This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Tena Tena
Tena Tena
Tena Tena
Tena Tena

Reviews of Tena Tena

Wildlife sightings and reviews

136 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Tena Tena and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2018, 23 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Tena Tena.
Lion

82% success

Leopard

86% success

Wild dog

29% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Spotted Hyena

95% success

Buffalo

95% success

Zebra

86% success

Eland

19% success

Roan antelope

5% success

Sable antelope

5% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Showing 91-100 of 136
Duration
Arrival date
Ms H & Ms S
Oslo

"Tena Tena review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Sep 2012
"The camp being brand new, it was a joy coming there. Here we felt really being in the bush, though in a luxurious way. The food was excellent. With a small pool to cool down in during the day, it would be perfect.

After experiencing a super-dedicated guide at another camp, we were a bit disappointed with the drives. Just driving around without stories isn´t that interesting. Stopping, listening and talking about the sticks in the road is part of being in the bush, too, and this was a bit neglected by our guide. Not having that many roads in that part of the park, this could have extended our experience. They are more cautious about off-road driving than in the south of the park, which is good! We didn´t meet any other cars on our drives, and you got a wonderful feeling of being alone out there on the drives.

Lovely and helpful people working there.
" See all these reviews: 5n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mrs D x 3
Newport

"Tena Tena review"

3 nights Arrived 27 Sep 2012
"We were expecting tena tena to be the jewel in the crown and whilst we did have a fantastic time we were disappointed in so much as it could have been 10 out of 10 which is a little frustrating.

When we arrived the host was on her break so James from Robin's house was with us and we mentioned that we would be grateful if we could have a car for just the three of us if at all possible, James said with five tents and three cars it should not be a problem. We did have the first evening drive on our own, but then we were with other people the rest of the time. We seemed to be allocated two Norwegian ladies, they said they were particularly interested in lions. On the second day two French gentlemen arrived and Bertram drove them over to the Nsefu area to see the pride of lions there, at this point we felt that they were having a gold star service and we were having bronze or silver.

There was an issue with a car breaking down on the second day, so we had to get someone out to push us and then we had to leave the car running when we stopped. This meant that there was a car short on the last morning, Helen did not come on this safari but the two Norwegian girls were sat behind Steve and I and talked for most of the time which was a disappointment for us. They went back to pack just after 9 and we stayed out. One questions, if there was a car to collect them, could we have actually gone out on our own to start with. With just five tents I thought five people in one car with the amount we paid for the holiday was disappointing especially when James had told us on arrival that a vehicle to ourselves should not have been a problem. The guide was good at Nsefu but was not careful driving as we were being scratched by branches and having to duck out of the way of them.

It was noticable that there seemed to be no urgency to get people out at six oclock in the morning and on both our walking and driving safari we were waiting for some time for the other guests to go back to their rooms which resulted in us leaving camp at 6.30 or later.

Ali the waiter was very good and was very good on our spot light on the evening safari and exremely well mannered and polite." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs C
Herts

"Tena Tena review"

3 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2012
"Arrived after walking from Nsefu. Claire and her team made us feel very welcome.

Everyone was very friendly, right down to the night watchmen who led us to our tents each night. We were accommodated in large, new tents with a bathroom that overlooked the river which was full of hippo pods. We had three separate guides, Chylomba, Nyambi and Julius and each, in turn, added to our knowledge. A special mention here for Nyambi who led us on a walk and particularly made us aware of the interdependence of all life in the park.

Unfortunately we had a couple sharing our stay who drank too much. A big thank you must go to Claire who handled the situation very well, even giving us a private dinner one night so that we could avoid the couple (the man was particularly overbearing and loud)." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Swansea

"Expertly run camp at Tena Tena"

3 nights Arrived 10 Sep 2012
"The camp has recently moved to an ideal situation.It is expertly managed by Claire and Bertram and this is reflected in the wonderful attitude of the staff.

It is a very interesting area,good for walking and game driving accompanied by knowedgeale,competent guides.Wonderful sightings of Eland herds and a magnificent Carm ine bee-eater colony." See all these reviews: 13n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Peacocks/LC
USA

"Three day safari at new Tena Tena Camp"

3 nights Arrived 7 Sep 2012
"Tena Tena camp has been rebuilt on a new location back from the Luangwa River. The Robin Pope Safaris team was very good, but there were still some details being ironed out during our stay. The shower in Tent #2 was designed to be eco-friendly, but we had great difficulty with it's operation and had either cold or scalding water two of three days. The camp's location is also less attractive than Nsefu Camp.
The highlight of our three days was witnessing five lions swimming across the Luangwa river in morning light. Our guide said they usually cross at night and he had only witnessed such a swim twice in five years.

We also saw three male and one female lion on a buffalo kill, and another group of eight lionesses close to another kill.

The lions were taking advantage of the buffalos' weakened condition this time of year. All told, we must have seen nearly twenty lions near Tena Tena.
" See all these reviews: 7n in Zambia; 6n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr J & Mrs C
Streatha

"Tena Tena review"

2 nights Arrived 6 Sep 2012
"Beautiful new tents and a great location.

We received very good service in camp and some good guiding. We saw some memorable game including 5 lions crossing the river and wild dogs.

Food was excellent and the whole ambience in the camp was welcoming yet professional." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs M
Brussels

"Tena Tena first encounter with hippos"

2 nights Arrived 3 Sep 2012
"Our first camp in Zambia. We arrived from London late so staying only two nights was a bit short. The management and staff gave us a great welcome and very good service throughout our stay, including Brown (the night watchman) who escorted us to and fro.

Wonderful setting on Luangwa River: our first encounter with hippos who munched grass round our tent all night. We felt really close to nature in our tent and loved the open air "bathroom" complete with tiny fly-catching frogs! The only snag was getting up in the night to go to the toilet - unzipping the tent in the dark was a bit off-putting! Breakfast round the camp fire in the morning was magic.

Lots of game on the drives including leopard, lions, giraffe and buffalo." See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia; 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs G
EastEwell

"Tena Tena Camp Safari experience"

2 nights Arrived 14 Jul 2012
"Well organised and a good introduction to being back on safari and in Zambia.

The only current issue is with the location of the camp in that, over the years, the river has taken various different courses and currently the camp is not situation close to the river so the location is nice but it could be better situated by the river. That said they are in the process of moving the map and within 2/3 month it'll be in a new and better location. The general location of the camp is in a good area of the S Luangwa for game viewing and walks and also an ideal starting point for the Robin Pope Luangwa Bush camping." See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr A
Cambridgeshire

"Tena Tena review"

4 nights Arrived 16 Oct 2011
"see above for Nsefu. All staff very helpful , knowledgeable and flexible." See all these reviews: 17n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms W
Berkley, CA

"Chance to relax after walking Safari at Tena."

3 nights Arrived 6 Oct 2011
"Again the the entire experience was great. The tent we occupied was terrific with a view of a watering hole that made terrific viewing of the coming and going of a great number of animals. As with the entire Robin Pope experience the staff, food and atmosphere was terrific.

Lots of diverse and wonderful views of a multitude of different wildlife." See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 91-100 of 136
95%
136 reviews of Tena Tena by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
107
24
4
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in South Luangwa National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Tafika

Tafika

Tafika is one of the best camps in Zambia: naturally built, with few apparent luxuries, but actually very high quality. Service and food are excellent, but the real focus is on top guiding skills and wildlife experience.


98% (274 reviews)
Nkwali

Nkwali

In the heart of South Luangwa, overlooking the river, Nkwali is unusual in being open year round. It offers great safaris; a high standard of food, service and care; and an excellent springboard for Robin Pope's various safaris in the park.


96% (202 reviews)
Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp is a small, owner-run camp in a quiet but excellent game area of the Luangwa. Photographers will particularly appreciate the camp’s series of wildlife hides.


96% (188 reviews)
Nsefu

Nsefu

One of the Luangwa's oldest camps, Nsefu is a great safari camp in a remote, beautiful and game-rich location with top-rate guiding.


98% (166 reviews)
Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba is a small, fairly simple, owner-run bushcamp in an excellent game area. It offers first-class walking, 4WD safaris and great game hides; come for excellent guides and a real bush feel.


99% (126 reviews)
Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp is an excellent small, rustic bushcamp that concentrates on walking safaris, and is run by a top-quality operation.


99% (105 reviews)
Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp is a great little rustic bushcamp built to high standards that focuses on excellent walking safaris, with the emphasis on top wildlife guides.


98% (82 reviews)
Kapani Lodge

Kapani Lodge

Just on the south-east side of the national park, Kapani Lodge is the base camp for Norman Carr Safaris, one of the Luangwa's oldest safari operations. It's also a very solid safari camp that has retained lots of character, and runs very well indeed.


95% (80 reviews)
Mchenja Bushcamp

Mchenja Bushcamp

Set in a shady ebony grove on the banks of the Luangwa, Mchenja is a smart tented bushcamp. It combines well with Kakuli and Nsolo – its sister camps with a focus on walking safaris.


98% (63 reviews)
Kakuli Bushcamp

Kakuli Bushcamp

Beside the Luangwa River, Kakuli is a comfortable tented bushcamp offering 4WD safaris and walking safaris – the best of which are camp-to-camp walks linking Kakuli with its nearby sister camps.


97% (62 reviews)
Flatdogs Camp

Flatdogs Camp

A relatively big but very good safari camp, Flatdogs offers value for money with great guiding and good food in a comfortable, relaxed setting.


98% (61 reviews)
Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Lodge is a small and consciously stylish lodge in the Mfuwe area, overlooking the Luangwa River and the South Luangwa National Park beyond – an area renowned for great game.


96% (60 reviews)
Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo is a small, comfortable bushcamp overlooking one or two pools in the usually dry Luwi riverbed. It concentrates on walking safaris in an interesting and diverse area, led by a knowledgeable guide.


97% (52 reviews)
Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta is a laid-back, friendly and good-value lodge on the outskirts of South Lunagwa National Park.


96% (39 reviews)
Luwi Bushcamp

Luwi Bushcamp

In a remote part of the South Luangwa National Park, Luwi is a rustic bushcamp whose emphasis is on walking safaris with great guiding and a chance of seeing some rarely seen and elusive antelope.


93% (38 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris bush-camp

Robin Pope bush-camp

RPS bushcamping in South Luangwa National Park, Zambia


99% (25 reviews)
Lion Camp

Lion Camp

Lion Camp is an established and comfortable camp with a swimming pool, located near to the game-rich Lion Plain in the northern part of South Luangwa National Park.


94% (22 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris walking safari

Robin Pope walking

A seven-day Robin Pope Walking Safari in South Luangwa National Park starts and finishes at a permanent camp, with five days walking between comfortable mobile camps.


98% (21 reviews)
Kapamba Bushcamp

Kapamba Bushcamp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Kapamba is a small and very comfortable bushcamp offering good walks and game drives.


94% (17 reviews)
Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House is a vast and very smart four-bedroom house specifically designed for families and small groups, and offering an exclusive and flexible safari experience.


100% (14 reviews)
Chinzombo

Chinzombo

Opened in early June 2013, Chinzombo offers luxurious and stylish accommodation with very high levels of service and excellent guiding.


98% (13 reviews)
Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp is a classic bushcamp with particularly delightful hosts and offers top-class walking safaris in South Luangwa National Park.


98% (13 reviews)
Bilimungwe Bushcamp

Bilimungwe Bushcamp

A smart bushcamp with four very spacious chalets, Bilimungwe offers interesting walking safaris in pretty riverine woodland, as well as day and night safari drives.


95% (12 reviews)
Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village – beside the South Luangwa National Park, offers guests the rare opportunity to appreciate local village life. Visit for a few hours or stay overnight.


95% (11 reviews)
Robin's House

Robin's House

With your own expert guide, private vehicle, chef and valet, the two-bedroom Robin's House offers an exclusive, flexible safari experience – and is open year round.


94% (10 reviews)
Three Rivers Camp

Three Rivers Camp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Three Rivers Lodge is being constructed by the confluence of three of the valleys rivers.


94% (10 reviews)
Mfuwe Lodge

Mfuwe Lodge

In a game-rich area close to the South Luangwa’s main Mfuwe Gate, Mfuwe Lodge is relatively large by park standards, but it’s stylish, modern and family friendly.


90% (10 reviews)
Island Bush Camp

Island Bush Camp

Island Bushcamp is a good-value, rustic, walking-only camp, in arguably one of the most remote parts of the South Luangwa, well away from all other camps.


100% (9 reviews)
Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge is a luxurious designer camp set in a stunning location, high on a hill overlooking a floodplain within South Luangwa. Explore from here on 4WD safaris and walks.


93% (9 reviews)
Chindeni

Chindeni

Chindeni Bushcamp is a very modern and minimalist camp, which is a far cry from your traditional bushcamp and unlike most of the other camps in South Luangwa.


94% (7 reviews)
Chamilandu Bushcamp

Chamilandu Bushcamp

A very comfortable little bushcamp, Chamilandu has a picturesque setting by the Luangwa River, with a range of habitats that can be explored on foot and by 4WD, day and night.


100% (5 reviews)
Mwamba Camp-out

Mwamba Camp-out

The Mwamba-Camp Out allows you to have an incredibly adventurous night in the bush, sleeping under mosquito nets with activities led by some of the best guides in Zambia.


90% (4 reviews)
Zungulila

Zungulila

Zungulila is a small, comfortable tented bushcamp with an emphasis on walking safaris, in the remote southern section of the South Luangwa.


93% (3 reviews)
Chichele Presidential Lodge

Chichele Lodge

Chichele Presidential Lodge stands within the park on a hill with superb views. Its hotel-like, air-conditioned rooms and child-friendly attitude make it ideal for families or those who don't want to get too close to the bush outside.


100% (1 review)
Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

For an adventurous night in South Luangwa National Park, come and sleep out in the bush, around a campfire, with an experienced guide and game scout.


100% (1 review)
Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp is a basic safari camp in the far north of the South Luangwa, with walking safaris led by renowned guide Deb Tittle.


No reviews yet
Shawa Luangwa Camp

Shawa Camp

Due to open in June 2020, we’re expecting Shawa Luangwa Camp to be a small, intimate and rustic camp, with a good location in a remote section of the South Luangwa National Park.


No reviews yet
Chikunto Safari Lodge

Chikunto

Chikunto Safari Lodge is a new property in Zambia's South Luangwa National Park, sitting on a peninsula of land created by the meandering Luangwa River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa