This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp

Reviews of Okaukuejo Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

637 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Okaukuejo Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 46 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Okaukuejo Camp.
Lion

79% success

Leopard

6% success

Cheetah

11% success

Giraffe

98% success

Oryx

98% success

Elephant

98% success

Zebra

96% success

Wildebeest

91% success

Black Rhino

90% success

Spotted Hyena

51% success

Eland

42% success

White Rhino

26% success

Roan antelope

19% success

Brown Hyena

16% success

Sable antelope

15% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 161-170 of 637
Duration
Arrival date
Mr C & Mrs J
Scotland

"Good to be in the park, otherwise average"

2 nights Arrived 1 Jun 2016
"The 'standard room' was adequate, but very basic (no chair, not even a bedside light).

We were right by the campsite and the campers made a lot of noise packing up very early in the morning. The accommodation was the least attractive of our holiday, and the staff not always as smiling and friendly as elsewhere.

However we did see plenty of action at the waterhole, which was why we chose to stay here." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Mr & Mrs P
Staffs

"Watch life go by at the water hole.."

2 nights Arrived 22 May 2016
"This site was dissappointing, and lived up to its many reviews. What makes the site a `must ` to visit is the water hole, and the game drives. You can spend all day at the water hole its just so rewarding. And this really is the place for game drives, you will see everything here.

The accomodation is in need of refurbishment , and looks and feels very worn out, particularly the bath/shower room.

The request for 350.00 $ inventory fee is a real annoyance. We checked our inventory and found only 4 + ( 1 damaged coat hangers) We reported this to reception, the receptionist stated they were not too bothered about some of the smaller items. The deposit was refunded on our departure without the room been checked for any defects,or breakages. It was a complete was of our time. The staff are not as motivated as the private lodges, and therefore the experience was not as good as at previous lodges.

The restaurant was also disappointing. During our stay there were a number of large groups and this seemed to cause seating problems. Some of the restaurant staff were very good, others were somewhat less attentive.

The camp caters for a whole range of visitors ,but the facilities are in need of a review. The grounds whilst reasonably well kept, could be more tidy." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
J & R
UK

"Etosha"

2 nights Arrived 20 Apr 2016
"After the luxury of Mowani, this was a big disappointment. The staff at reception were officious and not welcoming.

The chalet was lovely - it was on two floors so we slept upstairs with a view of the waterhole. Disappointing number of animals though, but that's just luck.

The food was absolutely horrible - a fixed price for lunch and dinner which were both buffet meals. Unhygienic use of utensils when cooking the meat - the same tongs were used for handling cooked and raw meat. Way overpriced too. a most unpleasant experience, we dreaded going in for meals.

we went on a game drive with a guide who wasn't at all proactive, except when he spotted a lion with a kill. Then we took ourselves off in the afternoon." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Good
Service:
Poor
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Terrible
Facilities:
Average
Mr K & Mrs N
UK

"Bush chalet - Okaukuejo"

2 nights Arrived 27 Mar 2016
"Bush chalet much better than the waterhole chalet and we were lucky to have one only a few extra steps from the waterhole.

Lots of zebra at the waterhole this time, great at sunset.

Camp was busy with some large groups but generally staff did their best to cope well. The room attendants looking after the bush chalets clearly took pride in their work, even laying out the towels with fresh flowers. We would not hesitate to stay here again." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Mr K & Mrs N
UK

"Waterhole Chalet in Okaukuejo"

1 night Arrived 24 Mar 2016
"Standard rest camp - the staff we came into contact with were pretty helpful. The food was fine (excellent game meat for dinner and omelette for breakfast).

The waterhole chalet slightly disappointing as there was not a lot of space in the room with just a small fridge in the cupboard and no indoor seating area. It is, however, just 20 meters from the waterhole and so location is good.

Unfortunately, there were not many animals visiting the waterhole, due to the availability of water elsewhere.

On our one night in the waterhole chalet, we saw one elephant (early afternoon), many jackals and some springbok and impala." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Phil
London

"Great waterhole viewing"

2 nights Arrived 21 Feb 2016
"The only reason to stay here is the waterhole on you doorstep-a great place to view animals.

We upgraded room because the standard room was basic; overall the room we changed to was clean and tidy but most of all in a much better location. Food was worst on the whole trip. For example if Breakfast is from 6 am then everything should be available from 6.

We took one game drive which we could have done on our own. There is a shop but it has virtually nothing in it apart from some basics." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Poor
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Terrible
Mr DN
NW London

"Great location right in Etosha!"

2 nights Arrived 18 Feb 2016
"This is a great central point to stay in Etosha with easy access to many waterholes. As its a government run lodge, the facilities are a bit more basic than other lodges around Etosha, however rooms are good value, clean, well maintained and nice enough.

However, you will be coming here more for the quick access to wildlife and not for the luxury aspect. In addition, the lodge has its own floodlit waterhole which is a fantastic place to spend an evening watching wildlife right in front of you.

The food is buffet but the chef was able to help cater for our dietary requirements." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs Ant
Surrey

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 29 Nov 2015
"We had a problem with the room we were allocated, as the hot water didn't work and a section of roof was loose and clattered around in the high wind in the early evening. However, the staff were very good and offered us two other rooms to choose from (another bush chalet that was close to the road and a waterhole chalet).

In the end we choose the waterhole chalet because of its location, although it was quite a bit smaller than the bush chalet and felt slightly cramped. However, it was very conveniently situated for the waterhole which was the highlight of the camp. On the first night we saw 8 rhino's at the waterhole and the next day at one point there were 17 giraffes at and around the waterhole. We also saw oryx standing in the waterhole to drink while other animals were around the edge.

The only activity we participated in was a night drive which was initially spoilt by high winds and then heavy rain but the guide was very good and found some interesting wildlife for us." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs P
W Yorks

"Amazing Waterhole"

2 nights Arrived 23 Nov 2015
"Before arriving we had no high expectations for this camp and our experience met our expectations. The camp is large and is a good base to see the wildlife of Etosha, rather than one of good food and service. The staff at reception are impersonal and not outwardly helpful, but will answer your questions.

Our room location was fortunate because we were equal distance between the waterhole and the restaurant, but also slightly away from the main walkways.

The rooms are basic, but a good design for self catering and there is a sheltered area beside each room to leave the vehicle.

The purpose of our stay here was to take advantage of the staying within the park and to view the amazing waterhole at night. This did not disappoint. The waterhole was fantastic and visited by a large number of elephant, a few black rhino, lions, giraffe and antelope. Driving around the national park was enjoyable with good wildlife viewing at the numerous waterholes.

Our experience at the waterhole on both nights was another highlight of the holiday" See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Poor
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Terrible
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs C
Colorado

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

1 night Arrived 31 Oct 2015
"The location was great and the night time access to the watering hole was a bonus.

I understand why it made sense to stay here for access to Etosha but it was run very business like and not personal. I guess that's how it must be when you have that many guests but the fact that you had to leave a deposit for the room seemed silly and getting the refund in the morning when you are trying to leave was a bit of a drag.

The cafeteria style meals were horrible." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Poor
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Terrible
Facilities:
Average
Showing 161-170 of 637
83%
637 reviews of Okaukuejo Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
236
281
99
19
2
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Etosha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Halali Camp

Halali Camp

Halali is a large, government-run restcamp in a convenient central location inside Etosha National Park.


79% (319 reviews)
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

The family-friendly Mushara Bush Camp offers a beautifully designed lodge, friendly service and a great base from which to explore Etosha National Park.


94% (237 reviews)
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

Built around a waterhole Ongava Tented Camp offers good service, delicious food, comfortable rooms, easy access to Etosha and wildlife in camp.


93% (146 reviews)
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

Ongava is a smart lodge with fantastic views that offers a range of driving and walking safaris on its own reserve, and guided drives in Etosha.


92% (144 reviews)
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

Opened in 2011, Dolomite Camp allows visitors access to the far west side of Etosha National Park, which was previously off limits to most visitors.


86% (94 reviews)
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

Not far from the entrance to Etosha, Mushara Lodge offers comfortable and tastefully decorated rooms in a convenient location for exploring the park.


92% (85 reviews)
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

Centred on an old fort, the government run Namutoni Camp is located just inside Etosha National Park, close to Fisher's Pan.


82% (82 reviews)
Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp is a lovely, little tented camp which centres around an attractive waterhole a short drive from the Von Lindequist Gate to eastern Etosha.


92% (80 reviews)
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

For great wildlife viewing without breaking the bank, the affordable and understated luxury of Onguma Bush Camp could be perfect.


93% (77 reviews)
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

To the west of Etosha National Park, on the edge of Damaraland, Hobatere Lodge offers good game-viewing on its own reserve.


90% (67 reviews)
Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost is a comfortable, stylish lodge, and a good base from which to explore nearby Etosha National Park on your own or with a guided safari.


93% (55 reviews)
Onguma Tree Top Camp

Onguma Tree Top Camp

For a bird’s eye view across African bush, the stilted rooms at Onguma Tree Top are truly special.


97% (42 reviews)
Onguma The Fort

Onguma The Fort

The Fort is the jewel in the crown of the Onguma lodges, and arguably the whole of eastern Etosha.


95% (36 reviews)
Onguma Etosha Aoba

Onguma Etosha Aoba

From its woodland setting on the Onguma Reserve, Etosha Aoba is within easy striking distance of Namibia’s flagship national park.


89% (32 reviews)
Taleni Etosha Village

Taleni Etosha Village

Only 4km from Etosha's southern entrance, Taleni Etosha Village is an affordable base from which to explore the park.


93% (26 reviews)
Etosha Safari Lodge

Etosha Safari Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Safari Lodge is a convenient base from which to explore the park.


84% (24 reviews)
Etosha Safari Camp

Etosha Safari Camp

Funky, low-key and very original, Etosha Safari Camp is well placed for visiting Etosha National Park on a self-drive or guided safari.


87% (23 reviews)
Little Ongava

Little Ongava

The beautifully located and luxurious Little Ongava is a stunning place to stay in order to explore Etosha National Park and the private Ongava Reserve.


97% (23 reviews)
Safarihoek Lodge

Safarihoek Lodge

In the middle of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Safarihoek Lodge offers comfortable accommodation and excellent game-viewing.


95% (22 reviews)
Mokuti Etosha Lodge

Mokuti Etosha Lodge

With 106 rooms, child-friendly Mokuti Etosha Lodge is more like a hotel than a lodge. Facilities to include a gym, spa, tennis courts and even a snake park.


92% (10 reviews)
Mountain Lodge

Mountain Lodge

In the heart of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Mountain Lodge offers the chance for game drives and bush walks away from some of the crowds of Etosha.


97% (7 reviews)
Andersson's at Ongava

Andersson's at Ongava

With game drives on both its private reserve and in Etosha, Andersson's at Ongava also offers access to the Ongava Research Centre.


100% (5 reviews)
Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm is a delightful owner-run and working sheep farm where you can expect a warm welcome and charming hospitality.


95% (4 reviews)
Etosha Garden Hotel

Etosha Garden Hotel

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at the nearby Etosha Garden Lodge.


60% (4 reviews)
Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara offers luxury in a peaceful and isolated location. It is a good choice for honeymooners & those wishing to indulge themselves.


93% (3 reviews)
Toshari Lodge

Toshari Lodge

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at Etosha Gateway Lodge.


80% (1 review)
Etosha Oberland Lodge

Etosha Oberland Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Oberland Lodge promises a convenient base from which to explore the park.


No reviews yet
Etosha King Nehale

Etosha King Nehale

A short drive from the national park’s northern entrance, Etosha King Nehale Lodge is an interesting and comfortable base from which to explore the park.


No reviews yet
Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp is owned and run by Namibia Wildlife Resorts. Built on elevated wooden platforms it overlooks Etosha Pan.


No reviews yet
Safari House

Safari House

The private Safari House on the Etosha Heights reserve is a great option families or friends travelling together.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa