This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Sandibe Safari Lodge
Sandibe Safari Lodge
Sandibe Safari Lodge
Sandibe Safari Lodge
Sandibe Safari Lodge
Sandibe Safari Lodge
Sandibe Safari Lodge
Sandibe Safari Lodge
Sandibe Safari Lodge
Sandibe Safari Lodge

Sandibe Safari Lodge


19°27’11.0"S 23°18’8.0"E

Reviews of Sandibe Safari Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

70 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Sandibe Safari Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 4 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Sandibe Safari Lodge.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

75% success

Cheetah

50% success

Wild dog

75% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Eland

50% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

White Rhino

0% success

Showing 41-50 of 70
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs & Mr S
Oxford

"Sensational Speedy (guide) at Sandibe!"

3 nights Arrived 4 May 2011
"This was a lovely lodge which was completely at one with the surrounding environment.

Speedy was another amazing guide and his partnership with Ba-Ba the fantastic spotter, really enhanced our enjoyment of the game drives." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Yee Family
Hong Kong

"Sandibe Safari Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 27 Apr 2011
"We were very happy with the staff, the location, the rooms, the game drives and the food. Our chef was excellent and even allowed our kids to make cookies in the kitchen one day. The game drives were very good. While the location isn't easy to get to, the transfers overall went smoothly.

The only hiccup in transfers was when WIlderness Air picked us up at the Chitabe airstrip on our way out: The plane arrival time was erroneously given to Sandibe as later than when the plane actually arrived (we were just able to make it); and when we got there, the co-pilot told us that they only had seats for 4 on the plane, despite our party being 7 people. We were told that they had to call to order another plane for us and started to depart with none of us. Just as they were about to depart, the plane suddenly returned for four of us and another 3-passenger plane showed up. It was quite confusing but fortunately it all worked out. All the other transfers went very smoothly. In any case, we could hear Katherine (was that the Sandibe manager's name?) on the radio figuring out what to do for us, and I could tell that she was working hard on making our transfer work.

We also were able to have our own vehicle because we had 7 people, so our 2.5 year old son was able to join us on all the game drives and boat ride. It was wonderful. Our guide/driver and tracker were all very good and we were able to see many animals, some of which we had to hunt down! It was fantastic.

One suggestion for the Sandibe would be for the store to have more smaller sizes available, especially for men's shirts. There were plenty of 2XXLs available!" See all these reviews: 3n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mrs & Mr B
Washington

"Lots of animals in February"

3 nights Arrived 16 Feb 2011
"Our experience at Sandibe, as at Nxabega, was really great. As noted in my comments about Nxabega, we had been concerned that our trip might be somewhat less fun because we were traveling in the rainy season. Once again, we had no rain. One of the advantages of traveling in February is that there are many fewer tourists, and so we felt the staff in both Nxabega and Sandibe had more time for us. Sandibe, like Nxabega, is very well managed. We were impressed.

Our guide, Tsoba, and the tracker, were both extremely professional and good. They did an absolutely super job tracking down a pack of 24 wild dogs, stopping the vehicles, getting out and walking out to areas where they could get a better sense of what the animals' tracks indicated in terms of the direction they were moving, etc. And once we found the dogs, the guide was able to tell us a lot about their behavior, movement, and so forth. Indeed, all along the guide was not only able to spot and identify animals and an incredible number of different birds, but he was able to tell us a lot about them, about the environment in that area, and so forth. We thoroughly enjoyed a couple of late afternoon boat rides into the sunset, a morning walk with our guide, a surprise brunch prepared for us at a small lake with lots of birds and giraffe nearby, and so much more.

Once more, there was flexibility and a great effort by the staff to see that we had a good visit. When staff learned that my husband really likes a South African dried meat as a snack, the meat appeared promptly in the snack bottles in our tent, though we never requested them. When we found the dogs in the afternoon, we stayed on for some time watching as the whole pack jumped up, played and "kissed" each other, and generally romped before lying down again. As a result, we got back to the camp pretty late for dinner. No one was flustered. In my comments on Nxabega, I mentioned the wonderful coordinated effort by staff at the two camps to get my husband's cell phone, left at Nxabega, back to him.

The down side of Sandibe is that the view from the main camp area is limited because of the surrounding reeds. Also, this is one of the earlier &Beyond camps, and though the tent is extremely nice, it is not, in my opinion, quite as nice as the Nxabega tents. I heard what might be rumors that they might add another site nearby with better views. This said, the view is not bad, and the whole experience of being at Sandibe was just super.." See all these reviews: 5n in Botswana; 1n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Ms M
London

"Sandibe Safari Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 5 Dec 2010
"This was by far our best safari experience.

The hospitality was wonderful, from the cold water bottles offered before drives, to the cold towels given to us when we arrived back. The food was excellent, including kudu steak and other local specialities.

Our guide (Gee) and our tracker (Steve) worked extremely well as a team, and made a huge effort to make sure that everything was explained in great detail. We saw 3 different leopards in 3 days!

Their enthusiasm was contagious, and we thoroughly enjoyed their company!" See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 1n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs D
Twickenham

"Sandibe Safari Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 7 Nov 2010
"After Nxabega, any camp would struggle to match that experience, but even so, Sandibe felt much less welcoming. General impression was of disinterest.

Service standards nowhere near as good as Nx (washrooms always out of towels, doors warped etc).
Central area layout was poor, mixed levels only serve to segregate and disharmonise, no focal "bush TV" area.

Rooms full of bugs, not a problem in other camps.

However, game viewing was excellent and our guide and tracker team, Tsavo and Gomm, were the best we encountered (difficult call, but they just win over George + Michael, and Bee + System)." See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Average
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Poor
Mr M & Mrs B
Colorado

"Sandibe Safari Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2010
"Sandibe was a bit more upscale than anticipated and we loved it. Once again, the staff was outstanding and with the exception of the camp's temporary manager (Hayden) who we felt was dismissive of his staff (he couldn't even pronounce some of their names) and who came across like the great white hunter—this was an A+++ experience. The surprise dinner at the Baobab tree with the accompanying African chanting was a real bonus, which again left us with our eyes welled up.

Our guide and tracker (Gif-T & Steve respectively) were top notch. They were not as experienced as our previous guides when we had a private vehicle, but they were fun and it was obvious they wanted us to enjoy ourselves. Their joking added a dimension to the experience and I wouldn't hesitate to go out with either again. Virginia and Kelly (staff members) were also great and could not do enough for us. We thoroughly enjoyed the staff, the setting, the accommodations and the food—good choice." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs & Mr L
PA

"Sandibe Safari Lodge review"

4 nights Arrived 12 Sep 2010
"Great atmosphere, wonderful staff, a top rate place with excellent game viewing. Rooms have good character." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs D
NL

"Sandibe Safari Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 9 Aug 2010
"The third camp we visited and very different from the Kwando camps. More luxury and aiming to 5-star service with lots of staff. The overall impression was more formal than the other camps we visited. We missed the informal atmosphere in this camp, like chatting with guides and other guests over diner and sharing the experience of the day (separate setting of tables when dining).

There was a very cold wind, especially early mornings, which might be the reason for spotting less 'cats'. However, we enjoyed seeing lots of other game and many different beautiful birds.

All staff was very friendly and did their utmost to please us. Without doubt, they're all working very hard, especially when elephants, hippo's, baboons and hyena's are disturbing the daily routines!" See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs R
Kent

"Great Safari"

2 nights Arrived 3 Jul 2010
"In the information supplied in advance it described a bush walk with a guide who could show rope making, fire from sticks etc. When we asked about this they seemed quite taken aback and clearly had not expected to provide this activity.

Having said that our guide did take us out for a short walk and showed us how to tel the difference in tracks. Perhaps this feature should be removed from the brochure." See all these reviews: 5n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr J & Mr B
London

"Sandibe Safari Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 2 Jun 2010
"This was one of two @Beyond camps visited.These comments apply to both. The 'corporate formula' seems to be striving to offer a 5Star hotel service which is out of keeping with the safari experience.

An excessive number of staff (personal butler, masseuse and a legion of waiters, supervisors etc) created a stifling/stuffy atmosphere in stark contrast to the two Kwando Safari camps visited. Once you had broken through the formal service regime, the staff turned out to be pleasant and natural, they just needed to be released from the absurd 'house style' imposed on them. The menus were overelaborate but the actual result was disappointing. Worst of all guests were seated at separate tables which inhibited social interchange. More Bournemouth than Okavango!.

The guide was excellent but the tracker was a trainee, who while pleasant enough, did'nt contribute much." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Showing 41-50 of 70
94%
70 reviews of Sandibe Safari Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
55
11
3
0
1
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okavango Delta Safari Reserves

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp's private reserve boasts land and water activities year round, with excellent game-viewing opportunities and access to permanent channels of the north-east Okavango Delta.


93% (184 reviews)
Little Kwara

Little Kwara

Little Kwara is an intimate camp offering enthusiastic guiding on both land- and water-based safaris in an area known for good densities of big game.


93% (177 reviews)
Little Vumbura

Little Vumbura

On a secluded island within a private reserve, Little Vumbura combines superb game viewing with a broad diversity of habitats in a truly picturesque setting.


96% (122 reviews)
Shinde Camp

Shinde Camp

With experienced staff and a wealth of activities, Shinde offers a traditional safari in an exceptionally varied and wildlife-rich environment.


93% (87 reviews)
Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba, in Botswana's southern Okavango Delta, is a small family friendly safari camp; it offers great dry-land safaris and in our experience consistently delivers good game sightings.


96% (78 reviews)
Kanana

Kanana

In a beautiful part of the Delta, Kanana focuses on fantastic water activities and birding – including exclusive access to an impressive heronry.


95% (67 reviews)
Chitabe Camp

Chitabe Camp

In the southern Okavango Delta, the excellent Chitabe Camp concentrates on dry-land safaris in an area that we've found particularly good for wild dog sightings in recent years.


96% (64 reviews)
Footsteps across the Delta

Footsteps across the Delta

Small and very rustic, Footsteps across the Delta focuses on walking safaris; it also runs a special children’s programme so is particularly suitable for families.


99% (43 reviews)
Tubu Tree Camp

Tubu Tree Camp

A traditional tented camp with a distinctive tree-house feel, Tubu Tree offers some of the best game viewing in the Jao Reserve.


98% (38 reviews)
Splash Camp

Splash Camp

Set in the Kwara Reserve, offering superb wildlife viewing year-round, Splash offers both land and water activities led by guides with a particular knack for tracking big game.


95% (38 reviews)
Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp

Nxabega Tented Camp

Nxabega offers a selection of both land- and water-based activities, plus very good guiding, food and service, but game viewing can be somewhat erratic.


94% (35 reviews)
Vumbura Plains

Vumbura Plains

Indulgently stylish and luxurious, Vumbura Plains offers superb game viewing and birding on an exceptionally varied private reserve.


96% (34 reviews)
Gomoti Plains Camp

Gomoti Plains Camp

Overlooking a tributary of the Gomoti River, Gomoti Plains Camp is a classically designed camp with very comfortable tents in a good game- viewing area.


92% (30 reviews)
Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp is a small safari camp with an informal island feel; it is ideal for water-based activities in the Delta and offers excellent birdwatching.


98% (26 reviews)
Kwetsani Camp

Kwetsani Camp

Deep in the Delta, overlooking a floodplain, Kwetsani Camp is a small, high-end camp with good access to areas for land and water-based activities.


95% (22 reviews)
Mapula Lodge

Mapula Lodge

For an affordable yet varied safari encompassing a range of eco-systems, the traditional Mapula Lodge takes a lot of beating.


94% (19 reviews)
Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp is a well-run, intimate camp in a pretty part of the Okavango, offering a range of activities and the option to spend a morning walking with elephants.


92% (17 reviews)
Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp is a traditional safari camp, best known for the thrilling lion and buffalo interaction that is often found here in broad daylight.


94% (16 reviews)
Stanley's Camp

Stanley's Camp

In a private concession south of Moremi Game Reserve, Stanley's Camp offers 4WD game drives, seasonal water activities and a superb elephant interaction.


92% (15 reviews)
Little Tubu

Little Tubu

Little Tubu is a new, traditional camp with just three tented chalets and a distinctive tree-house feel. The areas around it can be explored by water and land-based activities year round.


100% (12 reviews)
Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp lies amidst stunning Okavango Delta scenery. Come for idyllic mokoro trips and great birdwatching, and accept that big-game sightings here are a bonus.


93% (12 reviews)
Xaranna Okavango Delta Lodge

Xaranna

Xaranna is a plush tented camp amongst the idyllic waterways and islands of the Delta. Each air-conditioned tent has a plunge pool. Water activities and pampering are the focus here.


90% (8 reviews)
Pelo Camp

Pelo Camp

In a pristine wilderness environment deep in the Okavango Delta, the seasonal Pelo Camp is tented yet comfortable, with activities focusing on excursions by mokoro.


97% (7 reviews)
Seba Camp

Seba Camp

Seba Camp is a luxury camp in a lovely location that offers the full range of water and land safari activities, depending on the time of year. This camp is particularly suitable for families.


90% (6 reviews)
Duba Explorers Camp

Duba Explorers Camp

Intimate and elegant, Duba Explorers Camp promises a firm safari focus in a remote corner of the Okavango, led by a team who value the highest guiding and hosting standards.


92% (5 reviews)
Jao Camp

Jao Camp

In a beautiful area with fantastic water activities, Jao combines an idyllic location with high levels of luxury and service, and a top-end spa.


80% (4 reviews)
Abu Camp

Abu Camp

Abu Camp is an exclusive safari camp on the western side of the Botswana's Okavango Delta - offering superb elephant-back safaris and opportunities to walk with them too.


70% (2 reviews)
Okavango Delta Walking Safari

Okavango Walking Safari

The Okavango Delta Walking Safari camps in a secluded Okavango Delta Reserve where there are few roads; the ideal location for a walking trail led by an expert guide.


100% (1 review)
Kiri Camp
No reviews yet
Setari Camp

Setari Camp

Setari Camp stands on an island dotted with palm trees, close to the base of the Okavango’s ‘Panhandle"


No reviews yet
Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge is a luxurious camp with international-style facilities including air conditioning and intercom in each room; offering water based activities in the Okavango Delta.


No reviews yet
Xudum Okavango Delta Lodge

Xudum Delta Lodge

Xudum is a beautifully crafted lodge well situated to explore the Delta waterways. Each air-conditioned suite has a private plunge pool and a lofty viewing deck with a sala that doubles as a 'star bed'.


No reviews yet
Qorokwe Camp

Qorokwe Camp

Luxurious and contemporary, the relatively new Qorokwe Camp is a gem in the Okavango Delta, offering land- and occasionally water-based activities in a prime wildlife area.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa