This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Sam's Giardino

Reviews of Sam's Giardino

Wildlife sightings and reviews

173 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Sam's Giardino and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 141-150 of 173
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs & Mr S
Yorkshire

"Sam's Giardino review"

2 nights Arrived 17 Aug 2008
"Sam is a very friendly and helpful host. A short distance and very safe to walk into town for an evening meal. We ate at the Tug, recommended and booked for us by Thomas at Kulula. Sam also provided an extensive evening meal at a reasonable price if you wish. Very comfortable room, plenty of tea and coffee available and free internet which was a bonus." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs R
Norfolk

"Did it rain?"

3 nights Arrived 14 Aug 2008
"Sam was a wonderful host and was quick to help in any way. Particular thanks for sorting out a hire car exchange for us while we were out for the day. The constant availability of tea/coffee and internet on the mezzanine floor was much appreciated. Einstein's library was also much appreciated. It was good to see how Sam's hotel is constantly upgrading, with new ideas and development. We were pleased to find secure carparking behind the gates." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 7n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Teddington

"Great base in Swakopmund"

3 nights Arrived 8 Aug 2008
"Comfortable, with Swiss precision and efficiency. And a free internet connection.

A very good base for activities around Swakopmund" See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia; 6n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Damara Dik Diks
UK

"Sam makes this place special"

4 nights Arrived 7 Aug 2008
"Don't judge by first impressions! On arrival, we were tired and bedraggled and Swakopmund seemed dreary in comparison to the desert and the wilderness regions we had been in. But once inside Sam's hotel, although basic rooms, we soon felt the charm of his dining room and upstairs sitting room and general calm atmosphere.

Sam couldn't have been more helpful making phone calls for us and spending time talking with us which proved invaluable. There is much more than meets the eye. He became a friend in four days and his women staff were all very good and attentive. I left a few items of clothing for the staff to take back to their children or families and I think I am right in saying that every month Sam does a collection of such items to hand on to his staff. This would be worth checking as I would have brought out more clothes to give to them and it might be worth letting all visitors to Sam's know of this distribution, as we can't be the only family who felt they wanted to give something back.

Sam was a wonderful person to talk with and we thank him for all he did for us.

The visit to Mondesa township was truly moving and I would recommend everyone to do this. Wished I could have seen Katatura too. Sam was so interesting to talk to and so kind with his advice. But Mondesa was a turning point for us. Again, worth taking out stuff for the people there - we handed football shirts to the leader of the tour who promised to give them to the neediest of the children. We were totally impressed by the lack of begging and no demands for anything. Instead, one of the tour guides, said it was their policy to collect all donated items and distribute them to the most needy of children rather than us just handing out things in a random way and children then becomoing demanding or even upset if they didn't get anything.

Great evening meal at Sam's. Great breakfasts in candle-light and lots of interesting books. Sam is a unique person who deserves great praise for creating a very unusual place to stay in Swakopmund and we all thank him for his time and kindness. We were sorry to say goodbye to him - in a sandstorm as he was heading off on his bike! We would recomment his guesthouse over any hotel; he provides a personal service and a knowledge and appreciation of our needs and of what Namibia can offer and above all, he doesn't rush one and he listens and takes time to help.

Kayaking & quad biking excursions - OUr Kayaking day was good fun but due to weather condiditons, we didn't make it to the dolphins. We were amongst the seals which was great and really close. jeanne was a lovely lady.

However, rather like the Sandwich Harbour trip, I think it would have been better to forewarn us that we might not see dolphin and that the kayaking was really very basic. We didn't mind but I suspect some in our group were hoping for more serious kayaking. It isn't a chea[ trip and it would be wrong for Namibians to think all of us tourists are rolling in money. Each trip = if there are 5 of you - costs a lot, and so clear information is important to know prior to settting out.

Again, picnic could have done with beers/wine and not just tea and coffee or sodas. Quite a long drive for a relatively short-lived experience of kayaking with the seals. I expect had we been able to go further out and be with dolphins our view would be different. Lovely people who organised the trip - the man and Jeanne.

Quadbiking was done under sandstorm conditions at our choice! Ours sons were desperate not to miss this so we persuaded a guide to take us out! It was amazing. Great guide and great views. Not to be missed.

Township Tour and sand boarding excursions - Sandboarding - all really nice guys and so good for our boys to talk to them. So friendly. They loved the sandboarding - me as a mother of 44 years didn't love it so much!! No pressure put on me and so I watched in the end after doing it 3 times! Very glad we did it as a family. Also, great picnic on the beach afterwards which again was a really good way to integrate with local black Namibians and talk to them properly, All delightful.

Township tour was AMAZING. I am so glad we did this. I can't say how impressed we were with the way it was organised by the guys who took us round. We suggest that they make it clear that there is a meal at the end and dancing and crafts on sale as we felt awful having to make them rush for us at 7pm. We had a dinner appointment at 7.30pm which we would not have booked had we realised that the Tour lasts as long as it does and included local food too. Important to tell tourists this. Ends really mroe like 8pm.

We took some children's clothes out from England and handed them to the Tour leaders who said they would distribute them to the children later. Might want to add this in your brochure. We couldn't get over how there was no begging for anything from us ever. The township people who shared their homes with us were so kind and I felt a bit of a voyeur at times, but the tour leaders told me it was fine. The way we were taken to different homes, to a bar, a craft shop, to meet a chief, a medicine woman...all done with ease and with no feeling of being threatened or unsafe.

We were all humbled and very moved by the whole experience. I would urge everyone to take this tour. Finally, we got to see where so many Namibians live and how they live. Our children won't forget this trip. My youngest son had collected crayons and football shirts to hand over too.

We are developing our photos in order to post them to the Tour leaders, as promised. A small price to pay for taking the photos of the people who were so ready to pose." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Crowned plovers
NL

"Sam's Giardino review"

1 night Arrived 14 Jul 2008
"We enjoyed this eccentric place and its owner Sam though would probably have preferred a more authentically local place.

Good if old-fashioned food and a truly memorable breakfast spread." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana; 8n in Namibia; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Aardwolves
Middlesex

"Sam's Giardino review"

1 night Arrived 13 Jul 2008
"This served as a very good stop-off point on a long journey. We had an excellent and very reasonably priced meal and excellent wines." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Harriers
Switzerland

"Sam's Giardino review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Jul 2008
"Efficient and friendly welcome by Sam. Enjoyed Sam's extensive wine collection and his wine knowledge. Very helpful regarding activities and booking them for us, even to the extent of going to the bank for us during our trip to the dunes.

Thoroughly enjoyed Living Desert learning experience - but be prepared for a cold early morning start! Loved the buzz of Swakopmund town." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Suricate family
Hale

"Sam's Giardino review"

1 night Arrived 9 Jul 2008
"Sam's should obviously be a one-off experience included on all Namibian itineraries, but probably only for the one night as the patter might run a bit thin thereafter. What is there to say - the rooms are comfortable, the food good and imaginative, the wines and wine chat first class, the ambiance Swiss/Namibian, mine host an eccentric bon-viveur and the boss a dog - or perhaps Einstein's ghost!?

Sam also provided us with first class directions for an amble round Swakopmund where we found the museum, and particularly the section devoted to the peoples of Namibia, to be first class and well worth a detour - and perhaps more than a passing mention in Bradt." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr P & Mrs C
UK

"Sam's Giardino review"

1 night Arrived 7 Jun 2008
"We didn't spend much time here, but as a place to spend a night it couldn't be faulted and the food and choice of wine was second to none. Good value for money" See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Dune-larks
UK

"Sam's Giardino review"

3 nights Arrived 5 Jun 2008
"There is nothing at all wrong with Sam's Giardino but it was a distinctly routine European-hotel-style welcome rather than the warm Namibian greetings in the lodges! Sam was away so we might have missed his buzz.

We were not at our best with a 48-hour bug but the excursions (Sandwich harbour and Living Desert Adventures) are highly recommended. We would stay nearer the town centre if we visit again." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Average
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Showing 141-150 of 173
88%
173 reviews of Sam's Giardino by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
88
71
13
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Swakopmund & Walvis Bay

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse is a small friendly B&B in a peaceful residential area. It's just a short walk from Swkopmund's waterfront & amenities.


95% (223 reviews)
The Stiltz

The Stiltz

Not your typical guesthouse, The Stiltz occupies a glorious location over the Swakop River on the edge of Swakopmund.


87% (62 reviews)
Villa Margherita

Villa Margherita

Villa Margherita is a beautifully renovated B&B in the heart of Swakopmund, with comfortable, well-appointed rooms, and friendly and attentive staff.


88% (58 reviews)
Beach Lodge

Beach Lodge

Right on the sea front, Beach Lodge offers good standard accommodation and its own restaurant, 15 minutes’ drive from Swakopmund.


90% (54 reviews)
Lagoon Lodge

Lagoon Lodge

Lagoon Lodge is a quirky little guesthouse located right on the edge of Walvis Bay Lagoon, a good spot for watching the flamingoes that frequent the area.


90% (47 reviews)
Strand Hotel

Strand Hotel

One of the larger hotels in Swakopmund, the Strand is well placed on the seafront with good access to restaurants and the centre of town.


90% (47 reviews)
Brigadoon

Brigadoon

In a quiet residential location, Brigadoon is conveniently located for the Swakopmund waterfront and amenities.


80% (21 reviews)
Swakopmund Guesthouse

Swakopmund G'house

Swakopmund Guesthouse is a family-run B&B, boasting comfortable and high-quality rooms with a maritime touch.


82% (20 reviews)
Sandfields Guesthouse

Sandfields Guesthouse

Friendly Sandfields guesthouse is a cosy and inviting place to stay just north of Swakopmund town centre, and is particularly suitable for families with children.


92% (20 reviews)
The Delight

The Delight

The Delight is a colourful modern hotel within a short walk of the Swakopmund waterfront and main attractions.


94% (17 reviews)
Hansa Hotel

Hansa Hotel

With a very central location in Swakopmund, the traditional Hansa Hotel is reliably good, though it is quite formal.


88% (16 reviews)
Secret Garden Guesthouse

Secret Garden

Secret Garden Guesthouse is well located in the centre of Swakopmund not far from the sea. With a seaside feel, it has its own small restaurant and bar.


86% (14 reviews)
Sea Breeze Guesthouse

Sea Breeze

Just north of Swakopmund, the delightful Sea Breeze Guesthouse is bright and well-looked after with welcoming and helpful owners.


83% (12 reviews)
Organic Square

Organic Square

Organic Square is a modern guesthouse across two properties in the centre of Swakopmund.


82% (11 reviews)
Desert Breeze Lodge

Desert Breeze

Not your typical Swakopmund guesthouse, Desert Breeze occupies a glorious location overlooking the Swakop River and the desert beyond.


90% (6 reviews)
Pelican Point Lodge

Pelican Point Lodge

Pelican Point Lodge sits on a remote peninsula offering panoramic views of the ocean and is only accessible by 4WD or boat.


100% (4 reviews)
Intermezzo Guesthouse

Intermezzo

In a quiet residential area just north of the town centre, Intermezzo Guesthouse is a comfortable and bright place to stay while in Swakopmund.


90% (4 reviews)
Hotel Zum Kaiser

Zum Kaiser Hotel

Hotel Zum Kaiser (formerly Swakopmund Boutique Hotel) is fairly large by Swakopmund standards, but has a good location in the centre of town, near to the beach.


80% (3 reviews)
Namib Guesthouse

Namib Guesthouse

The Namib Guesthouse is a small, modern B&B, set in Swakopmund's peaceful Kramersdorf area. It's just a short walk from the coast and many amenities.


70% (2 reviews)
Oyster Box Guesthouse

Oyster Box Guesthouse

Oyster Box Guesthouse is a small, modern and comfortable B&B, overlooking Walvis Bay Lagoon.


80% (2 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa