This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Little Kwara
Little Kwara
Little Kwara

Reviews of Little Kwara

Wildlife sightings and reviews

177 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Little Kwara and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 2 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Little Kwara.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

50% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Buffalo

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Sitatunga

0% success

White Rhino

0% success

Showing 41-50 of 177
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs & Mr D
Sydney

"Little Kwara review"

3 nights Arrived 6 Feb 2016
"After the related camp at Tau Pan we had reaonable expectations of Little Kwara but unfortunately we were disappointed. It was clearly not as well managed or run ( and could have assisted with input from the bossy consultant who was at Tau Pan). Little things were noticeable, no towels on return from the drive, the staff were often not in uniform, making it tricky to work out if they were on duty etc. The food was no where near as good as Tau Pan.

It was however the busiest of all the camps we had been on with 10 people in residence at all times, and maybe this put pressure on the team. ALSO the issue with the fans is real - it was 34degrees every day and over 20 degrees during the night, it really would have assisted if there were fans and it was not apparent why there weren't any.

Guiding was good, a little bit overwhelmed by the numbers of staff and it felt like they needed a break." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 6n in Zambia; 5n in Botswana; 3n in Rwanda; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Ms M
North London

"Little Kwara review"

3 nights Arrived 2 Oct 2015
"We enjoyed Little Kwara, but it didn't quite live up to expectations.

The staff were friendly but the camp was missing the personal touch. The tent was comfortable but could have really benefited from a fan.

We were surprised that we didn't see as much game as we expected, and there was too much single minded focus on tracking cats to the expense of anything else, including our comfort on occasion.

We did however successfully track a family of cheetahs and some lions." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mrs R
Harrogate

"Our favourite place on the trip."

3 nights Arrived 30 Sep 2015
"we had a fantastic time here - staff were just excellent - we loved celebrating Botswana day with the staff having dinner in the bush - they went to enormous trouble to make it special and even had us all up dancing and singing with them. - I will never forget Little Kwara.

In fact on our visit to the village there we met a young boy about 11 or 12 - He impressed me greatly and I would like to keep in contact with him - perhaps you could help me make contact - He had great ambitions - I would like to ensure he succeeds.

Wild life viewing was superb and the staff were fantastic." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
Brenchley

"Little Kwara review"

3 nights Arrived 30 Sep 2015
"The rooms were spacious and private with attention to detail.

We had an elephant walk though camp on 2 occasions which was exciting and certainly added to both the atmosphere and conversations over the dinner table!

We were in camp for the celebrations for independence Day and the staff sung to us before encouraging the guests to join them for dancing. A Joyous evening" See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs A
Canterbury

"Little Kwara review"

3 nights Arrived 20 Sep 2015
"Good camp , but only on edge of Okavango - had hoped to be further tin ." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mrs V
Canterbury

"Little Kwara review"

3 nights Arrived 20 Sep 2015
"Really nothing to find fault with in this camp and again our guide, Woga, and our tracker, T Bone (Not his real name!) were once again excellent.

T Bone was also our skipper on the river cruise to see the stork nursery and was a very competent one!

Food was again very good and the staff helpful and friendly." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr B
Netherlands

"Great Safari at Little Kwara"

2 nights Arrived 30 Aug 2015
"Very intimate camp wikt only 5 tents. The tents are very comfortable and have great views. Impala right beneath our verandah. Saw cheetah and lion, both with cubs. Wonderful people." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana; 6n in Mozambique; 2n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Two Travellers
UK

"Little Kwara review"

3 nights Arrived 16 Aug 2015
"We had been a little bit concerned to read a few mixed reviews for Little Kwara before we travelled, but our experience there was wonderful right from the moment we saw a beautiful leopard barely 10 minutes into our first game drive.

The camp was perhaps more rustic and simple than Lebala and Xigera, but the accommodation was still perfectly comfortable, and we found the camp's small size and warm management helped give it a friendly and intimate feel. The mixed dry/wet setting was always interesting, though we mainly opted for game drives rather than the water based activities which were available since we knew we wanted to focus on water activities later in our trip at Xigera.

The game viewing at Little Kwara, which included fantastic (and protracted) wild dog and cheetah sightings, was everything we could have hoped for and though we were largely out of luck with the spotlight when we made our way back to camp after sunset, this was a small price to pay!" See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mrs L
Mckinney

"Little Kwara review"

3 nights Arrived 9 Jul 2015
"This was my favorite of all the camps we visited - despite the others being wonderful.

The main reason why was our guides- T-bone (nickname) and Wagu - who were two of the best trackers I have ever seen. We saw lion every time we went on a drive. We also saw an African wild cat and a Serval on a night drive. But one of the most memorable experiences was seeing a cheetah and her three cubs. We were so close you could hear them purring!

Our guides were also funny and warm, which made every day there even more pleasurable. I will forever remember my time spent at Little Kwara." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Smitz
UK

"Little Kwara review"

3 nights Arrived 27 Jun 2015
"Good location. The rooms are spacious but very tired and the whole place is in need of some basic maintenance let alone refurbishment. The charging point in the public area wasn't working and hadn't been working for some time.

The staff, though helpful, appeared to be low on morale and I thought that there was a general air of dejection pervading the camp. However, the laundry service is excellent and the food good and varied.

I was returned from one of my morning game drives at 1025. I considered this to be particularly early and said so to the guide, who said it was the 'normal time', which t wasn't. He did offer to take me and the two other guests out for another 30 minutes but that really is a ridiculous suggestion. I don't want this to be perceived as a criticism or complaint against the guide as I have little doubt that brunch had been arranged early to accommodate a family who were leaving at 1230. The camp's schedules need to be addressed.

My guide Wago, was average and gave me the impression that everything was a lot of trouble. However, Mike the tracker was very good and a very pleasant man and appeared more knowledgeable than Wago.
There is a good deal of very deep sand in some areas and we got stuck more than once, not anyone's fault, its easy to do. The guys had to jack the vehicle up and put brush under the offending wheels. Would it not be more practical to but some sand ladders to use on such occasions.

I did see wild dogs here and 3 tiny puppies. Brilliant!

However, overall I consider Little Kwando to be poor and not good value for money." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Terrible
Showing 41-50 of 177
93%
177 reviews of Little Kwara by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
131
34
10
2
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okavango Delta Safari Reserves

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp's private reserve boasts land and water activities year round, with excellent game-viewing opportunities and access to permanent channels of the north-east Okavango Delta.


93% (184 reviews)
Little Vumbura

Little Vumbura

On a secluded island within a private reserve, Little Vumbura combines superb game viewing with a broad diversity of habitats in a truly picturesque setting.


96% (122 reviews)
Shinde Camp

Shinde Camp

With experienced staff and a wealth of activities, Shinde offers a traditional safari in an exceptionally varied and wildlife-rich environment.


93% (87 reviews)
Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba, in Botswana's southern Okavango Delta, is a small family friendly safari camp; it offers great dry-land safaris and in our experience consistently delivers good game sightings.


96% (78 reviews)
Sandibe Safari Lodge

Sandibe Safari Lodge

The luxurious Sandibe Okavango Safari Lodge lies in a private concession in the heart of the Okavango Delta, beside Moremi Game Reserve, with superb big-game viewing.


94% (71 reviews)
Kanana

Kanana

In a beautiful part of the Delta, Kanana focuses on fantastic water activities and birding – including exclusive access to an impressive heronry.


95% (67 reviews)
Chitabe Camp

Chitabe Camp

In the southern Okavango Delta, the excellent Chitabe Camp concentrates on dry-land safaris in an area that we've found particularly good for wild dog sightings in recent years.


96% (64 reviews)
Footsteps across the Delta

Footsteps across the Delta

Small and very rustic, Footsteps across the Delta focuses on walking safaris; it also runs a special children’s programme so is particularly suitable for families.


99% (43 reviews)
Tubu Tree Camp

Tubu Tree Camp

A traditional tented camp with a distinctive tree-house feel, Tubu Tree offers some of the best game viewing in the Jao Reserve.


98% (38 reviews)
Splash Camp

Splash Camp

Set in the Kwara Reserve, offering superb wildlife viewing year-round, Splash offers both land and water activities led by guides with a particular knack for tracking big game.


95% (38 reviews)
Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp

Nxabega Tented Camp

Nxabega offers a selection of both land- and water-based activities, plus very good guiding, food and service, but game viewing can be somewhat erratic.


94% (35 reviews)
Vumbura Plains

Vumbura Plains

Indulgently stylish and luxurious, Vumbura Plains offers superb game viewing and birding on an exceptionally varied private reserve.


96% (34 reviews)
Gomoti Plains Camp

Gomoti Plains Camp

Overlooking a tributary of the Gomoti River, Gomoti Plains Camp is a classically designed camp with very comfortable tents in a good game- viewing area.


92% (30 reviews)
Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp is a small safari camp with an informal island feel; it is ideal for water-based activities in the Delta and offers excellent birdwatching.


98% (26 reviews)
Kwetsani Camp

Kwetsani Camp

Deep in the Delta, overlooking a floodplain, Kwetsani Camp is a small, high-end camp with good access to areas for land and water-based activities.


95% (22 reviews)
Mapula Lodge

Mapula Lodge

For an affordable yet varied safari encompassing a range of eco-systems, the traditional Mapula Lodge takes a lot of beating.


94% (19 reviews)
Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp is a well-run, intimate camp in a pretty part of the Okavango, offering a range of activities and the option to spend a morning walking with elephants.


92% (17 reviews)
Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp is a traditional safari camp, best known for the thrilling lion and buffalo interaction that is often found here in broad daylight.


94% (16 reviews)
Stanley's Camp

Stanley's Camp

In a private concession south of Moremi Game Reserve, Stanley's Camp offers 4WD game drives, seasonal water activities and a superb elephant interaction.


92% (15 reviews)
Little Tubu

Little Tubu

Little Tubu is a new, traditional camp with just three tented chalets and a distinctive tree-house feel. The areas around it can be explored by water and land-based activities year round.


100% (12 reviews)
Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp lies amidst stunning Okavango Delta scenery. Come for idyllic mokoro trips and great birdwatching, and accept that big-game sightings here are a bonus.


93% (12 reviews)
Xaranna Okavango Delta Lodge

Xaranna

Xaranna is a plush tented camp amongst the idyllic waterways and islands of the Delta. Each air-conditioned tent has a plunge pool. Water activities and pampering are the focus here.


90% (8 reviews)
Pelo Camp

Pelo Camp

In a pristine wilderness environment deep in the Okavango Delta, the seasonal Pelo Camp is tented yet comfortable, with activities focusing on excursions by mokoro.


97% (7 reviews)
Seba Camp

Seba Camp

Seba Camp is a luxury camp in a lovely location that offers the full range of water and land safari activities, depending on the time of year. This camp is particularly suitable for families.


90% (6 reviews)
Duba Explorers Camp

Duba Explorers Camp

Intimate and elegant, Duba Explorers Camp promises a firm safari focus in a remote corner of the Okavango, led by a team who value the highest guiding and hosting standards.


92% (5 reviews)
Jao Camp

Jao Camp

In a beautiful area with fantastic water activities, Jao combines an idyllic location with high levels of luxury and service, and a top-end spa.


80% (4 reviews)
Abu Camp

Abu Camp

Abu Camp is an exclusive safari camp on the western side of the Botswana's Okavango Delta - offering superb elephant-back safaris and opportunities to walk with them too.


70% (2 reviews)
Okavango Delta Walking Safari

Okavango Walking Safari

The Okavango Delta Walking Safari camps in a secluded Okavango Delta Reserve where there are few roads; the ideal location for a walking trail led by an expert guide.


100% (1 review)
Kiri Camp
No reviews yet
Setari Camp

Setari Camp

Setari Camp stands on an island dotted with palm trees, close to the base of the Okavango’s ‘Panhandle"


No reviews yet
Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge is a luxurious camp with international-style facilities including air conditioning and intercom in each room; offering water based activities in the Okavango Delta.


No reviews yet
Xudum Okavango Delta Lodge

Xudum Delta Lodge

Xudum is a beautifully crafted lodge well situated to explore the Delta waterways. Each air-conditioned suite has a private plunge pool and a lofty viewing deck with a sala that doubles as a 'star bed'.


No reviews yet
Qorokwe Camp

Qorokwe Camp

Luxurious and contemporary, the relatively new Qorokwe Camp is a gem in the Okavango Delta, offering land- and occasionally water-based activities in a prime wildlife area.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa