This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Onguma Tree Top Camp
Onguma Tree Top Camp
Onguma Tree Top Camp
Onguma Tree Top Camp

Onguma Tree Top Camp


18°42’8.0"S 17°2’36.2"E

Reviews of Onguma Tree Top Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

42 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Onguma Tree Top Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 14 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Onguma Tree Top Camp.
Lion

33% success

Leopard

10% success

Cheetah

55% success

Oryx

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Wildebeest

92% success

Giraffe

85% success

Eland

45% success

Elephant

45% success

Spotted Hyena

33% success

Roan antelope

30% success

Black Rhino

20% success

Brown Hyena

10% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

White Rhino

0% success

Showing 11-20 of 42
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs J
Somerset

"Onguma Tree Top Camp review"

1 night Arrived 6 Sep 2018
"We stayed here overnight before heading into Etosha. This elevated camp overlooks a water hole which attracted a lot of birdlife. The rooms are very nice although some people might feel a bit exposed using the showers. These work very well but the corrugated iron cubicle provides 2/3 - 3/4 screening. This allows you to view the waterhole while showering. I doubt whether the animals and birds are interested in looking back at you!" See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Giraffe

1 sighting

Lion

1 sighting

Oryx

1 sighting

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

1 sighting

Mr & Mrs F
California

"Great waterhole"

2 nights Arrived 4 Sep 2018
"Excellent game viewing.

Nice rooms.

Great food." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 6n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Prof. R
Goring

"Onguma Tree Top Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 2 Sep 2018
"Our absolute favourite place of the whole holiday - small camp with outstanding and bespoke service, an amazing watering hole that is popular with many different animals and excellent food." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Eland

1 sighting

Giraffe

3 sightings

Oryx

5 sightings

Roan antelope

1 sighting

Wildebeest

6 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr S
UK

"Beautiful setting"

1 night Arrived 5 Aug 2018
"Wonderful place to stay - really different and personal experience." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

2 sightings

Giraffe

3 sightings

Oryx

1 sighting

Roan antelope

1 sighting

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

3 sightings

Mr J & Ms J
Devon

"Beautiful camp"

2 nights Arrived 13 Jul 2018
"A real treat after the Government camps in Etosha. The tent was superb, overlooking the waterhole. It was left open at night, with just a mosquito net. The beds were warm and a hot water bottle supplied. The staff were very friendly and efficient and seemed very happy in their job, which made the whole atmosphere light. We had a morning in their hide, which is unique and at waterhole level, so excellent for photography. The morning walk was interesting and educational, but not long enough and enough exercise. But I learnt a lot about termites! I would recommend this lodge highly" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs P
Cheltenham

"Loved the exclusivity."

2 nights Arrived 16 Jun 2018
"What an amazing place. You feel very close to nature here. The rooms were open (you could have them closed) and the shower outside. With only four rooms it felt very exclusive. You all eat together, so maybe not the right place if you don't want to mix. We were travelling in a four anyway.

The waterhole isn't big but only spitting distance away. We had twice daily visits from giraffe and impala walking under our accommodation which was raised up. Zebras, wildebeest, jackals and springbok also visited and the chatter of birds was constant.

We also visited the waterholes on the Eastern side of Etosha easily from here.

We did a guided night drive around Onguma reserve and felt very privalidged to see cheetah and her five cubs who walked straight towards and around the vehicle! Definitely a highlight to treasure." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Cheetah

1 sighting

Elephant

5 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Oryx

1 sighting

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

10 sightings

J & K
London

"We adored Onguma Tree Top"

2 nights Arrived 1 Oct 2017
"Onguma Tree Top was very different. A small lodge with only 4 rooms linked by an elevated walkway overlooking a very busy waterhole. This was a real treat. Very quiet and relaxing watching the comings and goings at the waterhole from our bed or the deck.

The evening safari on the property was great and we got a close up look at a family of lions and once again excellent sundowners and sunset.

The food was fantastic and was prepared in front of us by the chef. The staff, as everywhere, were welcoming and friendly. Another place we didn't want t leave!" See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
namibia
UK

"Onguma Tree Top Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 10 Sep 2017
"We found the tree top camp to be rather past it's sell by date. The walkways and hand rails were in in need of repairs. We were advised not to lean on the hand rail surrounding the deck of our tent. This was a safety issue for me as if you slipped at night you could end up falling, and there was definitely a lion patrolling on our first night there.

We did not find the staff there very helpful. Lunch was served until 2.00 pm, we arrived around 2.45 and were told there was no food. We asked for a booking to be made for lunch at the Fort which did not happen on our day of departure.

We did however have an excellent guide called Eric, for two game drives and a bush walk. Very informative and was by far the best guide we had on the whole of our trip." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Average
Service:
Poor
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Poor
Mr & Mrs P
Australia

"Fantastic stay at Onguma Tree Top Camp"

3 nights Arrived 21 May 2017
"Had a wonderful 3 nights here, so peaceful after the crowds of Etosha, saw lots of game from our deck, did a sundowner drive and saw a cheetah with 5 cubs. The tented camp also looks wonderful." See all these reviews: 27n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
Hassocks

"Onguma Tree Top Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Apr 2017
"This is a very special place. There are 4 lodges on stilts, either side of the small main area, with a view of the waterhole. The lodges are open on one side, so you are able to sit in bed and view the waterhole and the visiting animals. The shower is outside on the deck, a fantastic experience.

We were there two nights and on each night only one other lodge was occupied. This meant that we had dinner with one other couple which was memorable, helped by the fact we had our own chef, cooking the meal in an open kitchen. The food was excellent and the service outstanding. There is a deck outside with a fire pit which was lit each night.

We went to Bush Camp on our second day for a swim and lunch. Another lovely place on the same reserve." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 11-20 of 42
97%
42 reviews of Onguma Tree Top Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
37
4
0
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Etosha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

Set within Etosha National Park, Okaukuejo Camp is a large, well-equipped restcamp, with a productive floodlit waterhole.


83% (641 reviews)
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

Halali is a large, government-run restcamp in a convenient central location inside Etosha National Park.


79% (319 reviews)
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

The family-friendly Mushara Bush Camp offers a beautifully designed lodge, friendly service and a great base from which to explore Etosha National Park.


94% (237 reviews)
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

Built around a waterhole Ongava Tented Camp offers good service, delicious food, comfortable rooms, easy access to Etosha and wildlife in camp.


93% (146 reviews)
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

Ongava is a smart lodge with fantastic views that offers a range of driving and walking safaris on its own reserve, and guided drives in Etosha.


92% (144 reviews)
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

Opened in 2011, Dolomite Camp allows visitors access to the far west side of Etosha National Park, which was previously off limits to most visitors.


86% (94 reviews)
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

Not far from the entrance to Etosha, Mushara Lodge offers comfortable and tastefully decorated rooms in a convenient location for exploring the park.


92% (85 reviews)
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

Centred on an old fort, the government run Namutoni Camp is located just inside Etosha National Park, close to Fisher's Pan.


82% (82 reviews)
Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp is a lovely, little tented camp which centres around an attractive waterhole a short drive from the Von Lindequist Gate to eastern Etosha.


92% (80 reviews)
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

For great wildlife viewing without breaking the bank, the affordable and understated luxury of Onguma Bush Camp could be perfect.


93% (77 reviews)
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

To the west of Etosha National Park, on the edge of Damaraland, Hobatere Lodge offers good game-viewing on its own reserve.


90% (67 reviews)
Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost is a comfortable, stylish lodge, and a good base from which to explore nearby Etosha National Park on your own or with a guided safari.


93% (55 reviews)
Onguma The Fort

Onguma The Fort

The Fort is the jewel in the crown of the Onguma lodges, and arguably the whole of eastern Etosha.


95% (36 reviews)
Onguma Etosha Aoba

Onguma Etosha Aoba

From its woodland setting on the Onguma Reserve, Etosha Aoba is within easy striking distance of Namibia’s flagship national park.


89% (32 reviews)
Taleni Etosha Village

Taleni Etosha Village

Only 4km from Etosha's southern entrance, Taleni Etosha Village is an affordable base from which to explore the park.


93% (26 reviews)
Etosha Safari Lodge

Etosha Safari Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Safari Lodge is a convenient base from which to explore the park.


84% (24 reviews)
Etosha Safari Camp

Etosha Safari Camp

Funky, low-key and very original, Etosha Safari Camp is well placed for visiting Etosha National Park on a self-drive or guided safari.


87% (23 reviews)
Little Ongava

Little Ongava

The beautifully located and luxurious Little Ongava is a stunning place to stay in order to explore Etosha National Park and the private Ongava Reserve.


97% (23 reviews)
Safarihoek Lodge

Safarihoek Lodge

In the middle of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Safarihoek Lodge offers comfortable accommodation and excellent game-viewing.


95% (22 reviews)
Mokuti Etosha Lodge

Mokuti Etosha Lodge

With 106 rooms, child-friendly Mokuti Etosha Lodge is more like a hotel than a lodge. Facilities to include a gym, spa, tennis courts and even a snake park.


92% (10 reviews)
Mountain Lodge

Mountain Lodge

In the heart of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Mountain Lodge offers the chance for game drives and bush walks away from some of the crowds of Etosha.


97% (7 reviews)
Andersson's at Ongava

Andersson's at Ongava

With game drives on both its private reserve and in Etosha, Andersson's at Ongava also offers access to the Ongava Research Centre.


100% (5 reviews)
Etosha Garden Hotel

Etosha Garden Hotel

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at the nearby Etosha Garden Lodge.


60% (4 reviews)
Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm is a delightful owner-run and working sheep farm where you can expect a warm welcome and charming hospitality.


95% (4 reviews)
Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara offers luxury in a peaceful and isolated location. It is a good choice for honeymooners & those wishing to indulge themselves.


93% (3 reviews)
Toshari Lodge

Toshari Lodge

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at Etosha Gateway Lodge.


80% (1 review)
Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp is owned and run by Namibia Wildlife Resorts. Built on elevated wooden platforms it overlooks Etosha Pan.


No reviews yet
Etosha Oberland Lodge

Etosha Oberland Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Oberland Lodge promises a convenient base from which to explore the park.


No reviews yet
Safari House

Safari House

The private Safari House on the Etosha Heights reserve is a great option families or friends travelling together.


No reviews yet
Etosha King Nehale

Etosha King Nehale

A short drive from the national park’s northern entrance, Etosha King Nehale Lodge is an interesting and comfortable base from which to explore the park.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa