This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Sam's Giardino

Reviews of Sam's Giardino

Wildlife sightings and reviews

173 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Sam's Giardino and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 151-160 of 173
Duration
Arrival date
Dune-hoppers
London

"Sam's Giardino review"

2 nights Arrived 26 May 2008
"Really enjoyed wine tasting and meal. And Sam recommended a fantastic dune safari ( Christopher Nell); this was one of the best moments of our trip. Sam was a delight." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs L
Oxon

"Sam's Giardino review"

1 night Arrived 19 May 2008
"We needed a stopping off point - Sam's was ideal in a cold and wet Swakopmund out of season - you seriously do not need too much time on the coast in the middle of winter wherever in the world you are.

Sam's is a garden havem, so different from everywhere else we went but lovely nevertheless." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mr D
Sword

"Wonderful evening meal, great wine"

2 nights Arrived 10 May 2008
"One of the first things we liked about this place was that it was the only double bed we had during our whole stay! (Everywhere else it's two separate mattresses pushed together).

Sam was a charming and very attentive host, his service during our evening meal was first-class. We ate one of the best meals of our stay here thanks to his culinary expertise, entertaining and outstanding service and great wine. He knows just what wine will go with each dish, so just let yourself be guided by him! What we found really charming was that he would sit down with his guests and talk to them - in English, French and German with equal ease! He has a very extensive knowledge of wine, especially from South Africa, and will happily share it with you.

He has trained his staff to very high standards and it shows. Our room here was fine, as was the location, maybe 15 mins' walk from the town centre. Breakfast was also very good." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mr K
Channel Islands

"Sam's best stop over in Swakopmund"

2 nights Arrived 26 Apr 2008
"Excellent food, wine and company, in a friendly relaxed environment. As far away as possible from a standard hotel. Little Switzerland in the desert, not for those looking for lavish hotel services.

Scenic Flight - We took a 3 hour flight inland and back along the Skeleton Coast. i was a little disappointed as the weather was hazy hence being a keen photographer, made for a frustrating afternoon.

Having said that the scenery was stunning, the pilot comforting (although do not try talking to him over the noise of the engine) and you get to see a lot of the country from a perspective you do not normally get - I would suggest giving it a go." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
The rhinos
UK

"Sam's Giardino review"

2 nights Arrived 31 Mar 2008
"We had a pleasant two night stay in a comfortable room.

Good quiet location and handy for shops and other facilities." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Sparrowhawks
London

"Sam's Giardino review"

2 nights Arrived 24 Mar 2008
"Sam is a very knowledgeable, welcoming and interesting host. We learnt a lot about Namibia from him, which would make a visit alone worth it. As well as this, the food is great and Sam has a great wine selection.

Garden was a very nice place to relax in late afternoon/evening with Ornella (the resident dog). Sam was in the process of building a new bar when we were staying and we're sure this will make the place even nicer.." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Average
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
The Doormice
Norfolk

"gourmet B & B"

3 nights Arrived 21 Feb 2008
"the room was fine, the food was superlative - Sam offers evening meals which was absolutely delicious (although I personally found the speed of the courses a little fast) with fantastic wines, and breakfast was a real spread.

Sam was exceptionally helpful (especially in helping us as we were still chasing lost luggage)

The only suggestion I would make would be to maybe change to nicer towels!

Turnstone Tour day trip to Sandwich Harbour - excellent trip - informative, interesting and what a picnic!" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
The Baobabs
Kirk

"Beautiful gardens in a town setting"

2 nights Arrived 17 Feb 2008
"A relaxed, friendly setting with good food, helpful staff and lots of lovely reference books to browse through. A good place to stay in Swakopmund.

Turnstone Tour day trip - Our guide, Ernst, and our friendly and interesting companions, made this a very special day. Ernst's knowledge and enthusiasm, and the way he managed to accommodate the many diverse interests of our group, were admirable. The whole area is so beautiful ,with a fascinating history from whaling to beef canning, and absolutely amazing birdlife. We had a wonderful long walk, and watched dolphins swimming by as we enjoyed a lovely brunch, and never met another soul." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs L
Lewes

"Sam's Giardino review"

3 nights Arrived 2 Feb 2008
"Sam's Giardino is lovely, just as you describe it, with the sad exception that Mr Einstein is no more, and has been replaced by Ms Ornella.

Sam is so helpful, offering to phone for restaurant booking and trip confirmations for us.

The fish at Erich's restaurant was so good that we went back for a second evening.
" See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Longclaws
Edinburgh

"Sam's Giardino review"

3 nights Arrived 1 Jan 2008
"Enjoyed our stay there. Everthing said in Sams brochure is correct." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Showing 151-160 of 173
88%
173 reviews of Sam's Giardino by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
88
71
13
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Swakopmund & Walvis Bay

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse is a small friendly B&B in a peaceful residential area. It's just a short walk from Swkopmund's waterfront & amenities.


95% (222 reviews)
The Stiltz

The Stiltz

Not your typical guesthouse, The Stiltz occupies a glorious location over the Swakop River on the edge of Swakopmund.


87% (62 reviews)
Villa Margherita

Villa Margherita

Villa Margherita is a beautifully renovated B&B in the heart of Swakopmund, with comfortable, well-appointed rooms, and friendly and attentive staff.


88% (58 reviews)
Beach Lodge

Beach Lodge

Right on the sea front, Beach Lodge offers good standard accommodation and its own restaurant, 15 minutes’ drive from Swakopmund.


90% (54 reviews)
Lagoon Lodge

Lagoon Lodge

Lagoon Lodge is a quirky little guesthouse located right on the edge of Walvis Bay Lagoon, a good spot for watching the flamingoes that frequent the area.


90% (47 reviews)
Strand Hotel

Strand Hotel

One of the larger hotels in Swakopmund, the Strand is well placed on the seafront with good access to restaurants and the centre of town.


90% (47 reviews)
Brigadoon

Brigadoon

In a quiet residential location, Brigadoon is conveniently located for the Swakopmund waterfront and amenities.


80% (21 reviews)
Swakopmund Guesthouse

Swakopmund G'house

Swakopmund Guesthouse is a family-run B&B, boasting comfortable and high-quality rooms with a maritime touch.


82% (20 reviews)
Sandfields Guesthouse

Sandfields Guesthouse

Friendly Sandfields guesthouse is a cosy and inviting place to stay just north of Swakopmund town centre, and is particularly suitable for families with children.


92% (20 reviews)
The Delight

The Delight

The Delight is a colourful modern hotel within a short walk of the Swakopmund waterfront and main attractions.


94% (17 reviews)
Hansa Hotel

Hansa Hotel

With a very central location in Swakopmund, the traditional Hansa Hotel is reliably good, though it is quite formal.


88% (16 reviews)
Secret Garden Guesthouse

Secret Garden

Secret Garden Guesthouse is well located in the centre of Swakopmund not far from the sea. With a seaside feel, it has its own small restaurant and bar.


86% (14 reviews)
Sea Breeze Guesthouse

Sea Breeze

Just north of Swakopmund, the delightful Sea Breeze Guesthouse is bright and well-looked after with welcoming and helpful owners.


83% (12 reviews)
Organic Square

Organic Square

Organic Square is a modern guesthouse across two properties in the centre of Swakopmund.


82% (11 reviews)
Desert Breeze Lodge

Desert Breeze

Not your typical Swakopmund guesthouse, Desert Breeze occupies a glorious location overlooking the Swakop River and the desert beyond.


90% (6 reviews)
Pelican Point Lodge

Pelican Point Lodge

Pelican Point Lodge sits on a remote peninsula offering panoramic views of the ocean and is only accessible by 4WD or boat.


100% (4 reviews)
Intermezzo Guesthouse

Intermezzo

In a quiet residential area just north of the town centre, Intermezzo Guesthouse is a comfortable and bright place to stay while in Swakopmund.


90% (4 reviews)
Hotel Zum Kaiser

Zum Kaiser Hotel

Hotel Zum Kaiser (formerly Swakopmund Boutique Hotel) is fairly large by Swakopmund standards, but has a good location in the centre of town, near to the beach.


80% (3 reviews)
Namib Guesthouse

Namib Guesthouse

The Namib Guesthouse is a small, modern B&B, set in Swakopmund's peaceful Kramersdorf area. It's just a short walk from the coast and many amenities.


70% (2 reviews)
Oyster Box Guesthouse

Oyster Box Guesthouse

Oyster Box Guesthouse is a small, modern and comfortable B&B, overlooking Walvis Bay Lagoon.


80% (2 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa