This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Sam's Giardino

Reviews of Sam's Giardino

Wildlife sightings and reviews

173 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Sam's Giardino and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 111-120 of 173
Duration
Arrival date
Mr B & Ms D
Dublin

"Sam's Giardino review"

3 nights Arrived 11 Oct 2009
"Very welcoming and the 5 course dinner (and wine testing) is worth it!

During their stay at Sam’s Giardino, these clients headed out on a day trip to Sandwich Harbour. They said about that this was ‘Great experience. Definitely worth it.’

They also tried out the kayaking at Walvis Bay and thought it was ‘Something a bit different where you have to be active. Happy we did it.’" See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Miss H & Mr R
London

"Sam's Giardino review"

3 nights Arrived 25 Sep 2009
"Sam is perhaps a little quirky/eccentric, but he couldn't have been a more helpful host. From information, confirming activities and booking restaurants - nothing was too much trouble for him. He also helped arrange for our cracked windscreen to be repaired so that we could continue on our trip without delay.

We also had dinner at Sam's one evening, which was very nice and good value with a very nice bottle of wine chosen for us by Sam.

We also ate at the Tug one evening and can highly recommend the Crayfish." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Miss A & Miss L
UK

"Sam's Giardino"

2 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2009
"A very German orientated environment." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs L
Swanley

"Terrific guest house."

2 nights Arrived 8 Sep 2009
"Sam's is a terrific guest house offering super accomodation and food to die for. His knowledge of wine is incredible and he is most professional in the way that he runs the establishment.

My wife left her reading glasses there and he sent them on to the airport for her to collect! on our journey home!

Pelican Point kayaking excursion
Jeanne was an excellent guide who made the whole experience come alive. She also took numerous photographs throughout the morning which she delivered on a CD to our hotel that night.

Without doubt the highliught of the holiday due mainly to the consideration and professional attitude of Jeanne." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Dr L & Family
Denmark

"Sam's Giardino review"

3 nights Arrived 27 Aug 2009
"Highly recommended, a fantastic guesthouse to stay in! Very friendly welcome by Sam and his staff.

The rooms were nice. Wine tasting for amateurs like us was a pleasent expirience. Good food and the most compleete breakfast during our month in Namibia.

We also tried the Turnstone tour to Sandwich Harbour with Ernest. Because of his excellent guiding a great expirience.

Ernest was the perfect guide. He could take you anywere - and you would have a good experience. Was wery friendly to our children and first of all full of interesting information about the nature we passed. Driving through the high dunes were a highlight for our children - amazing where a land rover can go!! Walking around the saltwater lagoon was beatifull. Altogether a fantastic day, highly recommended!" See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs J
Warwick

"Sam's Giardino Swakopmund"

1 night Arrived 9 Aug 2009
"Very good linen.
Interesting proprietor, set menu was good.
Breakfast exceptionally good range.
Comfortable lounge areas, free internet access." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs R
Victoria

"Sam's Giardino review"

2 nights Arrived 7 Aug 2009
"Sam is very hospitable and helpful. The rooms are a bit dated but comfortable enough." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Professor & Mrs M
UK

"Sam's Giardino review"

1 night Arrived 31 Jul 2009
"A little more ordinary than some of our overnights, but Sam was a very good host.

Only drawback was distance from other Swakopmund restaraunts - not really OK to walk back at night. Suspect the food was very good but we'd pre-booked dinner at the Tug restaurant, which Id been to before." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Ms DM & MR VO
Belgium

"Sam's Giardino review"

2 nights Arrived 20 Jul 2009
"Lots of information about things to do here (= around Swakopmund, the activities are not actually run by Sam), and an extensive breakfast with a lot of choice.

The famous dog has died recently but there's a new young one." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr A & Ms B
UK

"Sam's Giardino review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Jun 2009
"Sam's Giardino was an enjoyable and comfortable place to stay. The environment was relaxed, and Sam was very welcoming. The free internet was a bonus!

On our first night we had the 5 course dinner which we felt was a little over priced for the quality of food." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Showing 111-120 of 173
88%
173 reviews of Sam's Giardino by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
88
71
13
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Swakopmund & Walvis Bay

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse is a small friendly B&B in a peaceful residential area. It's just a short walk from Swkopmund's waterfront & amenities.


95% (222 reviews)
The Stiltz

The Stiltz

Not your typical guesthouse, The Stiltz occupies a glorious location over the Swakop River on the edge of Swakopmund.


87% (62 reviews)
Villa Margherita

Villa Margherita

Villa Margherita is a beautifully renovated B&B in the heart of Swakopmund, with comfortable, well-appointed rooms, and friendly and attentive staff.


88% (58 reviews)
Beach Lodge

Beach Lodge

Right on the sea front, Beach Lodge offers good standard accommodation and its own restaurant, 15 minutes’ drive from Swakopmund.


90% (54 reviews)
Lagoon Lodge

Lagoon Lodge

Lagoon Lodge is a quirky little guesthouse located right on the edge of Walvis Bay Lagoon, a good spot for watching the flamingoes that frequent the area.


90% (47 reviews)
Strand Hotel

Strand Hotel

One of the larger hotels in Swakopmund, the Strand is well placed on the seafront with good access to restaurants and the centre of town.


90% (47 reviews)
Brigadoon

Brigadoon

In a quiet residential location, Brigadoon is conveniently located for the Swakopmund waterfront and amenities.


80% (21 reviews)
Swakopmund Guesthouse

Swakopmund G'house

Swakopmund Guesthouse is a family-run B&B, boasting comfortable and high-quality rooms with a maritime touch.


82% (20 reviews)
Sandfields Guesthouse

Sandfields Guesthouse

Friendly Sandfields guesthouse is a cosy and inviting place to stay just north of Swakopmund town centre, and is particularly suitable for families with children.


92% (20 reviews)
The Delight

The Delight

The Delight is a colourful modern hotel within a short walk of the Swakopmund waterfront and main attractions.


94% (17 reviews)
Hansa Hotel

Hansa Hotel

With a very central location in Swakopmund, the traditional Hansa Hotel is reliably good, though it is quite formal.


88% (16 reviews)
Secret Garden Guesthouse

Secret Garden

Secret Garden Guesthouse is well located in the centre of Swakopmund not far from the sea. With a seaside feel, it has its own small restaurant and bar.


86% (14 reviews)
Sea Breeze Guesthouse

Sea Breeze

Just north of Swakopmund, the delightful Sea Breeze Guesthouse is bright and well-looked after with welcoming and helpful owners.


83% (12 reviews)
Organic Square

Organic Square

Organic Square is a modern guesthouse across two properties in the centre of Swakopmund.


82% (11 reviews)
Desert Breeze Lodge

Desert Breeze

Not your typical Swakopmund guesthouse, Desert Breeze occupies a glorious location overlooking the Swakop River and the desert beyond.


90% (6 reviews)
Pelican Point Lodge

Pelican Point Lodge

Pelican Point Lodge sits on a remote peninsula offering panoramic views of the ocean and is only accessible by 4WD or boat.


100% (4 reviews)
Intermezzo Guesthouse

Intermezzo

In a quiet residential area just north of the town centre, Intermezzo Guesthouse is a comfortable and bright place to stay while in Swakopmund.


90% (4 reviews)
Hotel Zum Kaiser

Zum Kaiser Hotel

Hotel Zum Kaiser (formerly Swakopmund Boutique Hotel) is fairly large by Swakopmund standards, but has a good location in the centre of town, near to the beach.


80% (3 reviews)
Namib Guesthouse

Namib Guesthouse

The Namib Guesthouse is a small, modern B&B, set in Swakopmund's peaceful Kramersdorf area. It's just a short walk from the coast and many amenities.


70% (2 reviews)
Oyster Box Guesthouse

Oyster Box Guesthouse

Oyster Box Guesthouse is a small, modern and comfortable B&B, overlooking Walvis Bay Lagoon.


80% (2 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa