This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Tafika
Tafika
Tafika

Reviews of Tafika

Wildlife sightings and reviews

272 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Tafika and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 33 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Tafika.
Lion

88% success

Leopard

94% success

Wild dog

43% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Spotted Hyena

97% success

Buffalo

94% success

Wildebeest

50% success

Eland

11% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Showing 81-90 of 272
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs D
Cambridge

"Tafika review"

3 nights Arrived 6 Aug 2015
"Home from home! Real family atmosphere created by John & Carol greeting and hosting guests at meal times. Also by the staff having been there for many years. Very well managed camp, wonderful food (much of it from their own amazing garden), great location

We particularly enjoyed the format of the daily activities which allowed for extended night drives. As a result, the night-spotting was the best we've ever enjoyed in many years of wildlife travel. The guides and spotters also demonstrated a deep respect for the wildlife as well as expert knowledge of animal behaviour in the locality. And by the way, the sightings were amazing including leopard every day and elephants crunching seed-pods outside our hut.

We've stayed at some fantastic camps all over the world but never left any feeling we must return soon as much as on leaving Tafika." See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr P
France

"Great Location & Atmosphere"

3 nights Arrived 27 Jul 2015
"Tafika was a great location on the bend of the river, with great views.

There were always the options of Game Drives Day & Night, Walking & even Mountain Biking. The Mountain Biking with John was a great unique experience, we even were picked up in the middle of the park after 2 hrs & then continued on a night drive.

The atmosphere of the camp is very friendly & relaxed, & dinner times are good social affair. The Tafika team were also very good to us, as we arrived with the problem of lost luggage, they lent us some clothes, toiletries, etc, so we were still able to participate in all the Safaris. They also ensured our luggage was picked up 2 days later when it finally emerged." See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Hammersmth

"Tafika review"

3 nights Arrived 20 Jul 2015
"The location and layout of the camp and the rooms was fantastic at Tafika. The fact that the rooms were spacious and somewhat "open to the elements" made the experience of being in an open camp really exciting - it was great lying in bed listening to the wild animals just outside!

The guides were again highly knowledgeable and very friendly. The game drives were fantastic in terms of the game seen - everything we could have wished for.

The only problem were the vehicles, which are old and a lot less comfortable that those at Kaingo. I found them very uncomfortable: the seating caused me back pain because of the placing of the seatback. I managed to improve the situation by using several folded blankets to raise me up. This is why I gave Facilitiies an "average" score - not sure whether vehicles are counted as facilities." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs M
Hampshire

"Welcome Return to Tafika"

5 nights Arrived 11 Jul 2015
"This was our third visit to Tafika since 2005 and this time was just as rewarding as the previous occasions. Our room was beautifully prepared and hot water was available 24 hours a day. Laundry, cleaning and all general maintenance was carried out very efficiently and without fuss.

Food was amazing, with fresh fruit and vegetables coming direct from their wonderful garden - protected from elephants by an electric fence. Meals were planned and overseen by Rhona who coped unbelievably well with the many and various dietary requirements of the guests and was always on hand to make sure that no-one was given anything unsuitable. We were well looked-after by Heather and the team, especially when one of us became unwell and required re-hydration drinks.

Game drives and walks were rewarding with many elephants, large herds of buffalo, two honey badgers and good leopard sightings - plus extraordinary numbers of elephant shrews! Guiding was generally of a very high standard although with a number of different guides over the five days we found we were often being given the same information and were taken on the same routes. If it had been possible to have the same guide each time, this may have been avoided; we appreciate this is not easy to organise when the camp is busy. One or two of the more newly-qualified guides were a bit intense and may benefit from going out with an experienced and more relaxed guide like Isaac, but it is excellent to see that Tafika is sponsoring new talent in guiding. Crossing the river was always a worthwhile experience!

The roofless Land-Cruisers are the best way to see wildlife and are well set-up with places to put binoculars and bird books.

Tafika remains one of the best camps in Africa, superbly run by John and Carol, and we hope to return one day.

Many thanks to all concerned and our very best wishes to the team - including Brighton, whom we failed to meet on this occasion." See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs L
Ilkley

"Our favourite camp in South Luangwa"

9 nights Arrived 10 Jul 2015
"This was our third visit to Tafika. Each visit seems to be better than the last so we can't wait to return!

The whole Remote Africa Safari's team work well together to make your visit as enjoyable as possible. The rooms are clean and very comfortable and there is always plenty of hot water. The catering team (overseen by Rhona) produce the most wonderful food making the best use of the fresh ingredients grown in the garden.

The guiding team are very knowledgeable and all guides strive to ensure that they share the treasures of this beautiful area of South Luangwa in as interesting a way as they can. John, Carol, Heather and Bryan and all the guides make you feel very welcome and 'at home'." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs G
Hants

"Lovely Tafika"

3 nights Arrived 5 Jul 2015
"Tafika is a lovely camp on a beautiful stretch of the Luangwa River. The view from our chalet was beautiful.

The camp was larger than Mwamba in terms of size and number of people but we quickly got used to that. The staff were great and the food was really excellent.

The standard of guiding was high and we saw plenty. The guides are on rotation so it meant that we had different guides every day for different activities. For us this was a slight disadvantage because your "new" guide did not know where you had been or what you had seen previously, particularly when it came to smaller animals and bird life. On occasions it did feel as though you were starting from scratch as a result. This is a very minor point though. The guides were all personable and knowledgeable.

We had some excellent drives and some very quiet ones. On the whole, game was not as plentiful as at Mwamba. We did a great walk and could see how seriously Tafika take walking. We walked for about 3 hours, stopped to make a bush fire and have tea and cake and then walked back. The highlight was having a leopard growl at us from a bush before he disappeared.

Thanks to everyone at Tafika!" See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs C
Golden CO

"Wanted Another Night"

2 nights Arrived 30 Jun 2015
"We arrived late into Tafika after a long day of travel, and were warmly greeted by the camp owners, John and Carol, and welcomed to the dinner table. I can’t say enough about the hospitality we received during our stay.

We stayed in the family chalet, a comfortable, practical two room reed and thatch unit situated under a shady sausage tree. Just as comfortable was the lounge and reception area. Our evening meals started with cocktails around the campfire before being seated at a lovely table set up under the stars. It was the dead of winter, so to speak, during our visit, so evenings were chilly. I was thoroughly impressed with the way the staff used hot coals to keep the underside of the dining tables warm.

We enjoyed two great driving safaris, a morning drive along the river and an evening drive out to the Nsefu salt pan that transitioned to a night drive returning to Tafika. The wildlife was abundant and we especially enjoyed two intimate leopard experiences.

Crocodile Bushcamp and Chikoko Tree Camp are satellite walking safari camps associated with Tafika. The 6 km / 3.5 mile walks between camps were relaxed and unhurried, though walking across areas with dried hippo footprints required some concentration. Our experienced walking safari guides, Isaac and Bryan, were excellent teachers educating us on details of the animals, birds and traditional uses of the local trees and plants. Unfortunately, wildlife was scarce on our walks. However, we did enjoy watching elephants, puku, impala, kudu, and baboons from the elevated vantage point of our tent at Chikoko Tree Camp. We sought off after a small pride of lions that were frequenting the area near Crocodile Camp during our afternoon walk. They were close by, as we could hear them across the dry riverbed, but twilight was fast approaching and we had to return to the safety of camp. I don’t know if I was disappointed or relieved at missing the opportunity to see the lions on foot.

Crocodile Bushcamp is simple, but the tents are clean and comfortable. The staff was attentive and the food was delicious.

Chikoko Tree Camp is more elegant than Crocodile, but still has a remote bush feel. The tent platforms built up into the trees made this camp special. Again, the staff was attentive and the food was delicious.

If I could have a do over in planning my itinerary after the fact, I would have added another night at Tafika and settled for one day walking safari at Chikoko Tree Camp, simply for the game viewing opportunities. Had we seen the lions while walking at Crocodile, perhaps my enthusiasm for the walking safaris would be different." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia; 7n in Tanzania; 6n in Botswana; 3n in Zanzibar; 2n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms P
Tennessee

"Fantastic Camp"

3 nights Arrived 19 Jun 2015
"I loved Tafika.

The camp itself suited me well because it was a simple, unpretentious place. The staff were warm and welcoming and were friendly without seeming phony. Through the luck of my timing, the game viewing was good, but not excellent while I was there. Luckily, I enquired about the availability of a village visit as soon as I arrived and learned that a visit that afternoon would be my only opportunity. I was so glad I asked, because the village visit was a trip highlight for me. Understandably, they don't want the visits to become a common occurrence, so if it if of particular interest, make sure to ask when you first arrive.

I wasn't to keen on having two tables set for meals and being assigned to a certain table. This happened for two meals and I had been looking forward to dining with a family I had met at a previous camp. I still had an enjoyable meal with nice people, so it wasn't a problem, just not what I would have preferred.

The food was the best of my trip. There were plenty of options and most dishes were self serve so I could choose my own portion sizes. I loved the camp location and the breakfasts by the river.

My chalet was number 1 which would not be my first choice unless the weather is quite hot. It is completely in the shade, so is a bit on the dark side but would be a plus during the hot summer months. The lack of electric plug ins was no issue as there were plenty of outlets for charging in the dining area. The bathroom facilities were very nice and hot water was plentiful. I do hope that the micro light is repaired as I had so looked forward to that activity.

Tafika is a lovely and well run camp and all the staff were really great." See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs R
Aberdeen

"We saw why so many people return to TafiKa"

3 nights Arrived 17 Jun 2015
"We were in the minority at Tafica as the majority of guests were on return visits. We soon saw why people returned as we had a great time and enjoyed the facilities. The game drives and walks were guided to a high standard and we had some great sightings. These included leopard, the yellow bill stork colony and lions at a kill being joined by a crocodile.

All of the Tafika team were friendly and the facilities great with our tent overlooking the river. The food was good but dinner was a little late from our point of view. John and Carol have a great team" See all these reviews: 21n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
The R Family
Surrey

"Tafika review"

5 nights Arrived 16 Jun 2015
"Tafika is a wonderful camp with exceptional service and attention to detail. The guides in particular really seemed to do their best to ensure a fun and enjoyable experience for their guests.

Heather really looked after us and made sure that we got everything we needed.

The rooms are excellent and provide lots of privacy." See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 81-90 of 272
98%
272 reviews of Tafika by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
251
19
1
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in South Luangwa National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Nkwali

Nkwali

In the heart of South Luangwa, overlooking the river, Nkwali is unusual in being open year round. It offers great safaris; a high standard of food, service and care; and an excellent springboard for Robin Pope's various safaris in the park.


96% (203 reviews)
Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp is a small, owner-run camp in a quiet but excellent game area of the Luangwa. Photographers will particularly appreciate the camp’s series of wildlife hides.


96% (188 reviews)
Nsefu

Nsefu

One of the Luangwa's oldest camps, Nsefu is a great safari camp in a remote, beautiful and game-rich location with top-rate guiding.


98% (166 reviews)
Tena Tena

Tena Tena

Tena Tena is one of the Luangwa's best camps in a beautiful location – it's very small, feels very remote and 'in the bush', is run exceedingly well and has top rate guiding.


95% (137 reviews)
Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba is a small, fairly simple, owner-run bushcamp in an excellent game area. It offers first-class walking, 4WD safaris and great game hides; come for excellent guides and a real bush feel.


99% (126 reviews)
Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp is an excellent small, rustic bushcamp that concentrates on walking safaris, and is run by a top-quality operation.


99% (105 reviews)
Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp is a great little rustic bushcamp built to high standards that focuses on excellent walking safaris, with the emphasis on top wildlife guides.


98% (82 reviews)
Kapani Lodge

Kapani Lodge

Just on the south-east side of the national park, Kapani Lodge is the base camp for Norman Carr Safaris, one of the Luangwa's oldest safari operations. It's also a very solid safari camp that has retained lots of character, and runs very well indeed.


95% (80 reviews)
Mchenja Bushcamp

Mchenja Bushcamp

Set in a shady ebony grove on the banks of the Luangwa, Mchenja is a smart tented bushcamp. It combines well with Kakuli and Nsolo – its sister camps with a focus on walking safaris.


98% (63 reviews)
Kakuli Bushcamp

Kakuli Bushcamp

Beside the Luangwa River, Kakuli is a comfortable tented bushcamp offering 4WD safaris and walking safaris – the best of which are camp-to-camp walks linking Kakuli with its nearby sister camps.


97% (62 reviews)
Flatdogs Camp

Flatdogs Camp

A relatively big but very good safari camp, Flatdogs offers value for money with great guiding and good food in a comfortable, relaxed setting.


98% (61 reviews)
Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Lodge is a small and consciously stylish lodge in the Mfuwe area, overlooking the Luangwa River and the South Luangwa National Park beyond – an area renowned for great game.


96% (60 reviews)
Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo is a small, comfortable bushcamp overlooking one or two pools in the usually dry Luwi riverbed. It concentrates on walking safaris in an interesting and diverse area, led by a knowledgeable guide.


97% (52 reviews)
Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta is a laid-back, friendly and good-value lodge on the outskirts of South Lunagwa National Park.


96% (39 reviews)
Luwi Bushcamp

Luwi Bushcamp

In a remote part of the South Luangwa National Park, Luwi is a rustic bushcamp whose emphasis is on walking safaris with great guiding and a chance of seeing some rarely seen and elusive antelope.


93% (38 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris bush-camp

Robin Pope bush-camp

RPS bushcamping in South Luangwa National Park, Zambia


99% (25 reviews)
Lion Camp

Lion Camp

Lion Camp is an established and comfortable camp with a swimming pool, located near to the game-rich Lion Plain in the northern part of South Luangwa National Park.


94% (22 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris walking safari

Robin Pope walking

A seven-day Robin Pope Walking Safari in South Luangwa National Park starts and finishes at a permanent camp, with five days walking between comfortable mobile camps.


98% (21 reviews)
Kapamba Bushcamp

Kapamba Bushcamp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Kapamba is a small and very comfortable bushcamp offering good walks and game drives.


94% (17 reviews)
Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House is a vast and very smart four-bedroom house specifically designed for families and small groups, and offering an exclusive and flexible safari experience.


100% (14 reviews)
Chinzombo

Chinzombo

Opened in early June 2013, Chinzombo offers luxurious and stylish accommodation with very high levels of service and excellent guiding.


98% (13 reviews)
Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp is a classic bushcamp with particularly delightful hosts and offers top-class walking safaris in South Luangwa National Park.


98% (13 reviews)
Bilimungwe Bushcamp

Bilimungwe Bushcamp

A smart bushcamp with four very spacious chalets, Bilimungwe offers interesting walking safaris in pretty riverine woodland, as well as day and night safari drives.


95% (12 reviews)
Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village – beside the South Luangwa National Park, offers guests the rare opportunity to appreciate local village life. Visit for a few hours or stay overnight.


95% (11 reviews)
Robin's House

Robin's House

With your own expert guide, private vehicle, chef and valet, the two-bedroom Robin's House offers an exclusive, flexible safari experience – and is open year round.


94% (10 reviews)
Three Rivers Camp

Three Rivers Camp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Three Rivers Lodge is being constructed by the confluence of three of the valleys rivers.


94% (10 reviews)
Mfuwe Lodge

Mfuwe Lodge

In a game-rich area close to the South Luangwa’s main Mfuwe Gate, Mfuwe Lodge is relatively large by park standards, but it’s stylish, modern and family friendly.


90% (10 reviews)
Island Bush Camp

Island Bush Camp

Island Bushcamp is a good-value, rustic, walking-only camp, in arguably one of the most remote parts of the South Luangwa, well away from all other camps.


100% (9 reviews)
Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge is a luxurious designer camp set in a stunning location, high on a hill overlooking a floodplain within South Luangwa. Explore from here on 4WD safaris and walks.


93% (9 reviews)
Chindeni

Chindeni

Chindeni Bushcamp is a very modern and minimalist camp, which is a far cry from your traditional bushcamp and unlike most of the other camps in South Luangwa.


94% (7 reviews)
Chamilandu Bushcamp

Chamilandu Bushcamp

A very comfortable little bushcamp, Chamilandu has a picturesque setting by the Luangwa River, with a range of habitats that can be explored on foot and by 4WD, day and night.


100% (5 reviews)
Mwamba Camp-out

Mwamba Camp-out

The Mwamba-Camp Out allows you to have an incredibly adventurous night in the bush, sleeping under mosquito nets with activities led by some of the best guides in Zambia.


90% (4 reviews)
Zungulila

Zungulila

Zungulila is a small, comfortable tented bushcamp with an emphasis on walking safaris, in the remote southern section of the South Luangwa.


93% (3 reviews)
Chichele Presidential Lodge

Chichele Lodge

Chichele Presidential Lodge stands within the park on a hill with superb views. Its hotel-like, air-conditioned rooms and child-friendly attitude make it ideal for families or those who don't want to get too close to the bush outside.


100% (1 review)
Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

For an adventurous night in South Luangwa National Park, come and sleep out in the bush, around a campfire, with an experienced guide and game scout.


100% (1 review)
Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp is a basic safari camp in the far north of the South Luangwa, with walking safaris led by renowned guide Deb Tittle.


No reviews yet
Shawa Luangwa Camp

Shawa Camp

Due to open in June 2020, we’re expecting Shawa Luangwa Camp to be a small, intimate and rustic camp, with a good location in a remote section of the South Luangwa National Park.


No reviews yet
Chikunto Safari Lodge

Chikunto

Chikunto Safari Lodge is a new property in Zambia's South Luangwa National Park, sitting on a peninsula of land created by the meandering Luangwa River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa