This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Brandberg Restcamp
Brandberg Restcamp

Reviews of Brandberg Restcamp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

5 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Brandberg Restcamp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Oct-2019, 1 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Brandberg Restcamp.
Lion

0% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Elephant

100% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Giraffe

0% success

Oryx

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Zebra

0% success

Showing 1-5 of 5
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs & Mr DB
BC Canada

"Good for one night stay"

1 night Arrived 21 Oct 2019
"Clean rooms, good air conditioning, onsite restaurant. Huge pool but the colour of the water was not inviting.

Friendly helpful staff arranged a desert elephant tour for us through another lodge. We had to leave early in the morning and the restaurant prepared a lovely takeaway breakfast box as we were not going to be there for breakfast.

We drove to the Brandberg White Lady Lodge to join a game drive to see the desert elephants. The sightings below were of four different groups of elephants we saw on the game drive." See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Elephant

4 sightings

Mr & Mrs S
E Sussex

"Brandberg Restcamp (White Lady Lodge)"

1 night Arrived 23 Sep 2016
"We stayed here about 5 years ago and boy has it changed. Firstly we were not put in the accommodation we reserved and paid for (I have only just found this out via their website). We should have had a Stone Chalet but actually were put in basic accommodation which I can only describe as backpackers accommodation! Although there were fans in the rooms these did not work. The mosquito nets did not cover the beds fully, the outside table and chairs were dirty and one chair was broken?

There appeared to be 2 white SA ladies, one man and a younger man ?son who we assumed were management. If this was the case they did not introduce themselves or even have any interaction with guests which we found rude.

On our visit both swimming pools were empty and in the process of being cleaned so we could not use even if we wanted to.

The food was just above acceptable. This experience was certainly not the same as 5 years ago." See all these reviews: 27n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Terrible
Food:
Average
Dr O & Dr J
Hungary

"Brandberg Restcamp review"

1 night Arrived 29 Jul 2011
"This is a simple, cheap place, it was a solution because of fully booked Erongo, I wish we could have our accommodation in Erongo as originaly planned." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Poor
Facilities:
Average
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Average
Mr & Mrs B
Beds

"One look and we were off"

2 nights Arrived 17 Aug 2010
"On arrival we were surrounded by locals trying to sell their wares and made us feel uncomfortable. The reception looked old and outdated and the owner greeted us asked if we required dinner and sent a maid! to show us our room. We were constantly pestered bu the locals as we unpacked the car then looked around the accommodation with disgust. It was scruffy outdated and a huge disappointment.

We did not feel safe as some of the windows and doors appeared to be broken or tampered with, and at that point I made a phone call to Brandberg White Lady Lodge to request if they had vacancies. Luckily they had so the car was repacked, John took the key back to reception and told the lady we were not staying. She asked why and he said it was not up to the standard we required.

Should have gone to White Lady when it was offered but did not realise the vast difference between the two places. It was a costly mistake but well worth the move." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Terrible

Location:
Poor
Rooms:
Terrible
Family P
Belgium

"Brandberg Restcamp review"

1 night Arrived 13 Aug 2009
"This was an interesting stop over on our way to Twyfelfontein. Although we had understood we were self-catering here, we had been reserved normal rooms and the self-catering rooms were full. But the owners offered us the use of their BBQ so that we could cook for ourselves if we wanted.

The rooms themselves were large and clean and each had a fridge which was useful. The staff were very friendly and the owner, Basil, kindly allowed us to use his PC to check our emails. Again, no information was offered about possible excursions, which could have been of interest.

The walk to the White Lady rock painting along a dry river bed was really worth the effort with great scenery and a helpful guide." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Showing 1-5 of 5
56%
5 reviews of Brandberg Restcamp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
0
2
1
1
1
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Damaraland

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

Comfortable rooms and a convenient location make the community run Doro Nawas a great base for exploring Damaraland.


93% (434 reviews)
Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani is a beautiful and stylish mountain retreat in southern Damaraland; it makes a great base for visits toTwyfelfontein.


93% (126 reviews)
Damaraland Camp

Damaraland Camp

Setting the standard for community partnerships, Damaraland Camp offers a beautiful location, a range of activities – and a genuine welcome.


95% (111 reviews)
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Camp

Etendeka is an owner-run camp in the remote and less visited north of Damaraland. The camp is renowned for it's spectacular guided walking trails.


96% (110 reviews)
Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp offers a rare opportunity to track black rhino on foot in one of the last true wilderness areas – an amazing experience.


97% (108 reviews)
Camp Kipwe

Camp Kipwe

With comfortable rooms, open-air bathrooms, good food and beautiful scenery, Camp Kipwe offers a variety of nature and cultural excursions.


95% (101 reviews)
Grootberg Lodge

Grootberg Lodge

On the edge of an ancient plateau Grootberg Lodge has a stunning location and arguably the best views of any lodge in Namibia.


92% (88 reviews)
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

Twyfelfontein C'try Lod.

A large lodge set among the rocks, Twyfelfontein Country Lodge is a convenient base for visiting the rock engravings, which are only 4km away.


82% (49 reviews)
Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge has a great location by a spring in the Uniab River and offers access to an area where you can see a variety of desert-dwelling animals.


81% (32 reviews)
Huab Lodge

Huab Lodge

Huab is a classic little Namibian Lodge which is slightly off the beaten track in a lesser visited part of Damaraland.


90% (28 reviews)
Brandberg White Lady Lodge

Brandberg White Lady

Brandberg White Lady Lodge, nestled at the foot of its namesake, makes a good base from which to visit bushman rock paintings including the 'White Lady'.


70% (23 reviews)
Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge provides stylish accommodation in a beautiful area with guided access to sites of ancient Bushman rock art.


95% (22 reviews)
Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge occupies a lovely location, but is a little too far east for guests to visit Damaraland's main attractions.


85% (20 reviews)
White Lady B & B

White Lady B & B

White Lady B&B, a small, comfortable guesthouse, offers a stepping stone to the sites of southern Damaraland.


67% (6 reviews)
Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge has a great location overlooking the Hoanib River. This is one of the few places to offer authentic Himba village visits.


84% (5 reviews)
Malansrus Tented Camp

Malansrus Camp

Within easy reach of Twyfelfontein, Malansrus offers a simple but comfortable base for visits to the rock engravings or seek out desert-adapted elephants.


76% (5 reviews)
Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge is a comfortable stopover between Damaraland and Etosha National Park or Namibia’s Central Highlands.


75% (4 reviews)
Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge is a large 60 room lodge surrounded by beautiful gardens. It can be used as a comfortable stopover between Etosha and the Skeleton Coast


67% (3 reviews)
Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails Tented Camp offers an exclusive desert elephant experience in Namibia’s Damaraland.


90% (2 reviews)
Huab Under Canvas

Huab Under Canvas

Huab under Canvas is a no thrills bush camp offering top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


100% (1 review)
Etendeka Walking Trail

Etendeka Walking Trail

The Etendeka Walking Trail promises to offer a back-to-basics walking and camping experience in one of Namibia's most remote and untouched wilderness areas.


100% (1 review)
Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out is a simple camping experience and a great way to enjoy the remote beauty of the vast Palmwag Concession


100% (1 review)
Sorris Sorris Lodge

Sorris Sorris Lodge

Overlooking the Brandberg Massif, Sorris Sorris is probably the most luxurious lodge in southern Damaraland.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa