This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Organic Square
Organic Square
Organic Square
Organic Square
Organic Square

Reviews of Organic Square

Wildlife sightings and reviews

11 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Organic Square and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 11
Duration
Arrival date
Ms M
Colorado

"Organic Square review"

3 nights Arrived 6 Aug 2019
"This lodge is within walking distance to the coast, restaurants and shopping.we enjoyed our stay there. The room had a small refrigerator to hold our snacks and wine. We enjoyed our time on the patio that was adjacent to our room. We especially appreciated their laundry service.

Our first night we ate dinner at The Tug. The restaurant sits on the pier. We were hoping to see a sunset while we ate but it was a bit overcast. The food was delicious! I would highly recommend a dinner there. They offer a shuttle home.

One of the highlights to our stay in Swakomund was kayaking with the seals in Walvis Bay. Our guide, SJ stopped along the way to show us the flamingos. We also saw a jackal. He explained his work with the seal rescue group. Kayaking among the seal colony was a great way to safely be around wild animals. He explained that it was up to the seals to interact. They were very playful and curious about us. It was a highlight of our trip.

After our trip we went to The Raft to have a drink and appetizers. There is a wonderful view of the coast." See all these reviews: 6n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr and Mrs RB
Bristol

"Good base in Swakop"

2 nights Arrived 28 Sep 2018
"A good base in Swakop, quite near everything. Helpful management, recommending a place to eat ( Fish Deli ). We had booked The Tug from England for our first night - seemed essential to book - very good fish and oysters.

Breakfast not as good as other places ( no hot dish on offer )." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Mr & Mrs P
Hook

"Lovely B&B"

2 nights Arrived 18 Oct 2017
"Quiet location near to the centre of Swakopmund.

Very warm welcome from manager who provided lots of useful information on area.

Enjoyable stay." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Lincs

"Organic Square review"

3 nights Arrived 15 Oct 2017
"It was a very different experience staying at Organic Square compared to all the lodges we stayed at. Much more obviously just a B&B with a courtyard outdoor sitting area. However, we had a large room which was well equipped and with an excellent shower. Breakfasts were good and in the evenings we dined out at The Jetty ( a bit overpriced and not that special.... I think you pay for the view), Kucki's Pub (where we had excellent fish and good service) and The Tug. We booked The Tug in the UK before we left, and I would recommend this as it is very popular and hard to get a table. The food here was superb as was the service and we were lucky to have a table with a sea view.

The restaurants and shops are all within easy walking distance of Organic Square.

Whilst here, these travellers took a Day trip to Sandwich Harbour. They commented:

We were lucky enough to be on our own on our trip to Sandwich Harbour. Berger was an excellent guide with a huge amount of knowledge and driving expertise. He managed to drive us to Sandwich Harbour along the beach just before the tide made it impossible so we were the only people there. We were left to do some exploring on our own while he prepared an excellent lunch. Although Swakopmund is renowned for its foggy mornings, we had clear skies and sunshine all the time we were there. We had many sightings of lazy jackals, and also pelicans and flamingos. The hectic dune driving was good fun.

These travellers also took park in a kayaking with seals excursion and they commented:

Another clear, sunny day for our day kayaking with the seals. Jeanne is a brilliant guide and very reassuring. We were not disappointed. It was a wonderful experience being so close to the seal pups and they are very familiar with tourists. Jeanne made sure we kept a respectful distance from those on the shore. All the equipment needed is provided and in addition we had a lovely sandwich, cake and coffee break. By that evening, we had already received the photographs and short videos Jeanne had taken of us." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs H
Taunton

"Organic Square review"

2 nights Arrived 12 Oct 2017
"Staff very helpful over problems with the hire car" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Mrs F & Mr N
Surrey

"Good location for the town"

2 nights Arrived 28 Sep 2017
"The room was smaller than most of our other stops but not a problem as we were out so much!

Helpful staff, tasty breakfast with fresh eggs and juices. It's an easy walk to the excellent Swakomund restaurants and a break from/the heat here....quite different to the rest of Namibia.

We had a great day with Mola Mola at Walvis Bay - seal and pelican cruise with oysters for lunch, then 4x4 trip in Sandwich Harbour dunes - such fun! Dinner at The Tug (best table ever over the Atlantic Ocean) and Ocean Cellar where the grilled seafood was top quality" See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Miss G
Thetford

"Comfortable base to explore Swakopmund from"

2 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2017
"Room was comfortable and basic.

Nice and quiet without any intrusion from owner or staff who kept very much in the background initially.

Breakfast choice a bit limited." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Average
Mrs E
Nyon

"Bad experience at Organic Square House"

2 nights Arrived 30 Aug 2017
"Both rooms we had were very cold, there was a tiny heater on the wall, but this was not enough to warm up the rooms. I got the cold there and it was very unpleasant to get out from the shower with such a low room room temperature.

No cooked breakfast was available, only cold eggs and cold bacon were standing on the buffet, the lady told us no cooked breakfast is available, breakfast variety and quality was average, furthermore the breakfast lady was not very friendly.

The owner was not very friendly, we had the feeling we disturbed her on our arrival, she didn't help us with our luggage either.

Cleaning is not done properly, I could find hair in the bathrooms and dust in the corners." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Good
Service:
Terrible
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs H
Fleet

"Well run guesthouse"

3 nights Arrived 24 Aug 2017
"We found this a good B&B, with very good clean and comfortable room and excellent breakfast. It provided a good base for activities (trip to Sandwich Harbour and Kayaking with Seals). The manager was very helpful in booking dinner in a local restaurant. The wifi was better than in many of the other places in Namibia.

Whilst staying here these travellers also took part in a kayaking with seals excursion in Walvis Bay and a day trip to Sandwich Harbour, here are their comments:

Well organised and thoroughly enjoyable. The seals were very relaxed and no sign that they were putting on a show. Many birds as well to see. Jeanne and Bernd looked after us very well and emailed pictures afterwards.

We were fortunate that the tide was just about right to get into Sandwich Harbour for a short visit. Only a few birds but our guide was very good at pointing them out. We were very pleasantly surprised by the hot lunch provided in the dunes and the dune bashing was fun. A very good day." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs T
Bucks

" Great location, clean B&B in Swakop"

2 nights Arrived 15 Aug 2017
"Good location. Nice big rooms with great bathrooms and a super breakfast.
Is exactly as advertised.

Walking is safe at night and location is 5 to 6 minutes from The Tug, Strand Hotel and all shops.

Also very easy to locate from the coast road coming into Swakop from Walvis Bay.

Whilst staying here these travellers also took part in a kayaking with seals excursion in Walvis Bay, here are their comments:

Easy to find to meet the guide Jens who was excellent throughout. Very engaging, informative and entertaining!

Great trip out to Pelican Point with an informative guide and then a super trip on the water.
Weather was excellent so don't be put off and assume it is always foggy - Walvis Bay is usually far clearer than Swakop.
Kayaks and all kit were excellent - very easy to stay warm and dry and have a wonderful time with many, many seals.

So listen to the guide and follow the rules though. Kayaking company used by Expert Africa are ethically sound whereas some are not - it should be applauded in order that future groups of tourists can enjoy the seals in the wild. Don't touch them!" See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 1-10 of 11
82%
11 reviews of Organic Square by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
4
5
1
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Swakopmund & Walvis Bay

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse is a small friendly B&B in a peaceful residential area. It's just a short walk from Swkopmund's waterfront & amenities.


95% (222 reviews)
Sam's Giardino

Sam's Giardino

Welcoming, professionally run, and mildly eccentric, Sam’s Giardino lifts the level of hospitality in Swakopmund to unusual heights.


89% (174 reviews)
The Stiltz

The Stiltz

Not your typical guesthouse, The Stiltz occupies a glorious location over the Swakop River on the edge of Swakopmund.


87% (62 reviews)
Villa Margherita

Villa Margherita

Villa Margherita is a beautifully renovated B&B in the heart of Swakopmund, with comfortable, well-appointed rooms, and friendly and attentive staff.


88% (58 reviews)
Beach Lodge

Beach Lodge

Right on the sea front, Beach Lodge offers good standard accommodation and its own restaurant, 15 minutes’ drive from Swakopmund.


90% (54 reviews)
Strand Hotel

Strand Hotel

One of the larger hotels in Swakopmund, the Strand is well placed on the seafront with good access to restaurants and the centre of town.


90% (47 reviews)
Lagoon Lodge

Lagoon Lodge

Lagoon Lodge is a quirky little guesthouse located right on the edge of Walvis Bay Lagoon, a good spot for watching the flamingoes that frequent the area.


90% (47 reviews)
Brigadoon

Brigadoon

In a quiet residential location, Brigadoon is conveniently located for the Swakopmund waterfront and amenities.


80% (21 reviews)
Swakopmund Guesthouse

Swakopmund G'house

Swakopmund Guesthouse is a family-run B&B, boasting comfortable and high-quality rooms with a maritime touch.


82% (20 reviews)
Sandfields Guesthouse

Sandfields Guesthouse

Friendly Sandfields guesthouse is a cosy and inviting place to stay just north of Swakopmund town centre, and is particularly suitable for families with children.


92% (20 reviews)
The Delight

The Delight

The Delight is a colourful modern hotel within a short walk of the Swakopmund waterfront and main attractions.


94% (17 reviews)
Hansa Hotel

Hansa Hotel

With a very central location in Swakopmund, the traditional Hansa Hotel is reliably good, though it is quite formal.


88% (16 reviews)
Secret Garden Guesthouse

Secret Garden

Secret Garden Guesthouse is well located in the centre of Swakopmund not far from the sea. With a seaside feel, it has its own small restaurant and bar.


86% (14 reviews)
Sea Breeze Guesthouse

Sea Breeze

Just north of Swakopmund, the delightful Sea Breeze Guesthouse is bright and well-looked after with welcoming and helpful owners.


83% (12 reviews)
Desert Breeze Lodge

Desert Breeze

Not your typical Swakopmund guesthouse, Desert Breeze occupies a glorious location overlooking the Swakop River and the desert beyond.


90% (6 reviews)
Pelican Point Lodge

Pelican Point Lodge

Pelican Point Lodge sits on a remote peninsula offering panoramic views of the ocean and is only accessible by 4WD or boat.


100% (4 reviews)
Intermezzo Guesthouse

Intermezzo

In a quiet residential area just north of the town centre, Intermezzo Guesthouse is a comfortable and bright place to stay while in Swakopmund.


90% (4 reviews)
Hotel Zum Kaiser

Zum Kaiser Hotel

Hotel Zum Kaiser (formerly Swakopmund Boutique Hotel) is fairly large by Swakopmund standards, but has a good location in the centre of town, near to the beach.


80% (3 reviews)
Oyster Box Guesthouse

Oyster Box Guesthouse

Oyster Box Guesthouse is a small, modern and comfortable B&B, overlooking Walvis Bay Lagoon.


80% (2 reviews)
Namib Guesthouse

Namib Guesthouse

The Namib Guesthouse is a small, modern B&B, set in Swakopmund's peaceful Kramersdorf area. It's just a short walk from the coast and many amenities.


70% (2 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa