90% (4 reviews)
Zungulila

Zungulila

Zungulila is a small, comfortable tented bushcamp with an emphasis on walking safaris, in the remote southern section of the South Luangwa.


93% (3 reviews)
Chichele Presidential Lodge

Chichele Lodge

Chichele Presidential Lodge stands within the park on a hill with superb views. Its hotel-like, air-conditioned rooms and child-friendly attitude make it ideal for families or those who don't want to get too close to the bush outside.


100% (1 review)
Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

For an adventurous night in South Luangwa National Park, come and sleep out in the bush, around a campfire, with an experienced guide and game scout.


100% (1 review)
Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp is a basic safari camp in the far north of the South Luangwa, with walking safaris led by renowned guide Deb Tittle.


No reviews yet
Shawa Luangwa Camp

Shawa Camp

Due to open in June 2020, we’re expecting Shawa Luangwa Camp to be a small, intimate and rustic camp, with a good location in a remote section of the South Luangwa National Park.


No reviews yet
Chikunto Safari Lodge

Chikunto

Chikunto Safari Lodge is a new property in Zambia's South Luangwa National Park, sitting on a peninsula of land created by the meandering Luangwa River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa