This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge


21°27’41.0"S 15°52’30.0"E

Reviews of Erongo Wilderness

Wildlife sightings and reviews

411 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Erongo Wilderness and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 25 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Erongo Wilderness.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

21% success

Zebra

17% success

Eland

4% success

Giraffe

4% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Showing 381-390 of 411
Duration
Arrival date
The Dassies
Cumbria

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Jul 2008
"Erongo Wilderness Camp was a welcome rest from the hectic pace of the other lodges. The owners gave us a warm welcome ,were very helpful and chatted to us before our evening meal.

Our tent was located on a platform above rocks which accommodated a family of rock dassies which we spent many hours watching and photographing. They were equally curious about us and kept peering out from the rocks at us. We also watched a variety of birds from the restaurant drinking from nearby rock pools.

We enjoyed the evening nature drive, the highlight of which was a walk up to a cave to see rock paintings." See all these reviews: 25n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sitatungas
Sterling

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 5 Jul 2008
"In many ways the highlight of our visit - surprise, surprise run jointly with Olive Grove in Windhoek.

This is a beautiful camp with a stylish and unique dining room serving excellent food and wine. There are 'real' tents here and were a bit cold the first night, but water bottles and blankets were on hand. We went on two excellent guided walks amongst the granite hills, and the nature drive - no wild game - took us to impressive examples of early rock paintings in a striking setting. The guides were interesting to talk to and seemed knowledgeble.

A great place to end our journey." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Keen walkers
UK

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 23 Jun 2008
"A perfect place. Wish we had stayed longer. Fabulous walking country" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr U & Mr G
Germany

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Jun 2008
"We stayed here for a couple of nights before heading back to the UK from Windhoek. Erongo offers some pleasant walks and is popular with birders for some rare species like Harlaub's francolin. The viewing deck next to the dining room also offers a chance to see some bird species in the nearby trees. On the nature drive, do not miss out on the nearby rock paintings! Back at the lodge, the food and wine selection are very good. Internet is available against a fee at reception. If the weather is not too hot, visit the Omaruru chocolate factory for a tasting - the ones filled with liquor are particularly recommended." See all these reviews: 28n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Dune-larks
UK

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 17 Jun 2008
"Hard to follow Okonjima but we really appreciated a gentle wind-down at the end of our trip with lots of walks we could do ourselves. Another stunning setting amongst bouldery hills speckled with baboons." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Caracal party
London

"Wonderful camp among the hills of Erongo"

2 nights Arrived 14 Jun 2008
"Wilderness lodge Erongo is absolutely lovely with great food.

It gives a real opportunity to walk rather than sit in a vehicle and we had a terrific guide (Classi) who talk four of us out walking and bird spotting." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Goshawks
Merseyside

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 24 May 2008
"A delightful place for our first night and we wished we had a second night.

The immediate environment was fascinating and we enjoyed the individualist craftsmanship and care that had gone into the making of the Lodge and its environment.

Our hosts looked after us well with personal attention. Timings of meals were flexible which suited us." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr D
Sword

"Up close with the rock dassies!"

2 nights Arrived 20 May 2008
"This place is superb. No two words about it, we were thrilled with this place. The scenery is wonderful and very different and yet again, this is a lodge that is remarkably well integrated into the landscape. The staff are very friendly and chatty, and nature is everywhere you look. We saw so many birds and animals, especially of the smaller variety - lizards, dassie rats, and of course the rock dassies, which were everywhere. We also saw baboons in the area, as well as a dik-dik, which is a truly tiny species of deer. The birds are plentiful and colourful, and bathe within a few metres of the dining room window (which isn't really a window because it's open).

We would like to mention Bonnie in particular, a guide with a ready smile and good sense of humour. He was very obliging and guided us on two walks, the sundowner and the longer eagle walk. He also kindly showed us some of the sights in Omaruru. The food here was very good, especially the breakfast.

Our room/tent was super, well furnished and very comfortable. We were very impressed with the outdoor bathroom and huge stone shower. We did one self-guided walk here. Tip: don't be caught out by nightfall! We were here and darkness (and disorientation) come pretty quickly. All in all, we couldn't fault this place and it was certainly one of the top places we stayed during our honeymoon." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs L
Oxon

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 10 May 2008
"We all loved Erongo. We arrived in Namibia at 7.30 in the morning and by 2.45 were in Erongo - wow - what a welcome to the country. we were told, 'Have a drink, sundowners are at..... dinner is at...... walking tomorrow if you fancy it is at....... or you can just sit and do nothing, please jst enjoy Erongo, and we did.

We stayed two nights, we could have stayed more. An excellent place to start or finish a holiday and we also met resident Namibians who went ot Erongo to recharge their batteries.

Don't miss it but also don't be tempted to overnight here, you need two days at least, stay and linger....." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
The rhinos
UK

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 2 Apr 2008
"Superb location and ideal for nature lovers and those enjoying walking.

The managers and staff were very friendly and helpful throughout our stay. The food was well presented and excellent quality. The sound of Baboons and Dassies nearby was amazing but they were not troublesome.

The canvas Chalets were perhaps a bit small and would not suit those people sharing accommodation who value their privacy. Only a sheet of canvas separates the bedroom area from the toilet and shower." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Showing 381-390 of 411
96%
411 reviews of Erongo Wilderness by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
340
65
6
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Central Highlands

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Mundulea Reserve

Mundulea Reserve

The rustic Mundulea Bushcamp offers superb and varied walking in the company of a top-class guide on a reserve that features many endangered or endemic species.


99% (71 reviews)
Frans Indongo Lodge

Frans Indongo Lodge

For a chance to spot some rare game species, Frans Indongo Lodge is an ideal stop over between Windhoek and the Etosha National Park.


93% (67 reviews)
Elegant Farmstead

Elegant Farmstead

A stylish and peaceful lodge, The Elegant Farmstead is a relaxing and comfortable place to break the journey between Windhoek and Etosha.


91% (38 reviews)
Ghaub Guest Farm

Ghaub Guest Farm

Ghaub Guestfarm is a charming guestfarm on the site of an old mission station, in an unusually verdant patch of Namibia.


90% (35 reviews)
Roy's Restcamp

Roy's Restcamp

For an economic, rustic option Roy's Restcamp makes for a convenient overnight stop when travelling to Bushmanland or the Caprivi Strip.


77% (24 reviews)
Cheetah View Lodge

Cheetah View

Cheetah View Lodge offers guests the chance to see cheetahs at close range and to learn about the work of the Cheetah Conservation Fund.


80% (9 reviews)
Ai Aiba Lodge

Ai Aiba Lodge

Ai Aiba is a simple and relatively large lodge with plenty of great walking, mountain biking trials and some spectacular San rock art.


89% (9 reviews)
Hohenstein Lodge

Hohenstein Lodge

Hohenstein Lodge is situated south of the Erongo Mountain Range. Each of its ten chalets has been built to make the most of the panoramic views.


68% (5 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa