This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Robin Pope Safaris bush-camp
Robin Pope Safaris bush-camp
Robin Pope Safaris bush-camp
Robin Pope Safaris bush-camp

Robin Pope Safaris bush-camp


12°56’13.3"S 31°57’31.8"E

Reviews of Robin Pope bush-camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

25 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Robin Pope bush-camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 2 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Robin Pope bush-camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

100% success

Wild dog

100% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Aardvark

0% success

Eland

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Showing 11-20 of 25
Duration
Arrival date
The B family
Leics.

"Robin Pope Safaris bush-camp review"

2 nights Arrived 26 Aug 2015
"The highlight of our trip! It could not be improved on.

Kanga and his team were fantastic and Kangar himself was by far our best guide both for his enthusiasm and ability to put over information." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs N
Herts

"Robin Pope Safaris bush-camp review"

1 night Arrived 9 Aug 2015
"Very much Glamping. Peaceful.

Throughly enjoyed the walking safari" See all these reviews: 17n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Miss G
Kent

"Amazing"

2 nights Arrived 5 Aug 2015
"I have to say that I was pretty scared before I did the walking safari, but I am so pleased I did it. It was so informative, and really helped my understanding of the whole ecosystem including animal behavior. I found that it also helped me to appreciate the game drives better.

Kanga was an absolute wealth of knowledge, both on the walks and watching the stars before dinner. Also appreciated his sense of humor. Chris and Sebastian made us feel safe whilst out in the middle of nowhere, and watching Chris use his skills to move off a hippo was brilliant.

With my new wealth of knowledge I no longer felt as scared of the animals and this really ramped up my enjoyment of the whole safari." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr M & Ms O
Cumbria

"Robin Pope Safaris : Luangwa Bush Camp"

3 nights Arrived 23 Sep 2014
"Stayed for three nights at two separate bush camps with Kanga as our guide. For us this was one of the highlights of our trip walking between and from the bush camps. Kanga's knowledge as a guide was phenomenal.

Walking safaris should not be missed." See all these reviews: 21n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Leics

"The best experience the highlight of our trip"

2 nights Arrived 25 Aug 2014
"With Kango and his team as our guides we had an amazing two days .His style, passion and knowledge was eagerly shared.

It took camping to a new level and was far more comfortable than we could ever have imagined.....loved the mobile bar. His astronomy tutorial was an added bonus....we learnt so much from him." See all these reviews: 13n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr G
Madrid

"Robin Pope Safaris bush-camp review"

1 night Arrived 11 Aug 2014
"Definitely a highlight of our Zambia experience. Perfect organization, camp, facilities and food. The most important, the guide and security, was just perfect. The real African experience.

We did only one night but would recommend at least two to three nights. Everything is done to adapt to the customer needs and wishes

Robin pope is a Fantastic customer orientated company, highly recommendable despite of Tena Tena experience." See all these reviews: 13n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs L
Tunbridge Wells

"Robin Pope Safaris bush-camp review"

1 night Arrived 24 Apr 2014
"We had particularly wanted to do a 'walking' safari and George, our guide, was very knowledgeable, and we got to see birds and animals which we would have missed had we been driving. This really is 'in the bush', with a beautiful setting on the river.

We had a leopard walking so close by the camp whilst sitting around the camp-fire that evening that you could hear the 'sawing' sound these animals make as they walk through the bush.

We had 'sundowners' down on the river bed, and it felt as if we were truly in Africa." See all these reviews: 7n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr S & Ms B
UK

"Robin Pope Bush Camp - simply superb"

2 nights Arrived 27 Aug 2013
"We walked from Nsefu, heading along the river bank. You only carry your binoculars, camera and some water. We were accompanied by Kanga (our guide), Baron (our armed guard) and Sebastian (who carried the equipment to make tea and provide cake in the tea break, and also was good at spotting birds, and carried the identification book to show us what we had spotted).

Generally bush camping has a maximum of 4 clients; we were lucky as we were the only two. Typically you walk from 6.30 to 10 -10.30ish when it starts to get hot. (There is a break for tea and cake halfway). In the afternoon, you walk from around 4.30 -6.00 (when it begins to get dark). The walking is fairly easy going, fairly flat. If you go walking at home, we think you would have no problem – it is not a route march.

This was a wonderful experience. Kanga was an excellent guide, knowledgeable and interesting and very good company in talking about the wildlife and their environment, but at meals, also more generally about Zambia. Walking gives you a very different perspective on the wildlife when you are on their level. Elephants seem much bigger, and you identify much more with the prey species than you do in a vehicle. Having said that, we always felt very safe in the hands of the team, who were calm and communicated well.

The wildlife viewing was better and closer than we expected. We saw many elephant, buffalo, antelope, hippo, and many birds. We also saw a leopard jump down from a tree, and three leopards who visited our camp.

It was amazing to walk through the bush and arrive at the camp set up already. Food was excellent. The tent was quite spacious. We really like the mesh sides which meant you could see in all directions. (you can cover these if you don’t like that experience). There was a bucket shower and a loo. (It is not roughing it). The camp crew thoughtfully position their tents so you feel it is just you in the bush.

On the second day our guide suggested we walked in a particular direction where game was more active, but that we would then need to be picked up by a vehicle. We did this in the afternoon as well – we probably would have preferred not to in the afternoon as there is a magic about just walking.

On the final morning we walked to Tena Tena.

We would highly recommend the Bush Camping. We stayed for 2 nights – 2 and a half days walking. This was about right for us." See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
The L family
Jersey

"Kanga's Bush-Camp"

1 night Arrived 19 Jul 2013
"As the title suggests this "Top Three Highlight" of the trip was made truly special by the presence of an exceptional guide and great companion, Kanga. His interest, excitement and enthusiasm to share his knowledge was intoxicating; his calm manner and professionalism looking after us in the presence of a lion who had just killed a buffalo calf 10 minutes earlier, were exemplary and maximised our appreciation of the event whilst keeping us safe and the lion undisturbed. Not only did Kanga teach us so much during our walks, but he also told us about local life, about Project Luangwe and so much more. A wonderful evening together, culminating in star-gazing on the river bank: he seems to know about everything!! This was undoubtedly a highlight for us all and we really wished that we had opted for a 3 or 5 day mobile safari walking tour....one day, hopefully!

The walking safaris to and from the bush camp were part of this experience. The pace is gentle and unhurried, the focus being on the surroundings and the wildlife (that is the entire eco-system). Those looking for a brisk, athletic stretch of the legs might be disappointed, but that is not really the point. The walks were an opportunity to experience the bush on a more intimate and more intense level. Walking in the presence of lion, buffalo, hippo, giraffe and elephant was incredibly exciting yet the presence of an armed scout and the cocoon of professionalism, capability and competence that the guides exude, imparts a genuine sense of safety.

As for the camp itself, it bore absolutely no resemblance to any camping holiday we had experienced! Incredible luxury. In fact bizarrely there was a transient moment of regret that it was not more "back to basics". It was a very transient moment however and the romanticised memories of previous masochistic camping experiences were quickly obliterated by the best hot shower of our entire trip! As in all RPS camps, extremely high standard of food and service with no compromise being made for the temporary/transient nature of the bush-camp and not a leaky lilo in sight - indeed one of the best night's sleeps." See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs G
EastEwell

"S Luangwa Bush Camping Experience"

3 nights Arrived 16 Jul 2012
"Guys this is the best bush camping experience we have been on, and we've been on 7/8 such 3 day trips. Very well organised in that they use 3 or 4 different sites and of the 3 nights you'll spend time in 2 or 3 locations dependent on the time of year and game around on your trip.

They're very efficient, you go out on your morning game walk and by the time you walk into the new camp at 10:30 or so it'll be fully erected and set-up. The national parks warden is pretty efficient in aiding you walk safely and the guide, Debbie Tittle, is one of the best walking guides we've had the privilege to be guided by. She's very knowledgeable and informative. We learnt a lot and saw a lot of game including antelope, elephants, zebras and also 2 prides of lions, hyenas and their cubs, leopards including getting to within 20/30 feet of a leopard who was as surprised as us to see it so close up as it stormed out of a gully having been waiting for a meal ticket to potentially walk by. Sorry that the bush camping experience was only 3 days or our safari holiday this time around." See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Showing 11-20 of 25
99%
25 reviews of Robin Pope bush-camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
24
1
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in South Luangwa National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Tafika

Tafika

Tafika is one of the best camps in Zambia: naturally built, with few apparent luxuries, but actually very high quality. Service and food are excellent, but the real focus is on top guiding skills and wildlife experience.


98% (276 reviews)
Nkwali

Nkwali

In the heart of South Luangwa, overlooking the river, Nkwali is unusual in being open year round. It offers great safaris; a high standard of food, service and care; and an excellent springboard for Robin Pope's various safaris in the park.


96% (203 reviews)
Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp is a small, owner-run camp in a quiet but excellent game area of the Luangwa. Photographers will particularly appreciate the camp’s series of wildlife hides.


96% (188 reviews)
Nsefu

Nsefu

One of the Luangwa's oldest camps, Nsefu is a great safari camp in a remote, beautiful and game-rich location with top-rate guiding.


98% (166 reviews)
Tena Tena

Tena Tena

Tena Tena is one of the Luangwa's best camps in a beautiful location – it's very small, feels very remote and 'in the bush', is run exceedingly well and has top rate guiding.


95% (137 reviews)
Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba is a small, fairly simple, owner-run bushcamp in an excellent game area. It offers first-class walking, 4WD safaris and great game hides; come for excellent guides and a real bush feel.


99% (126 reviews)
Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp is an excellent small, rustic bushcamp that concentrates on walking safaris, and is run by a top-quality operation.


99% (105 reviews)
Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp is a great little rustic bushcamp built to high standards that focuses on excellent walking safaris, with the emphasis on top wildlife guides.


98% (82 reviews)
Kapani Lodge

Kapani Lodge

Just on the south-east side of the national park, Kapani Lodge is the base camp for Norman Carr Safaris, one of the Luangwa's oldest safari operations. It's also a very solid safari camp that has retained lots of character, and runs very well indeed.


95% (80 reviews)
Mchenja Bushcamp

Mchenja Bushcamp

Set in a shady ebony grove on the banks of the Luangwa, Mchenja is a smart tented bushcamp. It combines well with Kakuli and Nsolo – its sister camps with a focus on walking safaris.


98% (63 reviews)
Kakuli Bushcamp

Kakuli Bushcamp

Beside the Luangwa River, Kakuli is a comfortable tented bushcamp offering 4WD safaris and walking safaris – the best of which are camp-to-camp walks linking Kakuli with its nearby sister camps.


97% (62 reviews)
Flatdogs Camp

Flatdogs Camp

A relatively big but very good safari camp, Flatdogs offers value for money with great guiding and good food in a comfortable, relaxed setting.


98% (61 reviews)
Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Lodge is a small and consciously stylish lodge in the Mfuwe area, overlooking the Luangwa River and the South Luangwa National Park beyond – an area renowned for great game.


96% (60 reviews)
Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo is a small, comfortable bushcamp overlooking one or two pools in the usually dry Luwi riverbed. It concentrates on walking safaris in an interesting and diverse area, led by a knowledgeable guide.


97% (52 reviews)
Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta is a laid-back, friendly and good-value lodge on the outskirts of South Lunagwa National Park.


96% (39 reviews)
Luwi Bushcamp

Luwi Bushcamp

In a remote part of the South Luangwa National Park, Luwi is a rustic bushcamp whose emphasis is on walking safaris with great guiding and a chance of seeing some rarely seen and elusive antelope.


93% (38 reviews)
Lion Camp

Lion Camp

Lion Camp is an established and comfortable camp with a swimming pool, located near to the game-rich Lion Plain in the northern part of South Luangwa National Park.


94% (22 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris walking safari

Robin Pope walking

A seven-day Robin Pope Walking Safari in South Luangwa National Park starts and finishes at a permanent camp, with five days walking between comfortable mobile camps.


98% (21 reviews)
Kapamba Bushcamp

Kapamba Bushcamp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Kapamba is a small and very comfortable bushcamp offering good walks and game drives.


94% (17 reviews)
Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House is a vast and very smart four-bedroom house specifically designed for families and small groups, and offering an exclusive and flexible safari experience.


100% (14 reviews)
Chinzombo

Chinzombo

Opened in early June 2013, Chinzombo offers luxurious and stylish accommodation with very high levels of service and excellent guiding.


98% (13 reviews)
Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp is a classic bushcamp with particularly delightful hosts and offers top-class walking safaris in South Luangwa National Park.


98% (13 reviews)
Bilimungwe Bushcamp

Bilimungwe Bushcamp

A smart bushcamp with four very spacious chalets, Bilimungwe offers interesting walking safaris in pretty riverine woodland, as well as day and night safari drives.


95% (12 reviews)
Mfuwe Lodge

Mfuwe Lodge

In a game-rich area close to the South Luangwa’s main Mfuwe Gate, Mfuwe Lodge is relatively large by park standards, but it’s stylish, modern and family friendly.


91% (11 reviews)
Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village – beside the South Luangwa National Park, offers guests the rare opportunity to appreciate local village life. Visit for a few hours or stay overnight.


95% (11 reviews)
Robin's House

Robin's House

With your own expert guide, private vehicle, chef and valet, the two-bedroom Robin's House offers an exclusive, flexible safari experience – and is open year round.


94% (10 reviews)
Three Rivers Camp

Three Rivers Camp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Three Rivers Lodge is being constructed by the confluence of three of the valleys rivers.


94% (10 reviews)
Island Bush Camp

Island Bush Camp

Island Bushcamp is a good-value, rustic, walking-only camp, in arguably one of the most remote parts of the South Luangwa, well away from all other camps.


100% (9 reviews)
Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge is a luxurious designer camp set in a stunning location, high on a hill overlooking a floodplain within South Luangwa. Explore from here on 4WD safaris and walks.


93% (9 reviews)
Chindeni

Chindeni

Chindeni Bushcamp is a very modern and minimalist camp, which is a far cry from your traditional bushcamp and unlike most of the other camps in South Luangwa.


94% (7 reviews)
Chamilandu Bushcamp

Chamilandu Bushcamp

A very comfortable little bushcamp, Chamilandu has a picturesque setting by the Luangwa River, with a range of habitats that can be explored on foot and by 4WD, day and night.


100% (5 reviews)
Mwamba Camp-out

Mwamba Camp-out

The Mwamba-Camp Out allows you to have an incredibly adventurous night in the bush, sleeping under mosquito nets with activities led by some of the best guides in Zambia.


90% (4 reviews)
Zungulila

Zungulila

Zungulila is a small, comfortable tented bushcamp with an emphasis on walking safaris, in the remote southern section of the South Luangwa.


93% (3 reviews)
Chichele Presidential Lodge

Chichele Lodge

Chichele Presidential Lodge stands within the park on a hill with superb views. Its hotel-like, air-conditioned rooms and child-friendly attitude make it ideal for families or those who don't want to get too close to the bush outside.


100% (1 review)
Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

For an adventurous night in South Luangwa National Park, come and sleep out in the bush, around a campfire, with an experienced guide and game scout.


100% (1 review)
Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp is a basic safari camp in the far north of the South Luangwa, with walking safaris led by renowned guide Deb Tittle.


No reviews yet
Shawa Luangwa Camp

Shawa Camp

Due to open in June 2020, we’re expecting Shawa Luangwa Camp to be a small, intimate and rustic camp, with a good location in a remote section of the South Luangwa National Park.


No reviews yet
Chikunto Safari Lodge

Chikunto

Chikunto Safari Lodge is a new property in Zambia's South Luangwa National Park, sitting on a peninsula of land created by the meandering Luangwa River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa