This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Sam's Giardino

Reviews of Sam's Giardino

Wildlife sightings and reviews

173 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Sam's Giardino and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 51-60 of 173
Duration
Arrival date
R Family
San Diego

"Gratitude to Sam"

2 nights Arrived 9 Aug 2014
"Our designated room was really crowded and small
Sam gave us an extra room for the first night and moved us to the family penthouse for the second.
He went out of his way to help, assist and advise.
Even encouraged us to take sandwiched for the way the day we left.
We also enjoyed the dinners and special wines." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr J & Ms G
UK

"Sam's Giardino review"

3 nights Arrived 31 Jul 2014
"Sam’s Giardino was a wonderful place. Sam’s interests in food, wine, music and conversation, combined with a very homely place, meant that after three nights it was like saying goodbye to an old friend.

The food and wines were exceptionally good and the garden a delight. And that lovely, lovely dog… we took him for a walk and brushed him and entirely fell for him (clever PR move!). It wasn’t until we were well on our way onwards that I realized we hadn’t put anything in the staff tips box, which I feel particularly bad about.

We can recommend the boat trips with Ocean Adventures: we saw dolphin, whale, tame seals and tame pelicans, and the trip was very well run (they collect you from and return you to your hotel). Even better it seemed that nobody else on the trip ate oysters, so after tentatively wondering if we could have more than one we realized that we could have as many as we liked (and did!)." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs & Mr
USA

"comfortable place, nice people"

2 nights Arrived 20 Jul 2014
"We enjoyed our stay at Sam's Giardino. Very nice hospitality and comfortable rooms. Clean, near enough to town center for convenience yet far enough away for a quite night.

Excellent access to guides for the dunes." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
W family
Gwent

"A relaxing 'home from home' at Sam's"

3 nights Arrived 4 Jul 2014
"We liked the atmosphere and relaxing 'home from home' feeling at Sam's. The decor may be a little old-fashioned but the food was excellent and accommodation well-located for walking in to town. Very quiet location too. Definitely recommend it particularly if some normalcy is needed after too many 5 course meals in the lovely lodges! A walk into town for a pizza did the trick!" See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mr D & Mrs J
Dudley

"Sam's Giardino review"

3 nights Arrived 30 Mar 2014
"Too long a walk to the town centre.

Sam was very helpful booking restaurants and gave good advice" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Poor
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Family P
London

"Sam's Giardino review"

2 nights Arrived 26 Mar 2014
"Very personal attention from the owner. A nice and interesting man and a good hotelier. Excellent dinner for such a small guest house. A characterful and memorable place. Would definitely go back." See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Mr M & Ms O
UK

"Beethovens Symphony"

2 nights Arrived 9 Mar 2014
"Sam's a great caring host. Less eccentric than we remember - loves his classical music! No longer has the St Bernards have been replaced by one very large Bernese dog!

Lovely gardens! Definitely the place to stay in Swakopmund.

Ate out at the Tug, on the pier - fantastic restaurant, superb food.

Went sand boarding too - highly recommended for all ages as long as you have good underpants - reached up to 72kmh." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 5n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs J
Dorking

"Sam's Giardino review"

2 nights Arrived 29 Jan 2014
"Very comfortable with excellent service and food." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr G x 4
Norway

"Sam's Giardino review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Oct 2013
"We had 2 nights there and enjoyed our stay in Swakopmund even if the weather was misty most of the time.

Good service and friendly staff.

Whilst in Swakopmund these guests took a day excursion to the coast south of Swakopmund. This is what they said about it:

This turned out to be one of the highlights during our trip, highly recommended.
Our guide Ernst Ritter shared his knowledge and showed us a lot of facinating and interresting things in and around Sandwich harbour. We even got a bit of sunshine when we headed back.
We also enjoyed the driving on the sand dunes and along the coast almost in the waves.
An exciting day we will never forget, thanks a lot." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr M & family
UK

"Very hospitable"

3 nights Arrived 23 Oct 2013
"We arrived in Swakopmund on a cold foggy day , unfortunately our rooms at Sam's were very chilly and perhaps less appealing than our previous accommodations however Sam's hospitality and Cuisine made up for the lack of comfort ion our rooms .

We had a very informative and great guide Sean in our desert trip which was great fun and a highlight of our trip here, the museum in town was first class and the whole family enjoyed it .Our boat trip was very cold , we saw many seals but sadly very few dolphins from a distance a little disappointing .We would if we had our time again probably only spend 2 nights here ." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Average
Showing 51-60 of 173
88%
173 reviews of Sam's Giardino by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
88
71
13
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Swakopmund & Walvis Bay

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse is a small friendly B&B in a peaceful residential area. It's just a short walk from Swkopmund's waterfront & amenities.


95% (222 reviews)
The Stiltz

The Stiltz

Not your typical guesthouse, The Stiltz occupies a glorious location over the Swakop River on the edge of Swakopmund.


87% (62 reviews)
Villa Margherita

Villa Margherita

Villa Margherita is a beautifully renovated B&B in the heart of Swakopmund, with comfortable, well-appointed rooms, and friendly and attentive staff.


88% (58 reviews)
Beach Lodge

Beach Lodge

Right on the sea front, Beach Lodge offers good standard accommodation and its own restaurant, 15 minutes’ drive from Swakopmund.


90% (54 reviews)
Lagoon Lodge

Lagoon Lodge

Lagoon Lodge is a quirky little guesthouse located right on the edge of Walvis Bay Lagoon, a good spot for watching the flamingoes that frequent the area.


90% (47 reviews)
Strand Hotel

Strand Hotel

One of the larger hotels in Swakopmund, the Strand is well placed on the seafront with good access to restaurants and the centre of town.


90% (47 reviews)
Brigadoon

Brigadoon

In a quiet residential location, Brigadoon is conveniently located for the Swakopmund waterfront and amenities.


80% (21 reviews)
Swakopmund Guesthouse

Swakopmund G'house

Swakopmund Guesthouse is a family-run B&B, boasting comfortable and high-quality rooms with a maritime touch.


82% (20 reviews)
Sandfields Guesthouse

Sandfields Guesthouse

Friendly Sandfields guesthouse is a cosy and inviting place to stay just north of Swakopmund town centre, and is particularly suitable for families with children.


92% (20 reviews)
The Delight

The Delight

The Delight is a colourful modern hotel within a short walk of the Swakopmund waterfront and main attractions.


94% (17 reviews)
Hansa Hotel

Hansa Hotel

With a very central location in Swakopmund, the traditional Hansa Hotel is reliably good, though it is quite formal.


88% (16 reviews)
Secret Garden Guesthouse

Secret Garden

Secret Garden Guesthouse is well located in the centre of Swakopmund not far from the sea. With a seaside feel, it has its own small restaurant and bar.


86% (14 reviews)
Sea Breeze Guesthouse

Sea Breeze

Just north of Swakopmund, the delightful Sea Breeze Guesthouse is bright and well-looked after with welcoming and helpful owners.


83% (12 reviews)
Organic Square

Organic Square

Organic Square is a modern guesthouse across two properties in the centre of Swakopmund.


82% (11 reviews)
Desert Breeze Lodge

Desert Breeze

Not your typical Swakopmund guesthouse, Desert Breeze occupies a glorious location overlooking the Swakop River and the desert beyond.


90% (6 reviews)
Pelican Point Lodge

Pelican Point Lodge

Pelican Point Lodge sits on a remote peninsula offering panoramic views of the ocean and is only accessible by 4WD or boat.


100% (4 reviews)
Intermezzo Guesthouse

Intermezzo

In a quiet residential area just north of the town centre, Intermezzo Guesthouse is a comfortable and bright place to stay while in Swakopmund.


90% (4 reviews)
Hotel Zum Kaiser

Zum Kaiser Hotel

Hotel Zum Kaiser (formerly Swakopmund Boutique Hotel) is fairly large by Swakopmund standards, but has a good location in the centre of town, near to the beach.


80% (3 reviews)
Namib Guesthouse

Namib Guesthouse

The Namib Guesthouse is a small, modern B&B, set in Swakopmund's peaceful Kramersdorf area. It's just a short walk from the coast and many amenities.


70% (2 reviews)
Oyster Box Guesthouse

Oyster Box Guesthouse

Oyster Box Guesthouse is a small, modern and comfortable B&B, overlooking Walvis Bay Lagoon.


80% (2 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa