This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Nkwazi Lodge
Nkwazi Lodge
Nkwazi Lodge

Reviews of Nkwazi Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

31 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Nkwazi Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 21-30 of 31
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs B
Hampshire

"Nkwazi Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 13 Nov 2008
"OK difficult to see who was in charge on arrival ,didnt seem to be a local manger leading the team. Was OK for 1 nite en route stay." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Mr & Mrs F
Lancashire

"A very friendly atmosphere at Nkwazi"

1 night Arrived 1 Oct 2008
"The accommodation here was a newly built brick cottage by the river quite a way from the main lodge. Although not quite finished the newly tiled bathroom was beautifully decorated.

The food was very good and served as a buffet. Nkwazi has a happy, serene atmosphere." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia; 8n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr D & Mrs L
Cumbria

"Nice location."

1 night Arrived 23 Sep 2008
"Sorry to sat this place did not live up to what the brchure had to say, "want some peace and quiet" On our arrivall at 1.30ish pm we were shown to our chalet which was to the left of the main building on approach. These were the small chalets not he one's shown on the brochure, which we did not have an issue with. The issue for us was that the water pump generator.... thudding away till 5 then was started up next morning at 6.30 till 7. Allso surely a bar of soap would be a better provision than two boiled sweets on the pillows
This was the only place too that did not even provide a bottle of water even though stated on the door in the room.

On a positive note evening entertainment was laid on at 20ram each, which goes to the vilage up keep, and a lovely area." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Poor
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Mr J & Mrs L
UK

"Nkwazi Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 19 Aug 2008
"Easy to find despite being off the main road.

Very welcoming and enjoyable stay in a relaxed atmosphere.

Very good to learn about the work being carried out to support the local community.

A pity we didn't have a longer stay.

" See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Accra family
UK

"Good stopover for the Caprivi Strip"

1 night Arrived 7 Aug 2008
"A good location on the Kavango river with views of the reed beds rather than the river, but this is visible with a short walk down to the banks. The cultural display (dancing, singing and drumming) before the communal meal was interesting and enjoyable - especially for our eldest two. The community work done by the Lodge sounded good also, though we didn't see much of this due to our short stay.

The room was comfortable, if a little dated in decor and furnishings. The bathroom was quite dark. The swimming pool was dirty with cracked/loose and missing tiles. However the food was good (with the central fire acting as the food & people warming system!) and the staff very friendly. We only spent one night here after our longest drive and so perhaps did not really get to experience the Lodge at its best." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Caracal party
London

"Friendly riverside lodge"

1 night Arrived 22 Jun 2008
"Nkwazi Lodge is more rustic lodge but very friendly and comfortable and we had a lovely sundowner cruise and a very pleasant evening chatting with the owner.
" See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr I
Combs

"Basically a campsite."

1 night Arrived 17 Dec 2007
"The room was nice but the "lodge" is really a campsite. Lots of people, and not really our kind of place. I understand that the owners try to help the local children but we were actually asked by a waiter for a contribution to his education and if he could have our address and details in the U.K for if he came over. This was not anyone we had any contact or conversation with other than the normal questions about the menu etc. and it made us feel uncomfortable having to refuse.

We also were put off the food by the behaviour of other guests.. one almost sticking his nose in a dish of "stew" to find out what it was and a coulple who actually put back a spoon into a dish after tasting it..from the spoon. Maybe a bit TOO free and easy and "communal" . Nothing much to do, as there was nowhere interesting to walk." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Poor
Service:
Average
Activities:
Poor
Mr P
Penny

"Brief stopover"

1 night Arrived 25 Oct 2007
"Nkwazi is probably the sort of place you stop at when you're on the way to somewhere else. That was us. It was comfortable and well appointed; cuisine was good or very good.

The assembly of a series of local dancers, whom it was difficult to avoid watching at an extra charge (dinner only served after the demonstration) had the flavour of the artficial, a staged performance for tourists and the reckoning the following morning took place with Valerie sitting at the receipt of customs, writing the details of, and charges for, every individual's consumption then and there. With a queue of about fourteen, and very laborious computing and scribing, the excessive waste of time was unnecessary and frustrating." See all these reviews: 26n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs J & L
UK

"Nkwazi Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 18 Oct 2007
"We arrived to find we had been put in chalets K1 and K2. These were the new chalets (they are building quite a few new ones, and were on a building site on top of the others being built!) and were definitely not really ready for occupation. Very bare with no mosquito nets, nothing on the bare cement floors, and very little furniture. I was completely despondent! I insisted we were moved while feeling sorry for them because they were fully booked. Luckily they decided to move us and to take the flak from the later arriving tourists! Our new chalets were very good overlooking the river and we went on to enjoy this lodge and especially the food which was very good indeed. I suggest you insist that any future clients are in the original chalets and not the new build." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs K
Berks

"Good one night stop"

1 night Arrived 10 Oct 2007
"A convenient and comfortable place to stay for one night" See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Showing 21-30 of 31
79%
31 reviews of Nkwazi Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
7
17
5
2
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Caprivi Strip

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Ndhovu Safari Lodge

Ndhovu Safari Lodge

Ndhovu is a simple riverside lodge, with tents that are reminiscent of safaris a decade or two ago.


88% (126 reviews)
Hakusembe River Lodge

Hakusembe Lodge

Hakusembe River Lodge is a substantial lodge with a superb location on the Kavango River.


86% (85 reviews)
Lianshulu Lodge

Lianshulu Lodge

Beside the Kwando River, within Mudumu National Park, Lianshulu is a small safari lodge offering 4WD safaris and river trips – with particularly good birdlife.


91% (59 reviews)
Nunda River Lodge

Nunda River Lodge

NNunda River Lodge overlooks a pretty part of the Kavango River near Popa Falls and the productive Mahango National Park.


82% (26 reviews)
Camp Kwando

Camp Kwando

Near to Mudumu National Park, Camp Kwando is a comfortable and unfussy option with opportunities for game drives, boat safaris and fishing.


74% (25 reviews)
Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge

Nkasa Lupala

Peaceful Nkasa Lupala is a comfortable lodge in a remote and little-explored area close to Nkasa Rupara National Park.


91% (24 reviews)
Ichingo Chobe River Lodge

Ichingo Chobe Lodge

Safari holiday in Namibia's Caprivi Strip, staying at Ichingo Chobe River Lodge on Impalila Island.


97% (23 reviews)
Nambwa Tented Lodge

Nambwa Tented Lodge

A beautiful safari lodge In the remote Bwabwata National Park, Nambwa Tented Lodge brings serious comfort to a relaxing safari.


92% (13 reviews)
River Dance Lodge

River Dance

Build on stilts on the banks of the Kavango River, River Dance Lodge has great views, a relaxed ambience and excellent birdlife.


96% (9 reviews)
Taranga Safari Lodge

Taranga Lodge

Situated on the banks of the Kavango, Taranga Safari Lodge works as a convenient stopover before going onto explore the Caprivi.


75% (8 reviews)
Divava Okavango Lodge & Spa

Divava Lodge & Spa

The substantial Divava Okavango Lodge & Spa offers plenty of pampering opportunities in an unspoilt riverside setting


91% (7 reviews)
Kaza Safari Lodge

Kaza Safari Lodge

Kaza Safari Lodge is situated on the great Zambezi River; come for relaxation, great birding and boat trips along the Chobe Riverfront.


100% (5 reviews)
Cascade Island Lodge

Cascade Island Lodge

Cascade Island Lodge, near Kasane in the Caprivi Strip is a very luxurious, high end option for those seeking peace and privacy on the Zambezi River.


85% (4 reviews)
Namushasha Lodge

Namushasha Lodge

One of the larger lodges in the Bwabwata National Park, Namushasha is an economic option with an attractive river-side location.


80% (3 reviews)
Serondela Lodge

Serondela

Accessible only by river, Serondela combines the remoteness of Namibia’s Caprivi Strip with access to Botswana’s flagship Chobe National Park.


80% (2 reviews)
Shametu River Lodge

Shametu Lodge

Shametu River Lodge has the best views of the Popa Rapids of any private lodge in the Divundu area.


70% (2 reviews)
Jackalberry Tented Camp

Jackalberry Camp

Jackalberry Camp is uniquely situated in the Nkasa Rupara National Park affording unrivalled access to this little-visited corner of Namibia.


100% (1 review)
Chobe Savanna Lodge

Chobe Savanna Lodge

Chobe Savanna Lodge stands opposite Chobe National Park, Botswana. Click here to learn more about the area and your options for a safari there.


100% (1 review)
Kazile Island Lodge

Kazile Island Lodge

On an island in the Kwando River within Bwabwata National Park, the remote Kazile lsland Lodge offers games drives, bush walks and boat cruises.


60% (1 review)
Nambwa Lagoon Camp

Nambwa Lagoon Camp

Nambwa Lagoon Camp is a small, tented satellite camp near the Kwando River offering boat trips, birding and game drives.


No reviews yet
Chobe Water Villas

Chobe Water Villas

Chobe Water Villas is a beautiful and thoughtfully designed lodge, in a great location on the Namibian banks of the Chobe River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa