This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Nkwali
Nkwali
Nkwali
Nkwali
Nkwali
Nkwali

Reviews of Nkwali

Wildlife sightings and reviews

202 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Nkwali and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Apr-2018, 30 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Nkwali.
Lion

90% success

Leopard

90% success

Wild dog

63% success

Hippo

100% success

Elephant

97% success

Giraffe

97% success

Zebra

96% success

Buffalo

82% success

Spotted Hyena

78% success

Wildebeest

20% success

Roan antelope

8% success

Sable antelope

4% success

Eland

4% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 51-60 of 202
Duration
Arrival date
Mr B
Hertfordshire

"Excellent is an under statement!"

5 nights Arrived 23 Dec 2016
"Our second visit to this wonderful place.

The chalets, solid walls with thatched roof, are spacious and well appointed with 'his and hers sinks and showers' and views overlooking the Luangwa river. Hot water available at all times and mains electrics. The staff ensure you will have an enjoyable time, good hospitality and a wide choice of food (no game served).

An open camp area so animals can roam freely and do so mainly at night with the occasional hippo wandering through and on one night, much to the night watchman's surprise and fright(!), 3 lions walked through.

Game drives mainly involve crossing the river in a 10 seated boat to reach the National Park area which contains a lot of game - even in the rainy season which produces some spectacular thunder storms as was the case on our visit. Nkwali has much to offer and we will be back again some day." See all these reviews: 7n in Kenya; 5n in Zambia; 5n in Malawi
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Cornwall

"Nkwali review"

3 nights Arrived 21 Sep 2016
"Met at by our guide, Fred, for our 3 night stay in this very comfortable and welcoming camp. Greeted by Kiki who managed an excellent team. Our guiding was first class, Fred engaged with us as well as showing extensive knowledge of both flora and fauna. Very good game drives, and a productive bush walk, we were never disappointed, both with game large and small, and with the birdlife. Breakfast round the camp fire, and communal lunches and dinners were in a relaxed atmosphere and the food was excellent. We were in tent 4 which, like all the accommodation, was open fronted during the day, and as the family accommodation, was huge with its own lounge area as well as a double shower in the bathroom! Treated to a “walkaround” by a rather large visitor, our siesta was, on one day, interrupted by an elephant browsing around the tent, and on another occasion by a hippo making its way back to the river. A real treat was the entertainment provided over lunch one day by a bachelor herd of elephants at the waterhole." See all these reviews: 15n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
G'ford Traveller
UK

"great start to an unforgettable experience"

3 nights Arrived 12 Sep 2016
"Nkwali is in a beautiful position on the bank of the river. Our accommodation was such a surprise-a huge beautifully made bed in the centre of a thatched "hut" situated well away from neighbouring "huts". The open front had views onto the river. At night the bedroom was prepared with mosquito nets to keep us insect free. The open, but completely private, bathroom/double wash basins and toilet were at the back. We were advised to keep colourful items such as toothpaste/pills out of sight of baboons-good advice as it happened. We had one invasion but no damage done.

Staff at the camp were without exception friendly and helpful.

Because animals can stray into the camp we were escorted from our accommodation to the dining and bar areas during the hours of darkness. Expect some unfamiliar noises at night! Hippos snort outside your window, lions roar and geese gabble.

Breakfast was served on the river bank (very early!) so that we could get out on game drives before 6.30. The other meals were served in the open where we sat at a long table. Pre lunch and dinner drinks were served at the bar.These arrangement made for a very sociable atmosphere which was well managed by the bar staff and manager." See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr D
Salisbury

"Great introduction to the South Luangwa"

3 nights Arrived 7 Sep 2016
"Nkwali was a perfect introduction to the Zambian bush.

The camp is beautifully located on the banks of the river, with excellent viewing of wildlife from the main buildings and the rooms. The open fronted rooms gave us an intimate connection with the bush and the wildlife, but security at night was provided by the gates installed across the front each night. The rooms were very comfortable and stylish, as were the main guest areas.

The staff were very welcoming and the guiding exemplary." See all these reviews: 6n in Zambia; 5n in Malawi
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs H
Kent

"Nkwali review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Sep 2016
"This was a really good start of the break for us

In hind sight we should have had three nights here and not two" See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
The Sand Martins
Oxon

"Return to Nkwali"

3 nights Arrived 29 Aug 2016
"We had a wonderful welcome from Kiki and the team at Nkwali on this, our fifth visit. The camp has a superb location on the east bank of the Luangwa river.

The view across the river from the open-fronted chalets is splendid. Quick and easy access to the more remote parts of the National Park is assured by boat, pontoon, or simply driving across the river when the level is low enough, as it is at this time of year.

We enjoyed excellent game viewing, with five leopard sitings on one of the days." See all these reviews: 13n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Miss P
London

"Love Robin Pope"

3 nights Arrived 3 Aug 2016
"This was my second stay at a Robin Pope camp (I was at Tena Tena in 2014), and I loved the same things about Nkwali that impressed me at Tena Tena. Their guides are super keen, the starts are good and early in the morning and the whole experience is very safari focused. Their vehicles are great, seating a maximum of four and with no canopy. We had Kiki as our guide who I know is one of their most experienced, and he even suggested leaving a bit early on a couple of afternoons to give us the best possible chance of catching certain sightings. Through extreme patience we managed to catch wild dogs on the first morning drive, a sighting which has eluded me despite much time spent in the park. And then leopard cub(s) twice!!

The camp is lovely. The open fronted rooms are stunning, and I loved the amount of wildlife that could be seen around the camp. On our first afternoon there were lions and at one point a hyena on the riverbank opposite, then at various times during the day I had banded mongooses, bushbuck and baboons almost stepping inside my room.

Overall, Robin Pope continue to impress me massively and together with their "no single supplement" policy this makes them a firm favourite for repeat visits." See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs P
Wiltshire

"Great safari at Nkwali"

3 nights Arrived 3 Aug 2016
"The amenities were much more spacious than expected. The bar and rooms had views over the river with many comings and goings of animals on the opposite bank.

The dining area and pool overlooked a small lagoon which was visited by many birds and animals. Bush buck and a large group of mongooses were frequently seen together with herons and ibis. Our guide, Kiki, went to great lengths to find wild dogs and leopards.

The use of a boat to cross the river into the park gave us a head start in the mornings." See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs G
EastEwell

"Nkwali review"

1 night Arrived 26 Jul 2016
"Good lodge and good location to be able to get across the river.

Good game reviews.

Nice lodge and satisfactory dinner." See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr J
Thailand

"Nkwali Camp - My Welcome to the South Luangwa"

4 nights Arrived 16 Jul 2016
"Nkwali was my first camp of this trip, but the sixth camp I have visited in South Luangwa National Park. I chose Nkwali due to the reputation of Robin Pope Safaris, and the fact that I had never stayed in this area (southern sector) of the park before and wanted to give it a go. Overall, it is probably the least favorite camp I've stayed in in the park.

Location: Good, but not great. Being outside of the park is not a big deal, as Nkwali uses boats to ferry its guests to the park on the other bank of the river, where the safari vehicles are waiting. The camp has a beautiful location right on the Luangwa River, as well as a delightful lagoon behind that sees a huge amount of activity throughout the day. One does not need to leave the camp to have decent wildlife sightings due to the presence of the lagoon, and throughout my stay cheeky elephants roamed through camp. The main reason that the location isn't ideal is that the southern sector of the park is not as game rich as other areas of the park, and it is also more crowded with vehicles from other lodges. I prefer the northern sector (near Lion Plain) and the Nsefu sector of the park to this area.

Rooms were excellent, with a beautiful, open design -- some of the best in the park, in my opinion. My only issue is that they are a bit close together, and, since they are open-fronted, one effectively cannot walk in front of them without invading the privacy of the neighbors.

Service was, as typical for upscale Zambian lodges, quite good. I did get the sense that all of the staff didn't click with each other, which was the first time I've come across this situation in the park.

Food was a bit of a letdown. Despite having "a sous chef from a Michelin-starred restaurant in London" overseeing things, meals were by far and away the least impressive I came across in the four camps I stayed at on the trip. Generally, the brunches -- consisting of an assortment of cold salads, typically more interesting, fresh and healthy than is the norm in South Luangwa camps -- were excellent, but dinners were almost uniformly a let down. I am not sure why the camp doesn't stick with the brunch-time formula of a fresh buffet at dinner, instead of resorting to plated dinners which were not exceptional.

I took all game drives for my activities. Game in the southern sector of the park was varied, and we saw plenty of everything. I wasn't super impressed with my guide compared with some of the other camps I have stayed at in the park.

Lodge facilities were excellent. I particularly liked the small lagoon as, even during the afternoon "down time," one could walk over and still see interesting game. The pool certainly looked nice, but in the middle of Winter was not very inviting! I also enjoyed the beautiful deck built almost directly over the river -- made for some great opportunities to photograph elephants crossing the river!

Overall, I would say that Nkwali is best suited as an intro camp for guests who are venturing on to other Robin Pope lodges in the Nsefu sector, or the walking safaris. As a stand-alone safari camp it is certainly good, but there are many better camps elsewhere in the park. I probably would not return, unless it was in conjunction with an RPS walking safari.

I am more than happy to discuss specifics of any issues I had directly with Expert Africa staff or Robin Pope Safaris directly." See all these reviews: 16n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 51-60 of 202
96%
202 reviews of Nkwali by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
165
33
4
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in South Luangwa National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Tafika

Tafika

Tafika is one of the best camps in Zambia: naturally built, with few apparent luxuries, but actually very high quality. Service and food are excellent, but the real focus is on top guiding skills and wildlife experience.


98% (274 reviews)
Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp is a small, owner-run camp in a quiet but excellent game area of the Luangwa. Photographers will particularly appreciate the camp’s series of wildlife hides.


96% (188 reviews)
Nsefu

Nsefu

One of the Luangwa's oldest camps, Nsefu is a great safari camp in a remote, beautiful and game-rich location with top-rate guiding.


98% (166 reviews)
Tena Tena

Tena Tena

Tena Tena is one of the Luangwa's best camps in a beautiful location – it's very small, feels very remote and 'in the bush', is run exceedingly well and has top rate guiding.


95% (137 reviews)
Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba is a small, fairly simple, owner-run bushcamp in an excellent game area. It offers first-class walking, 4WD safaris and great game hides; come for excellent guides and a real bush feel.


99% (126 reviews)
Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp is an excellent small, rustic bushcamp that concentrates on walking safaris, and is run by a top-quality operation.


99% (105 reviews)
Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp is a great little rustic bushcamp built to high standards that focuses on excellent walking safaris, with the emphasis on top wildlife guides.


98% (82 reviews)
Kapani Lodge

Kapani Lodge

Just on the south-east side of the national park, Kapani Lodge is the base camp for Norman Carr Safaris, one of the Luangwa's oldest safari operations. It's also a very solid safari camp that has retained lots of character, and runs very well indeed.


95% (80 reviews)
Mchenja Bushcamp

Mchenja Bushcamp

Set in a shady ebony grove on the banks of the Luangwa, Mchenja is a smart tented bushcamp. It combines well with Kakuli and Nsolo – its sister camps with a focus on walking safaris.


98% (63 reviews)
Kakuli Bushcamp

Kakuli Bushcamp

Beside the Luangwa River, Kakuli is a comfortable tented bushcamp offering 4WD safaris and walking safaris – the best of which are camp-to-camp walks linking Kakuli with its nearby sister camps.


97% (62 reviews)
Flatdogs Camp

Flatdogs Camp

A relatively big but very good safari camp, Flatdogs offers value for money with great guiding and good food in a comfortable, relaxed setting.


98% (61 reviews)
Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Lodge is a small and consciously stylish lodge in the Mfuwe area, overlooking the Luangwa River and the South Luangwa National Park beyond – an area renowned for great game.


96% (60 reviews)
Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo is a small, comfortable bushcamp overlooking one or two pools in the usually dry Luwi riverbed. It concentrates on walking safaris in an interesting and diverse area, led by a knowledgeable guide.


97% (52 reviews)
Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta is a laid-back, friendly and good-value lodge on the outskirts of South Lunagwa National Park.


96% (39 reviews)
Luwi Bushcamp

Luwi Bushcamp

In a remote part of the South Luangwa National Park, Luwi is a rustic bushcamp whose emphasis is on walking safaris with great guiding and a chance of seeing some rarely seen and elusive antelope.


93% (38 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris bush-camp

Robin Pope bush-camp

RPS bushcamping in South Luangwa National Park, Zambia


99% (25 reviews)
Lion Camp

Lion Camp

Lion Camp is an established and comfortable camp with a swimming pool, located near to the game-rich Lion Plain in the northern part of South Luangwa National Park.


94% (22 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris walking safari

Robin Pope walking

A seven-day Robin Pope Walking Safari in South Luangwa National Park starts and finishes at a permanent camp, with five days walking between comfortable mobile camps.


98% (21 reviews)
Kapamba Bushcamp

Kapamba Bushcamp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Kapamba is a small and very comfortable bushcamp offering good walks and game drives.


94% (17 reviews)
Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House is a vast and very smart four-bedroom house specifically designed for families and small groups, and offering an exclusive and flexible safari experience.


100% (14 reviews)
Chinzombo

Chinzombo

Opened in early June 2013, Chinzombo offers luxurious and stylish accommodation with very high levels of service and excellent guiding.


98% (13 reviews)
Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp is a classic bushcamp with particularly delightful hosts and offers top-class walking safaris in South Luangwa National Park.


98% (13 reviews)
Bilimungwe Bushcamp

Bilimungwe Bushcamp

A smart bushcamp with four very spacious chalets, Bilimungwe offers interesting walking safaris in pretty riverine woodland, as well as day and night safari drives.


95% (12 reviews)
Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village – beside the South Luangwa National Park, offers guests the rare opportunity to appreciate local village life. Visit for a few hours or stay overnight.


95% (11 reviews)
Robin's House

Robin's House

With your own expert guide, private vehicle, chef and valet, the two-bedroom Robin's House offers an exclusive, flexible safari experience – and is open year round.


94% (10 reviews)
Three Rivers Camp

Three Rivers Camp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Three Rivers Lodge is being constructed by the confluence of three of the valleys rivers.


94% (10 reviews)
Mfuwe Lodge

Mfuwe Lodge

In a game-rich area close to the South Luangwa’s main Mfuwe Gate, Mfuwe Lodge is relatively large by park standards, but it’s stylish, modern and family friendly.


90% (10 reviews)
Island Bush Camp

Island Bush Camp

Island Bushcamp is a good-value, rustic, walking-only camp, in arguably one of the most remote parts of the South Luangwa, well away from all other camps.


100% (9 reviews)
Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge is a luxurious designer camp set in a stunning location, high on a hill overlooking a floodplain within South Luangwa. Explore from here on 4WD safaris and walks.


93% (9 reviews)
Chindeni

Chindeni

Chindeni Bushcamp is a very modern and minimalist camp, which is a far cry from your traditional bushcamp and unlike most of the other camps in South Luangwa.


94% (7 reviews)
Chamilandu Bushcamp

Chamilandu Bushcamp

A very comfortable little bushcamp, Chamilandu has a picturesque setting by the Luangwa River, with a range of habitats that can be explored on foot and by 4WD, day and night.


100% (5 reviews)
Mwamba Camp-out

Mwamba Camp-out

The Mwamba-Camp Out allows you to have an incredibly adventurous night in the bush, sleeping under mosquito nets with activities led by some of the best guides in Zambia.


90% (4 reviews)
Zungulila

Zungulila

Zungulila is a small, comfortable tented bushcamp with an emphasis on walking safaris, in the remote southern section of the South Luangwa.


93% (3 reviews)
Chichele Presidential Lodge

Chichele Lodge

Chichele Presidential Lodge stands within the park on a hill with superb views. Its hotel-like, air-conditioned rooms and child-friendly attitude make it ideal for families or those who don't want to get too close to the bush outside.


100% (1 review)
Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

For an adventurous night in South Luangwa National Park, come and sleep out in the bush, around a campfire, with an experienced guide and game scout.


100% (1 review)
Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp is a basic safari camp in the far north of the South Luangwa, with walking safaris led by renowned guide Deb Tittle.


No reviews yet
Shawa Luangwa Camp

Shawa Camp

Due to open in June 2020, we’re expecting Shawa Luangwa Camp to be a small, intimate and rustic camp, with a good location in a remote section of the South Luangwa National Park.


No reviews yet
Chikunto Safari Lodge

Chikunto

Chikunto Safari Lodge is a new property in Zambia's South Luangwa National Park, sitting on a peninsula of land created by the meandering Luangwa River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa