This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Tafika
Tafika
Tafika

Reviews of Tafika

Wildlife sightings and reviews

271 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Tafika and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 32 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Tafika.
Lion

87% success

Leopard

94% success

Wild dog

43% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Spotted Hyena

97% success

Buffalo

94% success

Wildebeest

48% success

Eland

11% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Showing 71-80 of 271
Duration
Arrival date
Dr & Mrs C
Henley

"marvellous camp with great flexibilty"

5 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2015
"Some small changes to lights and lodges but remains unpretentious, comfortable, excellent food and great staff.

Walking guides are now more numerous so always a choice to use truck or to walk across the river." See all these reviews: 13n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr & Mrs S
Cheshire

"Our favourite camp!"

7 nights Arrived 8 Sep 2015
"We have stayed several times at Tafika (and at many other safari camps through Africa), and it is top of our list.

One of the few owner managed camps still in the Valley, John, Carol and Bryan generate a warm and professional atmosphere, ably assisted by Heather and Rhona, and all the other camp staff.

The aircraft operated by Tafika and which took us from Lower Zambezi is strongly recommended. It may cost a bit more than ProFlight, but it cuts almost a day's travel down to an hour and a half.

We particularly appreciate that all the guides are local, often from the nearby village, and having often started in the kitchen or as tea bearers, have developed and passed their guiding exams.

Thank for a great stay - especially the hippos at Hippo Bend, and the mating leopards (not guaranteed!)" See all these reviews: 13n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs D
Crawley

"A fine example of responsible travel"

4 nights Arrived 6 Sep 2015
"John and Carol Coppinger set a fine example in the field of responsible tourism. The camp is just outside the National Park, set on the river bank. there are no water-based activities here, but on offer are 2 x4hour game drives per day, or small group day walks ( we did not try the cycling!).

The chalets are all made of local material, no electricity ( plently of re-charging sockets at the main lodge), but lit by solar lamps.comfy beds and we were not too hot at night. At the rear of the room, the bathroom and shower facilities are open to the sky - a hot shower under the stars was a wonderful experience! The rooms are well spaced, and the communal meals are tactfully organised so that everyone mixes well. The food was excellent on the whole, our only mild complaint was there was too much pudding!

We enjoyed the fact that the guides , and the management Staff ate with the guests. Every effort was made to suit the game viewing to our particular interests (eg, birding, photography). 4 travellers per vehicle, so everyone gets a good view. the afternoon drive includes the traditional"sundowner" and then gives you the opportunity for a couple of hours driving after dark.

The Park has excellent game and birds- hightlights were a leopard kill, hyena sightings by day and night, carmine bee-eaters nesting in their hundreds, crowned cranes flying in over the salt pans, following a pride of 10 lions on a hunt, and many cute baby elephants.

Walking tours allow you to see the smaller creatures- chameleons, insects, and also some close encounters with the larger animals. We felt very safe whilst on foot with 2 guides and an armed park ranger. The guides were all excellent.

We also learned such a lot about the life of the villagers from our guides. Remote Africa support many community projects, and provide employment for a substantial number of local people. this was not the most luxurious of the camps we visited - there's no wifi or mobile phone signal, but, of the 3 places we stayed, it's probably the one we are most likely to return to for a second visit." See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia; 5n in Malawi
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs H
Bedford

"Like in our recollection, brilliant"

3 nights Arrived 5 Sep 2015
"It was our second stay in Tafika, ,,, the leopards are still there, so are the lions, impalas, pukus, cameleons, hippos, crocodiles, elephants, girafes, zebras, buffalos and other bushbucks.

For those more interested in bird watching, it is also paradise on earth (certainly different from the orkneys, but as varied and exciting).

The whole staff is always helpful without being overwhelming or servile and the accomodation is very comfortable.

A special mention to Mukupa B with whom we had the unique experience of watching, and up to a point following, a pack of wild dogs in action (it was our fourth safari and the first time we saw them)." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms W & Mr W
Kent

"Tafika review"

3 nights Arrived 4 Sep 2015
"Tafika was 5-star camping with running hot and cold and solar power round the clock. John and Carol have established an extraordinary camp in a stunning setting, overlooking the river.

The guides at Tafika were in a league of their own. Brian combined a wide and deep knowledge of the bush with an instinctual sense of animal behavior and habitat. The two Mucupas were a fantastic team, who turned up spectacular sightings. We'll never forget cycling in the bush with John or our trip to the local village, where we were shown around the school, entertained with song and dance and began to get a sense of life in rural Zambia.

The food was delicious and it was a surprise to discover that much of it was coming from a gorgeous garden on site. We'd never seen a garden protected by electric elephant fencing and anti-monkey cages!

We decided on the spot that we simply must return to this camp." See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr S & Ms C
Rome

"Always great"

3 nights Arrived 18 Aug 2015
"It was our second time in Tafika. If possible it was even better of last time.

We have done great walks with multiple lion sightseeing each time we were walking. The staff is gorgeous and we really felt at home. Nice we will be back hopefully in the near future." See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
R & C
Aylesbury

"A great owner-run camp"

4 nights Arrived 16 Aug 2015
"We spent a very enjoyable four nights at Tafika. The rooms are very comfortable (but we did get upgraded to the honeymoon suite).

John & Carol Coppinger are very good hosts and the camp seems to be very efficiently run by a good team. All our games drives were interesting and the guides very good (we had different ones most days), although we did go over the same ground once or twice.

A quiet area - we didn’t come across other vehicles on our drives – and we approved of the policy of not using radios, the guides having to find their own things to see and make their own luck. We did two walks that we enjoyed. Food was very good but dining possibly a little formal for us." See all these reviews: 13n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs E
Witney

"Tafika review"

3 nights Arrived 15 Aug 2015
"Another great experience. wonderful game viewing and excellent guiding. Superb location on the banks of the river but this did mean the noise of hippos at night made sleeping difficult at times. Also the elephants who came and ate the tree outside our hut did cause us a little concern.

The furniture made from local materials was interesting and ingenious.

The game viewing was superb, particularly the birds which we were particularly interested in. All the guides were so knowledgeable particularly Bryan who seemed to know everything and was able to explain things so well. The walk with John was also especially interesting. Although we have rated the food as only good, it was really better than that but was eclipsed by our next camp.

Altogether a great camp which can be thoroughly recommended." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs D
Cambridge

"Tafika review"

2 nights Arrived 15 Aug 2015
"It was great to come back to Tafika for a couple of nights to gradually re-intergrate ourselves to civilisation after 4 nights in North Luwanga. Going straight home would have been a big shock to the system!

Our second stay matched our first and our final morning game drive afforded views of every animal you could expect to see!

Once again, we felt very much part of an extended family at Tafika." See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs D
Cambridge

"Tafika review"

3 nights Arrived 6 Aug 2015
"Home from home! Real family atmosphere created by John & Carol greeting and hosting guests at meal times. Also by the staff having been there for many years. Very well managed camp, wonderful food (much of it from their own amazing garden), great location

We particularly enjoyed the format of the daily activities which allowed for extended night drives. As a result, the night-spotting was the best we've ever enjoyed in many years of wildlife travel. The guides and spotters also demonstrated a deep respect for the wildlife as well as expert knowledge of animal behaviour in the locality. And by the way, the sightings were amazing including leopard every day and elephants crunching seed-pods outside our hut.

We've stayed at some fantastic camps all over the world but never left any feeling we must return soon as much as on leaving Tafika." See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 71-80 of 271
98%
271 reviews of Tafika by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
250
19
1
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in South Luangwa National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Nkwali

Nkwali

In the heart of South Luangwa, overlooking the river, Nkwali is unusual in being open year round. It offers great safaris; a high standard of food, service and care; and an excellent springboard for Robin Pope's various safaris in the park.


96% (202 reviews)
Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp is a small, owner-run camp in a quiet but excellent game area of the Luangwa. Photographers will particularly appreciate the camp’s series of wildlife hides.


96% (188 reviews)
Nsefu

Nsefu

One of the Luangwa's oldest camps, Nsefu is a great safari camp in a remote, beautiful and game-rich location with top-rate guiding.


98% (166 reviews)
Tena Tena

Tena Tena

Tena Tena is one of the Luangwa's best camps in a beautiful location – it's very small, feels very remote and 'in the bush', is run exceedingly well and has top rate guiding.


95% (137 reviews)
Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba is a small, fairly simple, owner-run bushcamp in an excellent game area. It offers first-class walking, 4WD safaris and great game hides; come for excellent guides and a real bush feel.


99% (126 reviews)
Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp is an excellent small, rustic bushcamp that concentrates on walking safaris, and is run by a top-quality operation.


99% (105 reviews)
Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp is a great little rustic bushcamp built to high standards that focuses on excellent walking safaris, with the emphasis on top wildlife guides.


98% (82 reviews)
Kapani Lodge

Kapani Lodge

Just on the south-east side of the national park, Kapani Lodge is the base camp for Norman Carr Safaris, one of the Luangwa's oldest safari operations. It's also a very solid safari camp that has retained lots of character, and runs very well indeed.


95% (80 reviews)
Mchenja Bushcamp

Mchenja Bushcamp

Set in a shady ebony grove on the banks of the Luangwa, Mchenja is a smart tented bushcamp. It combines well with Kakuli and Nsolo – its sister camps with a focus on walking safaris.


98% (63 reviews)
Kakuli Bushcamp

Kakuli Bushcamp

Beside the Luangwa River, Kakuli is a comfortable tented bushcamp offering 4WD safaris and walking safaris – the best of which are camp-to-camp walks linking Kakuli with its nearby sister camps.


97% (62 reviews)
Flatdogs Camp

Flatdogs Camp

A relatively big but very good safari camp, Flatdogs offers value for money with great guiding and good food in a comfortable, relaxed setting.


98% (61 reviews)
Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Lodge is a small and consciously stylish lodge in the Mfuwe area, overlooking the Luangwa River and the South Luangwa National Park beyond – an area renowned for great game.


96% (60 reviews)
Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo is a small, comfortable bushcamp overlooking one or two pools in the usually dry Luwi riverbed. It concentrates on walking safaris in an interesting and diverse area, led by a knowledgeable guide.


97% (52 reviews)
Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta is a laid-back, friendly and good-value lodge on the outskirts of South Lunagwa National Park.


96% (39 reviews)
Luwi Bushcamp

Luwi Bushcamp

In a remote part of the South Luangwa National Park, Luwi is a rustic bushcamp whose emphasis is on walking safaris with great guiding and a chance of seeing some rarely seen and elusive antelope.


93% (38 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris bush-camp

Robin Pope bush-camp

RPS bushcamping in South Luangwa National Park, Zambia


99% (25 reviews)
Lion Camp

Lion Camp

Lion Camp is an established and comfortable camp with a swimming pool, located near to the game-rich Lion Plain in the northern part of South Luangwa National Park.


94% (22 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris walking safari

Robin Pope walking

A seven-day Robin Pope Walking Safari in South Luangwa National Park starts and finishes at a permanent camp, with five days walking between comfortable mobile camps.


98% (21 reviews)
Kapamba Bushcamp

Kapamba Bushcamp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Kapamba is a small and very comfortable bushcamp offering good walks and game drives.


94% (17 reviews)
Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House is a vast and very smart four-bedroom house specifically designed for families and small groups, and offering an exclusive and flexible safari experience.


100% (14 reviews)
Chinzombo

Chinzombo

Opened in early June 2013, Chinzombo offers luxurious and stylish accommodation with very high levels of service and excellent guiding.


98% (13 reviews)
Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp is a classic bushcamp with particularly delightful hosts and offers top-class walking safaris in South Luangwa National Park.


98% (13 reviews)
Bilimungwe Bushcamp

Bilimungwe Bushcamp

A smart bushcamp with four very spacious chalets, Bilimungwe offers interesting walking safaris in pretty riverine woodland, as well as day and night safari drives.


95% (12 reviews)
Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village – beside the South Luangwa National Park, offers guests the rare opportunity to appreciate local village life. Visit for a few hours or stay overnight.


95% (11 reviews)
Robin's House

Robin's House

With your own expert guide, private vehicle, chef and valet, the two-bedroom Robin's House offers an exclusive, flexible safari experience – and is open year round.


94% (10 reviews)
Three Rivers Camp

Three Rivers Camp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Three Rivers Lodge is being constructed by the confluence of three of the valleys rivers.


94% (10 reviews)
Mfuwe Lodge

Mfuwe Lodge

In a game-rich area close to the South Luangwa’s main Mfuwe Gate, Mfuwe Lodge is relatively large by park standards, but it’s stylish, modern and family friendly.


90% (10 reviews)
Island Bush Camp

Island Bush Camp

Island Bushcamp is a good-value, rustic, walking-only camp, in arguably one of the most remote parts of the South Luangwa, well away from all other camps.


100% (9 reviews)
Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge is a luxurious designer camp set in a stunning location, high on a hill overlooking a floodplain within South Luangwa. Explore from here on 4WD safaris and walks.


93% (9 reviews)
Chindeni

Chindeni

Chindeni Bushcamp is a very modern and minimalist camp, which is a far cry from your traditional bushcamp and unlike most of the other camps in South Luangwa.


94% (7 reviews)
Chamilandu Bushcamp

Chamilandu Bushcamp

A very comfortable little bushcamp, Chamilandu has a picturesque setting by the Luangwa River, with a range of habitats that can be explored on foot and by 4WD, day and night.


100% (5 reviews)
Mwamba Camp-out

Mwamba Camp-out

The Mwamba-Camp Out allows you to have an incredibly adventurous night in the bush, sleeping under mosquito nets with activities led by some of the best guides in Zambia.


90% (4 reviews)
Zungulila

Zungulila

Zungulila is a small, comfortable tented bushcamp with an emphasis on walking safaris, in the remote southern section of the South Luangwa.


93% (3 reviews)
Chichele Presidential Lodge

Chichele Lodge

Chichele Presidential Lodge stands within the park on a hill with superb views. Its hotel-like, air-conditioned rooms and child-friendly attitude make it ideal for families or those who don't want to get too close to the bush outside.


100% (1 review)
Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

For an adventurous night in South Luangwa National Park, come and sleep out in the bush, around a campfire, with an experienced guide and game scout.


100% (1 review)
Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp is a basic safari camp in the far north of the South Luangwa, with walking safaris led by renowned guide Deb Tittle.


No reviews yet
Shawa Luangwa Camp

Shawa Camp

Due to open in June 2020, we’re expecting Shawa Luangwa Camp to be a small, intimate and rustic camp, with a good location in a remote section of the South Luangwa National Park.


No reviews yet
Chikunto Safari Lodge

Chikunto

Chikunto Safari Lodge is a new property in Zambia's South Luangwa National Park, sitting on a peninsula of land created by the meandering Luangwa River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa