This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge


21°27’41.0"S 15°52’30.0"E

Reviews of Erongo Wilderness

Wildlife sightings and reviews

411 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Erongo Wilderness and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 25 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Erongo Wilderness.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

21% success

Zebra

17% success

Eland

4% success

Giraffe

4% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Showing 131-140 of 411
Duration
Arrival date
Mr A
Washington

"Erongo - hidden among the boulders"

2 nights Arrived 4 Nov 2015
"This is a pretty amazing camp built into the boulders and practically hidden from view as your drive up to it. Really comfortable and attractive rooms, including an open air bathroom integrated into boulders -- one whole wall was a rock face. The common area was perched atop a boulder with great views, and nice dining areas. If you are a birder you could sit on the observation deck all day watching a variety of colorful and interesting birds come and go. The service was attentive and very, very friendly.

This camp also has several well-blazed hiking trails among the boulders. You can go on a guided walk or on your own. We did both. Our guide, Manuel, was excellent -- nice and well informed about the various flora and fauna. Highly recommend taking advantage of both options.

The nearby town of Omaruru aspires toward the artistic and has engaging ambience - worth a trip and a beer." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs B
Hampshire

"For us almost a home from home!"

1 night Arrived 1 Nov 2015
"Have said all I can in praise of Erongo in the past, they get it so right tent and furnishings well thought out always what you want.

Excellent food and wine. Manager always around mixing with guests walks well led by knowledgable guide." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Ms J & Mr J
Reading

"Terrific for birding and walks. Good stop."

1 night Arrived 27 Oct 2015
"Lovely situation. Our guided walk to see sunset was excellent, with an excellent guide. I think he was the best one as the next morning the guide who was telling us about the birds was not as well informed.
Good food, served on lovely terrace. Very friendly new manager. Love birds at 7 am from terrace a particular attraction - also lots of other birds. Only sorry there was no room/ time for a longer stay.

The only negative comment is that the mosiquito nets in our rooms were totally inadequate - did not fit around the bed, leaving a large gap where the nets were meant to overlap and lots of holes. Fortunately it was not mosquito season. If it weren't for this I would rate room excellent." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mr D & Ms P
Dursley

"Stunning location"

1 night Arrived 27 Oct 2015
"Fantastic location, great facilities, friendly and helpful staff and good food." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 4n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr O
Brugge

"characteristic luxe camp-site"

2 nights Arrived 25 Oct 2015
"After nice trip again , we have taken , after done Spitskopfe , the inner road to Erongo and enter by the Elephant Gate. So we arrived a bit later than planned. Staff was already waiting for us , to carry luggage to our sleeping place . What a view again , with the sunset at our terrace , really lovely and nice. Taking the dinner out side is a " must " . Campfire, excellent food , nice staff and … waterhole to see animals at night . It has everything during having the meals ( also in the morning we have spotted wildlife .)

We have done 2 trips by walking with their guide , Superb , don't miss the morning sunrise ( 4 hours ) and sunset walk at the rock point view .

We could stay there 1 day longer , to enjoy view , swimming pool to rest from walking , observing birds from inside off restaurant etc .

place to remember

thanks again ." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Chiswick

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Oct 2015
"My first stay of this trip. Set in a bouldery world, I had chosen it for its opportunities to walk, which it provided, rather than animals. Although I did see Klipspringer and wild cat here, and in the event not again.

The guiding was good.

The lodge comfortable and relaxed." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr C & Mrs L
UK

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 12 Oct 2015
"A very interesting place to stay in a wonderful location with pleasant easy walks available.

Quite a few steps to climb between rooms and communal areas but that was inevitable in the unique location. So not a complaint but something to be aware of if this is a problem to anyone.

Staff very friendly and just under new management as at October 2015 who were excellent. Rooms could be hot in the hot season but that is probably an aspect of many Lodges and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay." See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs W
Hampshire

"a wonderful spot"

1 night Arrived 11 Oct 2015
"A surprise highlight.

The rooms are huge and airy with wonderful bathrooms and terraces. Great service from all the staff and the guided walks were a particular highlight. Sad we only spent one night here en route to Damaraland." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs Y
Cricklewoo

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 5 Oct 2015
"They seem to struggle to find activities. We went on a couple of guided walks, but there isn't much to see.

The sundowner drive was expensive and disappointing - again not much to see.

Excellent steak dinner" See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr T & Mrs M
Newmarke

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 30 Sep 2015
"A completely unexpected location, which we enjoyed exploring on foot with an extremely knowledgeable guide.

We stayed in a well-appointed tent on stilts, with open-air bathroom.

The camp was thoughtfully laid out, blending in with its surroundings, whilst affording privacy for each tent." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 5n in Zambia; 2n in Zimbabwe; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Showing 131-140 of 411
96%
411 reviews of Erongo Wilderness by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
340
65
6
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Central Highlands

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Mundulea Reserve

Mundulea Reserve

The rustic Mundulea Bushcamp offers superb and varied walking in the company of a top-class guide on a reserve that features many endangered or endemic species.


99% (71 reviews)
Frans Indongo Lodge

Frans Indongo Lodge

For a chance to spot some rare game species, Frans Indongo Lodge is an ideal stop over between Windhoek and the Etosha National Park.


93% (67 reviews)
Elegant Farmstead

Elegant Farmstead

A stylish and peaceful lodge, The Elegant Farmstead is a relaxing and comfortable place to break the journey between Windhoek and Etosha.


91% (38 reviews)
Ghaub Guest Farm

Ghaub Guest Farm

Ghaub Guestfarm is a charming guestfarm on the site of an old mission station, in an unusually verdant patch of Namibia.


90% (35 reviews)
Roy's Restcamp

Roy's Restcamp

For an economic, rustic option Roy's Restcamp makes for a convenient overnight stop when travelling to Bushmanland or the Caprivi Strip.


77% (24 reviews)
Cheetah View Lodge

Cheetah View

Cheetah View Lodge offers guests the chance to see cheetahs at close range and to learn about the work of the Cheetah Conservation Fund.


80% (9 reviews)
Ai Aiba Lodge

Ai Aiba Lodge

Ai Aiba is a simple and relatively large lodge with plenty of great walking, mountain biking trials and some spectacular San rock art.


89% (9 reviews)
Hohenstein Lodge

Hohenstein Lodge

Hohenstein Lodge is situated south of the Erongo Mountain Range. Each of its ten chalets has been built to make the most of the panoramic views.


68% (5 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa