This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Sam's Giardino

Reviews of Sam's Giardino

Wildlife sightings and reviews

173 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Sam's Giardino and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 121-130 of 173
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs B
Hampshire

"Sam's Giardino review"

2 nights Arrived 16 Jun 2009
"Swakopmund was overcast and windy when we arrived and after the excellent places we had stayed at until now was a big downer.

Sam's hotel was plastered with For Sale signs and he was away for a few days. The place had no atmosphere and it felt like the restaurant staff were going through the motions of service but with no enjoyment - I expect morale was low due to uncertainty over the sale.

It was a big disappointment as we had been looking forward to what the brochures inferred would be a quirky and fun experience." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Mr & Mrs S
Leicester

"Sam's Giardino review"

2 nights Arrived 28 May 2009
"This was a very pleasant stay and Sam was a likeable, attentive and helpful host and an interesting person to chat to. The food was first-rate although the evening meals felt slightly formal and therefore not quite as relaxed as we would have preferred. That said, we would certainly recommend Sam's to others.

Day trip to coast south of Swakopmund - This was a really memorable trip for a number of reasons. Firstly, our guide Wayne was extremely knowledgeable and had a passion and enthusiasm about the environment that was infectious and provided a real insight into the many environmental and other issues affecting not just this fragile dune environment but also wider issues facing Namibia as a whole . Our enjoyment of he trip was further enhanced by tthe company of Alexanra Fuller, a novelist/writer who was undertaking research for an article she it write for National Geographic magazine and Heidi (didn't catch her surname) who worked for one of the Namibian Government Environmental Protection agencies so we were the beneficiaries of some extremely well informed discussion on a whole range of issues, all of which was punctuated and lightened by a stream of amusing anecdotes from Alexandra from her child-hood days in Zambia and Africa!

Research of previous reader's reviews for the trip had led us to anticipate an excellent lunch and we most certainly weren't disappointed. Home-made lasagne, pate, salad and garlic bread followed by apple pie were consumed in a sheltered spot in the dunes (it was a very windy day). Yummee! Last ,but not least was, the rugged beauty of the dune system and coastline and fragile ecosystems of Sandwich Bay and the splendid panoramic views we had once we had climbed to the top of the dunes above Sandwich Harbour. I would thoroughly recommend this trip (which is organised byBruno Nebe's company Turnstone Tours) and would like to do it again if get to return to Namibia.

Kayaking Walvis Bay Lagoon - We had originally wanted to do the longer (all morning) trip but, because of a shortage of time because of long drive up to Doro Nawas meant that we onld had time for 2 hour trip. Neverthess, this was very pleasant and relaxing experience with our guide Francois who we found easy to chat to about various issues Namibian. Unfortunately, we couldn't get as close to the flamingoes as we would have liked but, all in all, atrip to be recommended.
" See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
T Wells

"Unusual stay in drab coastal town"

2 nights Arrived 20 May 2009
"Expatriate Swiss provides high class facilities, cuisine and large homeland mountain dog on quiet, concentrated edge of town rectangular plot.

Slightly out-of-place and eccentric but perhaps this is good in a rather drab coastal town often covered in sea mist. Because of the long road distances to and from Swakopmund on our tour we had only the single day between our two nights and missed out on the sea trip/s which might have proved worth doing (seals jumping into the boats for snack) etc.

Being one of the few places we might have used the internet to catch up on emails etc. it was disappointing that it was not working (probably from misuse)." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Miss M & Mr M
Ireland

"Sam's Giardino review"

2 nights Arrived 11 May 2009
"We found this guest house to be 'different'.

We had a perfectly comfortable stay and it was a good base to discover this region. Sam was very hospitable but the same couldnt be said for the female member of staff behind the counter.

Im sure the food was lovely but as we didnt feel like a 5 course meal every night we were forced to go into swap to eat in local restaraunts." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Activities:
Average
Mr & Mrs O
Jersey

"Sam's Giardino review"

2 nights Arrived 26 Apr 2009
"As we had read a couple of mixed reviews prior to our departure Sam's was one accommodation which we had concerns about.
We should not have worried. Sam's was a real home from home and in the short time we were there (2 nights) were made to feel extremely welcome - we were sad to leave!

Sam goes out of his way to make you feel welcome and nothing was too much trouble for him to organise - restaurants,taxi's, confirmation of activities etc

It was great to join Sam both before and after dinner for a glass of wine - tapping into his excellent knowledge of the subject.
As for Sam's 'best friend' - his dog Ornella, if only she was small enough to smuggle into our luggage!

We could not recommend this place highly enough and for a couple who love to travel we have seen the good and bad of a lot of places! Breakfast was excellent by the way.

Kayaking excursion to Pelican Point - Whatever you do - do not miss this unbelievable experience of being so close to nature via this excellent activity. The chance to be so close to dolphins and baby seals is one that will live for us for the rest of our lives.

The best activity we did on the whole holiday.
The whole activity was superbly run by Jeanne whose relaxed laid back approach added to the whole experience." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs K
Bury

"Sam's Giardino Swakopmund"

2 nights Arrived 23 Apr 2009
"Sam is a wonderful host. He is helpful, entertaining and informative .

The accommodation is very comfortable but when we were there it was cold so people need to be aware they may need warm clothing.

The food served here is excellent and if you are the only residents eating that evening Sam keeps the conversation flowing. He is also very knowledgable about wine.

He appears to treat his staff very well and that ensures their loyalty." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs R
Chertsey

"An ideal stopover in Swakop"

2 nights Arrived 20 Apr 2009
"A very comfortable hotel, slightly out of the centre of town, which can be walked to but more feasibly needs a car.

Rooms very comfortable and food good. The wine list is very extensive and is not overpriced.

Sam is a real character and loves to talk." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr J
Tennessee

"Sam's Giardino review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Mar 2009
"Was a bit concerned on arriving when we learned we'd been moved from 2 rooms we'd reserved to one large family room for the three of us (one couple and our young adult daughter) but was very happy when Sam arranged for us to have his large air conditioned family room plus another smaller one for our daughter.

" See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mrs M
Helensborough

"A great chef"

2 nights Arrived 27 Nov 2008
"Sam's 5 course dinner was a gourmet's delight. It is a pity that one is not allowed to eat it in peace. I am afraid that neither of us enjoy having to eat while a "stranger", who is not eating, sits at your table, talking non-stop.

The location is an easy walk into town, if you are reasonably fit.

" See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs N
Billericay

"Sam's Giardino review"

2 nights Arrived 1 Nov 2008
"This was a homley place to stay, a nice break from hotels, the staff made you feel at home and part of the'family'. Excellent home cooked food." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Showing 121-130 of 173
88%
173 reviews of Sam's Giardino by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
88
71
13
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Swakopmund & Walvis Bay

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse is a small friendly B&B in a peaceful residential area. It's just a short walk from Swkopmund's waterfront & amenities.


95% (222 reviews)
The Stiltz

The Stiltz

Not your typical guesthouse, The Stiltz occupies a glorious location over the Swakop River on the edge of Swakopmund.


87% (62 reviews)
Villa Margherita

Villa Margherita

Villa Margherita is a beautifully renovated B&B in the heart of Swakopmund, with comfortable, well-appointed rooms, and friendly and attentive staff.


88% (58 reviews)
Beach Lodge

Beach Lodge

Right on the sea front, Beach Lodge offers good standard accommodation and its own restaurant, 15 minutes’ drive from Swakopmund.


90% (54 reviews)
Lagoon Lodge

Lagoon Lodge

Lagoon Lodge is a quirky little guesthouse located right on the edge of Walvis Bay Lagoon, a good spot for watching the flamingoes that frequent the area.


90% (47 reviews)
Strand Hotel

Strand Hotel

One of the larger hotels in Swakopmund, the Strand is well placed on the seafront with good access to restaurants and the centre of town.


90% (47 reviews)
Brigadoon

Brigadoon

In a quiet residential location, Brigadoon is conveniently located for the Swakopmund waterfront and amenities.


80% (21 reviews)
Swakopmund Guesthouse

Swakopmund G'house

Swakopmund Guesthouse is a family-run B&B, boasting comfortable and high-quality rooms with a maritime touch.


82% (20 reviews)
Sandfields Guesthouse

Sandfields Guesthouse

Friendly Sandfields guesthouse is a cosy and inviting place to stay just north of Swakopmund town centre, and is particularly suitable for families with children.


92% (20 reviews)
The Delight

The Delight

The Delight is a colourful modern hotel within a short walk of the Swakopmund waterfront and main attractions.


94% (17 reviews)
Hansa Hotel

Hansa Hotel

With a very central location in Swakopmund, the traditional Hansa Hotel is reliably good, though it is quite formal.


88% (16 reviews)
Secret Garden Guesthouse

Secret Garden

Secret Garden Guesthouse is well located in the centre of Swakopmund not far from the sea. With a seaside feel, it has its own small restaurant and bar.


86% (14 reviews)
Sea Breeze Guesthouse

Sea Breeze

Just north of Swakopmund, the delightful Sea Breeze Guesthouse is bright and well-looked after with welcoming and helpful owners.


83% (12 reviews)
Organic Square

Organic Square

Organic Square is a modern guesthouse across two properties in the centre of Swakopmund.


82% (11 reviews)
Desert Breeze Lodge

Desert Breeze

Not your typical Swakopmund guesthouse, Desert Breeze occupies a glorious location overlooking the Swakop River and the desert beyond.


90% (6 reviews)
Pelican Point Lodge

Pelican Point Lodge

Pelican Point Lodge sits on a remote peninsula offering panoramic views of the ocean and is only accessible by 4WD or boat.


100% (4 reviews)
Intermezzo Guesthouse

Intermezzo

In a quiet residential area just north of the town centre, Intermezzo Guesthouse is a comfortable and bright place to stay while in Swakopmund.


90% (4 reviews)
Hotel Zum Kaiser

Zum Kaiser Hotel

Hotel Zum Kaiser (formerly Swakopmund Boutique Hotel) is fairly large by Swakopmund standards, but has a good location in the centre of town, near to the beach.


80% (3 reviews)
Namib Guesthouse

Namib Guesthouse

The Namib Guesthouse is a small, modern B&B, set in Swakopmund's peaceful Kramersdorf area. It's just a short walk from the coast and many amenities.


70% (2 reviews)
Oyster Box Guesthouse

Oyster Box Guesthouse

Oyster Box Guesthouse is a small, modern and comfortable B&B, overlooking Walvis Bay Lagoon.


80% (2 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa