This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Sam's Giardino

Reviews of Sam's Giardino

Wildlife sightings and reviews

173 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Sam's Giardino and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 131-140 of 173
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs L
Berkshire

"Time to take a break from driving"

4 nights Arrived 31 Oct 2008
"A warm relaxing atmosphere at Sam's.

Sam turned out to be a very friendly and interesting person. He is very proud of his establishment and rightly so. We were able to relax in his lovely garden and we enjoyed the breakfasts and the evening meals - we only bothered to eat out once at 'Erics'.

Whilst in Swakopmund we enjoyed two trips that we had organised through Expert Africa - a day out with Ernst (Turnstone Tours) and a morning kayaking with Jeanne Maientjes (Eco Marine Kayak Tours). We were extremely lucky to have Ernst to ourselves and it was a very memorable day." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs P
Crowthorne

"Sam's Giardino review"

2 nights Arrived 31 Oct 2008
"Although Sam's welcome was very low key we found Sam very helpful. We needed a dentist, managed to get to the very modern medical centre at 5.00 pm on a Friday and the tooth was "patched up" so we could enjoy the rest of the holiday.

Sam went out of his way to organise some excursions for us. The trip to Moon Valley was excellent thanks to another very experienced and accommodating guide.

Sam's hotel is extremely comfortable and we found the food absolutely delicious.

A great place to stay and, if the weather is good, there is a beautiful landscaped garden to relax in." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
The F Family
UK

"Swiss Sam"

2 nights Arrived 28 Oct 2008
"Sam's Giardino is a bit of Switzerland in Swakopmund, which is a very german town. Sam is very helpful, showing us where to find all the places we wanted to go.

The rooms are large and comfortable, and the food is very good." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs G
Carshalton

"Sam's Giardino review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Oct 2008
"Only reason for staying here is Sam with his superb hospitality and knowledge of good food and wine which you can buy by the glass very reasonably. He even booked a fish restaurant for us on arrival as that day's menu did not suit us. He also confirmed our tour for the next day.

Room was small and had no fridge although our freeze packs were frozen for us. The guest house is 15 minutes' walk from the town.

Day trip to Sandwich Harbour - An excellent day with our guide, Ernst, driving over and climbing up the dunes, experiencing different shapes and colours of the sand. We saw very little wildlife, principally birds on the guano platform off the coast north of Walvis Bay, pelicans in Sandwich harbour and numerous desert insects.

Ernst is passionate about wildlife and conservation and shared his enthusiasm and knowledge with us in a most enjoyable and long day. Thanks to tide times and his passion to show us all that he could we were back at 7pm instead of the planned 5:30!" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Poor
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Mr H
Chester

"Nice break at Sam's"

3 nights Arrived 24 Sep 2008
"Location bit out of town, but good secure parking with nice sized rooms. Sam attentive and helpful to give advice and make arrangements. Food and wine in particular were good around a single menu option. Compared with previous accommodations, staff at Sam's were rather subdued and less friendly. One of our party was not a dog lover and found dog sitting by us at breakfast and fouling the garden somewhat unpalatable.

Walvis Bay has some good boat trips that are well worth considering.

Just a comment for those planning a visit to the area, we drove from Kulala camp to Swakupmond and the roads were very poor and journey took us all day." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs L
Oxon

"Pity about the dog"

2 nights Arrived 16 Sep 2008
"A convenient place to stay but we feel that the owner did not create a very relaxing atmosphere.

Although promised that the dog would not be in the public rooms when we were there (because of allergies) we had to persuade the owner to keep the dog out of the rooms." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs N
Hants

"Sam's Giardino review"

3 nights Arrived 10 Sep 2008
"We thought Sam a little stand-offish when we first arrived, but think he must have been pre-occupied. He was an excellent host, being very informative and helpful. He introduced us to some excellent South African wines and told us about how he trains his staff.

We had dinner at Sam's the first night we arrived and the food was good. The breakfast was the best we had in Namibia - there was such a variety of things available.

Sam provides free internet access and tea/coffee with a wide selection of different tea bags. There are also lots of books (belonging to Einstein, his dog), that are available for browsing.

Sam's is about a 15 minute walk from the centre of Swakopmund - we walked and found it safe.

Overall, we found Sam's a very homely and friendly place to stay.

Sea kayaking excursion: This was a great half-day trip. Jeanne was very helpful and reassured us that the trip was safe. We saw lots of seals and dolphins - it was terrific when they came so close to the kayaks, and there are no other boats around. Jeanne kindly emailed us some digital photos of our trip.

Excursion to coastal desert: This was a great day-trip, even though we didn't quite get to Sandwich Harbour. Our guide was very knowledgeable and helpful. The rest of the party spoke German so he had to repeat everything for us. We loved driving and walking in the dunes, and running down them. We also saw a lot of bird life, including pelicans and flamingoes. Lunch was also excellent." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr B & Mrs C
Fleet

"Sam's Giardino review"

1 night Arrived 27 Aug 2008
"Sam is a real gem! A wonderful host; he found an emergency dentist when my partner lost a tooth after we had been turned away by the main practice in Swakopmund.

Managed to get a table at the Tug restaurant in town, which is recommended for the food, even if the service was rushed." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr D
Elegy

"Sam's Giardino review"

2 nights Arrived 27 Aug 2008
"Food excellent, nice location just outside immediate town centre but easy walking into the centre. Sam's advice was simple and practical Lovely collection of wines and books, even though I don't drink alcohol!

His phrase that has stuck is "Namibia is Africa for Beginners", it is absolutely true. Great choice for breakfast." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Red Bishops
Pevensey

"A unique hotel"

3 nights Arrived 21 Aug 2008
"Another warm welcome, with Sam's personal attention to all our needs even our smallest question was answered.

We ate in on two of our three nights, Pierre ably hosted our first evening, and both meals were enhanced by Sam's wine suggestions.

The location was great for getting around and seeing the sights. As ever the staff were friendly, happy and efficient." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Showing 131-140 of 173
88%
173 reviews of Sam's Giardino by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
88
71
13
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Swakopmund & Walvis Bay

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse is a small friendly B&B in a peaceful residential area. It's just a short walk from Swkopmund's waterfront & amenities.


95% (224 reviews)
The Stiltz

The Stiltz

Not your typical guesthouse, The Stiltz occupies a glorious location over the Swakop River on the edge of Swakopmund.


87% (62 reviews)
Villa Margherita

Villa Margherita

Villa Margherita is a beautifully renovated B&B in the heart of Swakopmund, with comfortable, well-appointed rooms, and friendly and attentive staff.


88% (58 reviews)
Beach Lodge

Beach Lodge

Right on the sea front, Beach Lodge offers good standard accommodation and its own restaurant, 15 minutes’ drive from Swakopmund.


90% (54 reviews)
Lagoon Lodge

Lagoon Lodge

Lagoon Lodge is a quirky little guesthouse located right on the edge of Walvis Bay Lagoon, a good spot for watching the flamingoes that frequent the area.


90% (47 reviews)
Strand Hotel

Strand Hotel

One of the larger hotels in Swakopmund, the Strand is well placed on the seafront with good access to restaurants and the centre of town.


90% (47 reviews)
Brigadoon

Brigadoon

In a quiet residential location, Brigadoon is conveniently located for the Swakopmund waterfront and amenities.


80% (21 reviews)
Swakopmund Guesthouse

Swakopmund G'house

Swakopmund Guesthouse is a family-run B&B, boasting comfortable and high-quality rooms with a maritime touch.


82% (20 reviews)
Sandfields Guesthouse

Sandfields Guesthouse

Friendly Sandfields guesthouse is a cosy and inviting place to stay just north of Swakopmund town centre, and is particularly suitable for families with children.


92% (20 reviews)
The Delight

The Delight

The Delight is a colourful modern hotel within a short walk of the Swakopmund waterfront and main attractions.


94% (17 reviews)
Hansa Hotel

Hansa Hotel

With a very central location in Swakopmund, the traditional Hansa Hotel is reliably good, though it is quite formal.


88% (16 reviews)
Secret Garden Guesthouse

Secret Garden

Secret Garden Guesthouse is well located in the centre of Swakopmund not far from the sea. With a seaside feel, it has its own small restaurant and bar.


86% (14 reviews)
Sea Breeze Guesthouse

Sea Breeze

Just north of Swakopmund, the delightful Sea Breeze Guesthouse is bright and well-looked after with welcoming and helpful owners.


83% (12 reviews)
Organic Square

Organic Square

Organic Square is a modern guesthouse across two properties in the centre of Swakopmund.


82% (11 reviews)
Desert Breeze Lodge

Desert Breeze

Not your typical Swakopmund guesthouse, Desert Breeze occupies a glorious location overlooking the Swakop River and the desert beyond.


90% (6 reviews)
Pelican Point Lodge

Pelican Point Lodge

Pelican Point Lodge sits on a remote peninsula offering panoramic views of the ocean and is only accessible by 4WD or boat.


100% (4 reviews)
Intermezzo Guesthouse

Intermezzo

In a quiet residential area just north of the town centre, Intermezzo Guesthouse is a comfortable and bright place to stay while in Swakopmund.


90% (4 reviews)
Hotel Zum Kaiser

Zum Kaiser Hotel

Hotel Zum Kaiser (formerly Swakopmund Boutique Hotel) is fairly large by Swakopmund standards, but has a good location in the centre of town, near to the beach.


80% (3 reviews)
Namib Guesthouse

Namib Guesthouse

The Namib Guesthouse is a small, modern B&B, set in Swakopmund's peaceful Kramersdorf area. It's just a short walk from the coast and many amenities.


70% (2 reviews)
Oyster Box Guesthouse

Oyster Box Guesthouse

Oyster Box Guesthouse is a small, modern and comfortable B&B, overlooking Walvis Bay Lagoon.


80% (2 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa