This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge


21°27’41.0"S 15°52’30.0"E

Reviews of Erongo Wilderness

Wildlife sightings and reviews

411 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Erongo Wilderness and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 25 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Erongo Wilderness.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

21% success

Zebra

17% success

Eland

4% success

Giraffe

4% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Showing 91-100 of 411
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs B
Swindon

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge."

3 nights Arrived 21 Feb 2017
"This place looked fantastic, lush green and full of flowers. The result of heavy rain about two weeks before our visit. We had a great room and the food was good as was the wine list. Though it was a long trek down from our room to reception and then up to the dining room. A few points that might improve the room. A mirror in the bedroom in addition to the one in the bathroom would help. More shelving and rather less hanging space would be an improvement, together with another luggage stand so there's space for a second bag. Does the safe really need to be on the floor and jammed into a corner? It's very awkward to use. The shower floor which was dished has been painted with some sort of composition this is slippery when wet. Fortunately the rocky top to the wall provides grab handles to save oneself." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Mr K
Cinderford

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 17 Feb 2017
"What a stunner to save till last. We thought it was just a stop off on the way home, no. More breathtaking rocky landscape seen from a wonderful tented chalet of very high quality. Lots of birds and animals. Some fantastic south african wines and great food.A perfect finish to the trip. " See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr R & Mrs M
UK

"Erongo"

2 nights Arrived 14 Feb 2017
"Fantastic tented rooms in a lovely setting. Excellent guides.

Food good except for one over-cooked fish dish." See all these reviews: 27n in Namibia; 4n in South Africa; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs G
Huntingdon

"Stunning location"

2 nights Arrived 13 Jan 2017
"An absolutely beautiful lodge, very well run, in a stunning location. The guided walks were included with knowledgeable, friendly guides and a real highlight for me.

Food was very good and I loved being surrounded by wildlife.

Only downside was the insect bites as it had recently rained." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs K
Kitchener

"The most magical place!"

1 night Arrived 3 Jan 2017
"We cannot say enough good things about Erongo Wilderness Lodge! It far exceeded any expectations that we had!
Upon arriving, we knew we were somewhere special! The owner, Doe welcomed us, gave us the rundown of what was going on and we quickly signed up for a couple of guided walks. The staff was so nice and even left us two small bottles of champagne and a congrats on our wedding note.
The guides were excellent, friendly and very knowledgeable. They answered all our questions and taught us so much about the area.
The meals we had there was fantastic!! Delicious, great service and very romantic!
The tented chalet was beautiful! It was comfortable, the atmosphere was incredible. We were constantly saying how we couldn't believe we were there! It was out of a fairy tale!
" See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
P & S
Pickering

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 9 Dec 2016
"Wilderness is a bit of mis-description as the location is not far from Omaruru. They have piped water from the municipality, (faulty at the time of our visit) and mains electricity.

We were shuttled the last kilometre to reception in a 4X4.

Access to the tents(rooms) is up steep paths/steps which were tricky in the dark.

No activities." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia; 6n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
M & M of
Auckland

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 4 Dec 2016
"Enrongo was great.

Food excellent and a great first stop. The walking safari was great and the guide (Keulis) was excellent.

Accommodation set into the hillside fabulous and good for spotting animals. " See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr Z
Maryland, USA

"Wish we had more time here."

1 night Arrived 24 Nov 2016
"We had a lovely sundowners hike to the top of a mountain!

Next time we visit Namibia we will spend at least 5 days here." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr C & Ms B
Macclesfi

"Beautiful tents amongst the rocks"

2 nights Arrived 23 Nov 2016
"Beautifully appointed tents set amongst stunning rocky hills. The accommodation had a great sitting out area where we could relax and watch the many birds, lizards etc.which we were most content to do rather than attempt the well defined walking trails available on what were very hot days.

The camp's restaurant and bar area was comfortable and when the weather was good, dining on the terrace overlooking a floodlit water hole and beneath a star studded sky was wonderful.

All the camp staff were extremely helpful and friendly. We felt very welcome and well looked after." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr N
King's Lynn

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 21 Nov 2016
"Another great billet in a superb setting.

Great guided walks too." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 91-100 of 411
96%
411 reviews of Erongo Wilderness by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
340
65
6
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Central Highlands

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Mundulea Reserve

Mundulea Reserve

The rustic Mundulea Bushcamp offers superb and varied walking in the company of a top-class guide on a reserve that features many endangered or endemic species.


99% (71 reviews)
Frans Indongo Lodge

Frans Indongo Lodge

For a chance to spot some rare game species, Frans Indongo Lodge is an ideal stop over between Windhoek and the Etosha National Park.


93% (67 reviews)
Elegant Farmstead

Elegant Farmstead

A stylish and peaceful lodge, The Elegant Farmstead is a relaxing and comfortable place to break the journey between Windhoek and Etosha.


91% (38 reviews)
Ghaub Guest Farm

Ghaub Guest Farm

Ghaub Guestfarm is a charming guestfarm on the site of an old mission station, in an unusually verdant patch of Namibia.


90% (35 reviews)
Roy's Restcamp

Roy's Restcamp

For an economic, rustic option Roy's Restcamp makes for a convenient overnight stop when travelling to Bushmanland or the Caprivi Strip.


77% (24 reviews)
Cheetah View Lodge

Cheetah View

Cheetah View Lodge offers guests the chance to see cheetahs at close range and to learn about the work of the Cheetah Conservation Fund.


80% (9 reviews)
Ai Aiba Lodge

Ai Aiba Lodge

Ai Aiba is a simple and relatively large lodge with plenty of great walking, mountain biking trials and some spectacular San rock art.


89% (9 reviews)
Hohenstein Lodge

Hohenstein Lodge

Hohenstein Lodge is situated south of the Erongo Mountain Range. Each of its ten chalets has been built to make the most of the panoramic views.


68% (5 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa