This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Sam's Giardino

Reviews of Sam's Giardino

Wildlife sightings and reviews

173 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Sam's Giardino and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 161-170 of 173
Duration
Arrival date
Mr H
California

"Friendly, professional, perhaps obsessional?"

3 nights Arrived 30 Nov 2007
"Sam welcomes you by pulling up a chair to your table and launching into a conversation about Namibia, or Switzerland, or wine, or any of his many interests. He serves a large dinner if you wish, and has a range of wines that he pours by the glass. He seems to be obsessed to provide a "European" level of service in a medium-sized bed and breakfast in Swakopmund.

We had dinner twice and breakfast 3 times, and enjoyed it. The rooms were spacious enough, and the staff very helpful and friendly (the electricity went out twice, city-wide or nation-wide, we never found out which). There is not much within walking distance, so it helps to have a car. We particularly enjoyed the other guests: a geologist and a safari operator, from whom we learned a great deal." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia; 6n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mrs E
Broom

"Sam's Giardino review"

4 nights Arrived 6 Nov 2007
"Sam was very helpful when it came to recommending restaurants and activities.

The rooms were a bit basic but comfortable and clean. The breakfast was always good with lots of choice." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs Tru
UK

"Sam's Giardino review"

2 nights Arrived 23 Oct 2007
"We travelled to Swakopmund by Cessna from the Kulala Airstrip. Super deja views of the red dunes and then of the abandoned diamond mines and the coast, Walvis Bay and then a landing at the small Swakopmund Airport. Our only hitch of the planned itinerary Failure of our rental car to appear. It was sorted by the next morning so we cabbed into town and walked the town's grid pattern of streets. A solid community contrasting with the desert on its doorstep. Shops enough and an obviously self sufficient population with its own activities and amusements as well as the attraction of the seaside beach.

Sam and his welcoming Guest House are both very original!. Sam is an ex pat Swiss with experience back home in the large hotel business who had a dream to create his own very comfortable establishment some nine years ago. It is very relaxed and he will spend time talking with you about life in Namibia and particularly in Swakopmund with its core of long term German and Swiss residents. He takes great pride in his creation and his loyal team of staff. He has plans for further development of the property. he will provide an in house five course meal with excellent accompanying wine.

He has just suffered the loss of Mr. Einstein, his P.R asst. Mr. Einstein's comfortable kennel house and water garden are to be taken over by a younger female companion. The tributes to Mr.Einstein continue to pour in.

Trips from here to Walvis Bay and Cape Cross are recommended. Try to get to Cape Cross (approx one hour drive) by ten in the morning to beat some of the bus trippers. Amazing sight of thousands of fur seals, all active or lolling on the shore within easy view. Do not be put off by the warnings of the stench. Soon forgotten when this special animal place seduces you to simply stay and stay and keep watching !" See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mrs B
Hampshire

"Sam's Giardino review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Oct 2007
"welcoming, unusual, good meal" See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr P
Penny

"Friendly welcome at Sam's"

2 nights Arrived 13 Oct 2007
"Still suffering from stomach upsets, we both enjoyed Sam and his giardino; cuisine first class, insofar as we were able to appreciate it, cellar exceptional though tasting again limited; we liked the slightly eccentric atmosphere, Sam's laconic concern in conversation and, especially, his willingness to provide us with transmissions of two Rugby world cup semi-finals.

We felt very much at home; nothing pretentious, but very solid, very friendly; thoroughly charming. Thanks, Sam." See all these reviews: 26n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs D
Kilburn

"Haven in Swakopmund!"

2 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2007
"Sam is a first class and charming host; quietly organising you whilst giving you a lot of information on the town.

We attended 2 wine-tastings and found them very informative and pleasurable.

He made our stay in Swakopmund special and we would definitely go back." See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr B
N Yorks

"very nice"

2 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2007
"just one short night but helpful staff and excellent breakfast" See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Devon Pollard
UK

"Warm welcome from a genial host"

2 nights Arrived 19 Aug 2007
"Our room (a triple) was relatively small but adequate for our needs, warm and comfortable, overlooking the garden.

Sam is a fount of local knowledge and provided all the information we needed to make the most of our stay.

A nice touch is the galleried area where we could help ourselves to a variety of hot drinks whenever we liked. The lounge, adjacent to the dining area, was also available to us to watch television or browse through any of the illustrated books provided.

Sam would have been happy to book trips for us had we wished him to do so.

Breakfast was plentiful, with lots of choice. Staff were unobtrusive and efficient." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs W
Andover

"Great place for wine lovers."

3 nights Arrived 16 Aug 2007
"Sam's Giardino provides and good base for exploring Swakomund and the surrounding area because, the reception staff were helpful in arranging bookings for us on two excellent trips, one to Sandwich Harbour and the other the "Little 5" dune tour, which included pickup and delivery from and to Sam's and filled both of the days we were in Swakomund.

Sam's wine tasting was a very pleasant way of spending the early evening before dinner, and after dinner we enjoyed browsing through Sam's large collection of Namibian travel books in the lounge. The garden was pleasant but unfortunately, there was a lot of sea fog and we were unable to take advantage of it and the garden furniture.

We enjoyed the food and wine." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr P
West Sussex

"Cool western coast."

2 nights Arrived 16 Aug 2007
"We had a most pleasant stay at Sam's. He takes a real pride in his establishment, and his attention to detail was most impressive.

Again, there were trips on offer which we did not have enough time to fit in, but that was no fault of Sam'!

We enjoyed Swakupmond." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Showing 161-170 of 173
88%
173 reviews of Sam's Giardino by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
88
71
13
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Swakopmund & Walvis Bay

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse is a small friendly B&B in a peaceful residential area. It's just a short walk from Swkopmund's waterfront & amenities.


95% (222 reviews)
The Stiltz

The Stiltz

Not your typical guesthouse, The Stiltz occupies a glorious location over the Swakop River on the edge of Swakopmund.


87% (62 reviews)
Villa Margherita

Villa Margherita

Villa Margherita is a beautifully renovated B&B in the heart of Swakopmund, with comfortable, well-appointed rooms, and friendly and attentive staff.


88% (58 reviews)
Beach Lodge

Beach Lodge

Right on the sea front, Beach Lodge offers good standard accommodation and its own restaurant, 15 minutes’ drive from Swakopmund.


90% (54 reviews)
Lagoon Lodge

Lagoon Lodge

Lagoon Lodge is a quirky little guesthouse located right on the edge of Walvis Bay Lagoon, a good spot for watching the flamingoes that frequent the area.


90% (47 reviews)
Strand Hotel

Strand Hotel

One of the larger hotels in Swakopmund, the Strand is well placed on the seafront with good access to restaurants and the centre of town.


90% (47 reviews)
Brigadoon

Brigadoon

In a quiet residential location, Brigadoon is conveniently located for the Swakopmund waterfront and amenities.


80% (21 reviews)
Swakopmund Guesthouse

Swakopmund G'house

Swakopmund Guesthouse is a family-run B&B, boasting comfortable and high-quality rooms with a maritime touch.


82% (20 reviews)
Sandfields Guesthouse

Sandfields Guesthouse

Friendly Sandfields guesthouse is a cosy and inviting place to stay just north of Swakopmund town centre, and is particularly suitable for families with children.


92% (20 reviews)
The Delight

The Delight

The Delight is a colourful modern hotel within a short walk of the Swakopmund waterfront and main attractions.


94% (17 reviews)
Hansa Hotel

Hansa Hotel

With a very central location in Swakopmund, the traditional Hansa Hotel is reliably good, though it is quite formal.


88% (16 reviews)
Secret Garden Guesthouse

Secret Garden

Secret Garden Guesthouse is well located in the centre of Swakopmund not far from the sea. With a seaside feel, it has its own small restaurant and bar.


86% (14 reviews)
Sea Breeze Guesthouse

Sea Breeze

Just north of Swakopmund, the delightful Sea Breeze Guesthouse is bright and well-looked after with welcoming and helpful owners.


83% (12 reviews)
Organic Square

Organic Square

Organic Square is a modern guesthouse across two properties in the centre of Swakopmund.


82% (11 reviews)
Desert Breeze Lodge

Desert Breeze

Not your typical Swakopmund guesthouse, Desert Breeze occupies a glorious location overlooking the Swakop River and the desert beyond.


90% (6 reviews)
Pelican Point Lodge

Pelican Point Lodge

Pelican Point Lodge sits on a remote peninsula offering panoramic views of the ocean and is only accessible by 4WD or boat.


100% (4 reviews)
Intermezzo Guesthouse

Intermezzo

In a quiet residential area just north of the town centre, Intermezzo Guesthouse is a comfortable and bright place to stay while in Swakopmund.


90% (4 reviews)
Hotel Zum Kaiser

Zum Kaiser Hotel

Hotel Zum Kaiser (formerly Swakopmund Boutique Hotel) is fairly large by Swakopmund standards, but has a good location in the centre of town, near to the beach.


80% (3 reviews)
Namib Guesthouse

Namib Guesthouse

The Namib Guesthouse is a small, modern B&B, set in Swakopmund's peaceful Kramersdorf area. It's just a short walk from the coast and many amenities.


70% (2 reviews)
Oyster Box Guesthouse

Oyster Box Guesthouse

Oyster Box Guesthouse is a small, modern and comfortable B&B, overlooking Walvis Bay Lagoon.


80% (2 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa