This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Little Kwara
Little Kwara
Little Kwara

Reviews of Little Kwara

Wildlife sightings and reviews

177 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Little Kwara and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 2 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Little Kwara.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

50% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Buffalo

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Sitatunga

0% success

White Rhino

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 177
Duration
Arrival date
Circusgirl
Blackpool

"Exceeded all our expectations"

3 nights Arrived 29 Jun 2018
"An intimate camp that really gave the feeling of being in the bush due to the animals roaming through the camp from time to time.

Very personal service and really appreciated the staff singing and dancing on the last night.

A truly wonderful experience." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wild dog

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs B
Maidstone

"Great Safari & Wild Dog pups at Little Kwara "

3 nights Arrived 11 Jun 2018
"Little Kwara was our last stop on our trip and a great end to an exciting adventure. We were lucky in that the large Wild Dog pack were denning in the area with 12 pups and we had some lovely sightings of them.... both at the den site and also out on drives. The guides were excellent, especially as we were tracking 4 of the dogs hunting... the dogs running through the bush whilst we were tearing along on the outside in parallel trying to keep up - an exhilarating experience.

The camp was lovely, plenty of sightings of elephants around the general area and directly outside our room... in keeping with the Kwando camps, it all feels very open which is great. The food was up to the usual standard and my wife (who is vegetarian) was well catered for (same applied at all camps).

Across all our camps, whilst we loved our stay it was probably not the highlight (though of course the dogs were brilliant and were something we specifically travelled for) but we put this down to Lebala which set a mid-trip standard that had little chance of being bettered..... but a great camp none the less" See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

Wild dog

5 sightings

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

5 sightings

Mr & Mrs G
Liphook

"Little Kwara disappointing"

3 nights Arrived 31 May 2018
"On arrival at Little Kwara we were warmly welcomed by the staff and given a cold drink and given all the information about the lodge with particular emphasis on care with animals within the lodge area, especially baboons. Our first impression of the communal areas was ok, but when we were shown our private lodge we were both very disappointed, it all looked very run down and in need of a total make over. Just some of the points that struck us immediately were poor quality linen and towels, a safe that we were advised not to use in case it might not open! Window covers that had been damaged and patched. We subsequently discovered that we could not use the shower in the bath as the diverter was seized. There was no insect screening on the other shower so we did not want to use it after dusk and the ceiling fan was so noisy we couldn't use it.

After arrival at Little Kwara my wife was taken ill and had to stay in bed so unfortunately we could not go on any of the game drives so we can make no comment on the game viewing at all.

We cannot praise the staff in the lodge and in the Maun office enough as they did everything in their power to arrange transport for us back to Maun at short notice.They also met us at the airport, took us to doctors and pharmacy to collect the prescriptions and got us to a hotel.

Many thanks to Babbewe and Lessor at the lodge for there help." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Poor
Mr & Mrs A
Aboyne

"Peace in the bush"

3 nights Arrived 10 May 2018
"This is a beautiful camp with animals in and around the camp. Highlights included a leopard up a tree, frustrated by a hyena below stealing her catch wild dog, cheetah and crocodile. There was also some very interesting hippo behaviour which all the guests would have enjoyed observing but was cut short in favour of trying to find a lion in vain.

No night drives were possible.

Our guide was disappointing who did an adequate job with little obvious enthusiasm. Our interest in birds was largely ignored. Much time was wasted tracking a lion. Even with a spotter the high grass made this an impossible task. Despite the significant animal activity not too long before daybreak in the camp we were taken to the other end of the concession to look for animals and tracks. We are not sure why.

It would be interesting to revisit this camp when the waters flood the plain and bring in more animals.

There are excellent facilities for charging camera batteries. No wi-fi.

We loved the checklist booklets." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mrs B
Exeter

"Little Kwara review"

3 nights Arrived 5 May 2018
"better for game drives than boat trips
great tracker KLB and guide G" See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mrs S
Enfield

"Fantastic tracking at Little Kwara"

4 nights Arrived 30 Mar 2018
"Great sightings of cheetah on several occasions (including mating!) and lions on zebra kill. Some really wonderful tracking by our guide G, and tracker, Luke, who manged to locate a group of three wild dogs.

We also experienced the excellent tracking skills of guide, Rogers, and tracker Mike. This was again the result of swopping vehicles and joining another group for a day, to avoid going to the air strip and interrupting our game drive." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Alice
Dusseldorf

"Little Kwara review"

3 nights Arrived 12 Feb 2018
"Little Kwara is the perfect location to experience a great Safari. It is simple and small lodge with nice people and good comforts.

The Safari is the highlight here. It was just amazing experience. The food is great and the team always happy to help.

It is a good compromise to stay in the nature cos it is not a luxury lodge exactly what we were looking for.

The rooms are very quite far from each other and with great view." See all these reviews: 3n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr Elliot G
USA

"Little Kwara review"

3 nights Arrived 16 Dec 2017
"Had a wonderful three-night stay at Little Kwara as the first of two safari camps we visited in Botswana. Staff was great, very warm and welcoming, and provided excellent service. The camp is small and intimate, with a capacity of 18 people, so you get the other the other travelers well. My wife and I were traveling on our honeymoon and on the last night they prepared a wonderful surprise private dinner for us in our cabin -- really exceptional and personalized service.

Our guide (Josiah) and tracker (KP) were both excellent. Both grew up in the Delta and shared lots of local knowledge on the animals and geography. One of the biggest highlights of Little Kwara is the ability to off-road, and Josiah was never shy about driving through thick brush to track cheetah, wild dogs, etc. Our trip was during the green season but we saw nearly all the animals I expected to see (except leopard) and had no rain at all.

Overall I'd recommend Little Kwara very highly if you're considering a trip to the Delta!" See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Miss R
Kent

"Fabulous LK"

3 nights Arrived 8 Nov 2017
"I love LK. It's small with excellent guides and trackers and the camp staff under Charles’ and Okie’s management are delightful. I have stayed at LK five times and will be returning. The game at Kwara is plentiful and varied. This year we spent a day and a half on the track of a peripatetic rhino. An amazing sighting if we had found more than its tracks. Rhinos were only re-introduced to Botswana a few years back and sightings are rare. The foray north was not entirely unproductive. The scenery was beautiful and we found a male cheetah that was thought to have died, it was so long since he had been seen. Finally, a specal mention for the lady chef who led the singing!" See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr J
Livingston

"Great Safari at Little Kwara"

3 nights Arrived 1 Nov 2017
"Warm welcome. Very nice accommodations, raised so won't flood. Very well cared for.

Our Guide Tom and our tracker did really well locating animals, very knowledgeable and excellent driver. Really cared about our safety. Excellent variety of activities with dug out and river boat tour.

Great selection of animals, birds and plants. Very good food, even a personally cooked entree!!!

All staff friendly and gave great service." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 177
93%
177 reviews of Little Kwara by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
131
34
10
2
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okavango Delta Safari Reserves

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp's private reserve boasts land and water activities year round, with excellent game-viewing opportunities and access to permanent channels of the north-east Okavango Delta.


93% (184 reviews)
Little Vumbura

Little Vumbura

On a secluded island within a private reserve, Little Vumbura combines superb game viewing with a broad diversity of habitats in a truly picturesque setting.


96% (122 reviews)
Shinde Camp

Shinde Camp

With experienced staff and a wealth of activities, Shinde offers a traditional safari in an exceptionally varied and wildlife-rich environment.


93% (87 reviews)
Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba, in Botswana's southern Okavango Delta, is a small family friendly safari camp; it offers great dry-land safaris and in our experience consistently delivers good game sightings.


96% (78 reviews)
Sandibe Safari Lodge

Sandibe Safari Lodge

The luxurious Sandibe Okavango Safari Lodge lies in a private concession in the heart of the Okavango Delta, beside Moremi Game Reserve, with superb big-game viewing.


94% (71 reviews)
Kanana

Kanana

In a beautiful part of the Delta, Kanana focuses on fantastic water activities and birding – including exclusive access to an impressive heronry.


95% (67 reviews)
Chitabe Camp

Chitabe Camp

In the southern Okavango Delta, the excellent Chitabe Camp concentrates on dry-land safaris in an area that we've found particularly good for wild dog sightings in recent years.


96% (64 reviews)
Footsteps across the Delta

Footsteps across the Delta

Small and very rustic, Footsteps across the Delta focuses on walking safaris; it also runs a special children’s programme so is particularly suitable for families.


99% (43 reviews)
Tubu Tree Camp

Tubu Tree Camp

A traditional tented camp with a distinctive tree-house feel, Tubu Tree offers some of the best game viewing in the Jao Reserve.


98% (38 reviews)
Splash Camp

Splash Camp

Set in the Kwara Reserve, offering superb wildlife viewing year-round, Splash offers both land and water activities led by guides with a particular knack for tracking big game.


95% (38 reviews)
Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp

Nxabega Tented Camp

Nxabega offers a selection of both land- and water-based activities, plus very good guiding, food and service, but game viewing can be somewhat erratic.


94% (35 reviews)
Vumbura Plains

Vumbura Plains

Indulgently stylish and luxurious, Vumbura Plains offers superb game viewing and birding on an exceptionally varied private reserve.


96% (34 reviews)
Gomoti Plains Camp

Gomoti Plains Camp

Overlooking a tributary of the Gomoti River, Gomoti Plains Camp is a classically designed camp with very comfortable tents in a good game- viewing area.


92% (30 reviews)
Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp is a small safari camp with an informal island feel; it is ideal for water-based activities in the Delta and offers excellent birdwatching.


98% (26 reviews)
Kwetsani Camp

Kwetsani Camp

Deep in the Delta, overlooking a floodplain, Kwetsani Camp is a small, high-end camp with good access to areas for land and water-based activities.


95% (22 reviews)
Mapula Lodge

Mapula Lodge

For an affordable yet varied safari encompassing a range of eco-systems, the traditional Mapula Lodge takes a lot of beating.


94% (19 reviews)
Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp is a well-run, intimate camp in a pretty part of the Okavango, offering a range of activities and the option to spend a morning walking with elephants.


92% (17 reviews)
Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp is a traditional safari camp, best known for the thrilling lion and buffalo interaction that is often found here in broad daylight.


94% (16 reviews)
Stanley's Camp

Stanley's Camp

In a private concession south of Moremi Game Reserve, Stanley's Camp offers 4WD game drives, seasonal water activities and a superb elephant interaction.


92% (15 reviews)
Little Tubu

Little Tubu

Little Tubu is a new, traditional camp with just three tented chalets and a distinctive tree-house feel. The areas around it can be explored by water and land-based activities year round.


100% (12 reviews)
Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp lies amidst stunning Okavango Delta scenery. Come for idyllic mokoro trips and great birdwatching, and accept that big-game sightings here are a bonus.


93% (12 reviews)
Xaranna Okavango Delta Lodge

Xaranna

Xaranna is a plush tented camp amongst the idyllic waterways and islands of the Delta. Each air-conditioned tent has a plunge pool. Water activities and pampering are the focus here.


90% (8 reviews)
Pelo Camp

Pelo Camp

In a pristine wilderness environment deep in the Okavango Delta, the seasonal Pelo Camp is tented yet comfortable, with activities focusing on excursions by mokoro.


97% (7 reviews)
Seba Camp

Seba Camp

Seba Camp is a luxury camp in a lovely location that offers the full range of water and land safari activities, depending on the time of year. This camp is particularly suitable for families.


90% (6 reviews)
Duba Explorers Camp

Duba Explorers Camp

Intimate and elegant, Duba Explorers Camp promises a firm safari focus in a remote corner of the Okavango, led by a team who value the highest guiding and hosting standards.


92% (5 reviews)
Jao Camp

Jao Camp

In a beautiful area with fantastic water activities, Jao combines an idyllic location with high levels of luxury and service, and a top-end spa.


80% (4 reviews)
Abu Camp

Abu Camp

Abu Camp is an exclusive safari camp on the western side of the Botswana's Okavango Delta - offering superb elephant-back safaris and opportunities to walk with them too.


70% (2 reviews)
Okavango Delta Walking Safari

Okavango Walking Safari

The Okavango Delta Walking Safari camps in a secluded Okavango Delta Reserve where there are few roads; the ideal location for a walking trail led by an expert guide.


100% (1 review)
Kiri Camp
No reviews yet
Setari Camp

Setari Camp

Setari Camp stands on an island dotted with palm trees, close to the base of the Okavango’s ‘Panhandle"


No reviews yet
Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge is a luxurious camp with international-style facilities including air conditioning and intercom in each room; offering water based activities in the Okavango Delta.


No reviews yet
Xudum Okavango Delta Lodge

Xudum Delta Lodge

Xudum is a beautifully crafted lodge well situated to explore the Delta waterways. Each air-conditioned suite has a private plunge pool and a lofty viewing deck with a sala that doubles as a 'star bed'.


No reviews yet
Qorokwe Camp

Qorokwe Camp

Luxurious and contemporary, the relatively new Qorokwe Camp is a gem in the Okavango Delta, offering land- and occasionally water-based activities in a prime wildlife area.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa