This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Sam's Giardino

Reviews of Sam's Giardino

Wildlife sightings and reviews

173 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Sam's Giardino and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 41-50 of 173
Duration
Arrival date
Mr S & Mrs M
UK

"Simultaneously homely and luxurious"

2 nights Arrived 21 Sep 2015
"Sam was very friendly and helpfully gave us ample information about possible trips in the area. Breakfast was excellent as was the evening meal we took there on the second night - much better than the meal at "Cosmopolitan" on our first night which was disappointing by comparison. The ambience was very pleasant and relaxing. We liked the candlelight at breakfast (though weren't so sure about the schmaltzy music!).

We went to Bird Paradise just outside Walvis Bay where, unfortunately, the guide was on holiday but we still managed to see lots of birds. Strongly recommended.

We were given tea in the garden when we returned to base but had not expected to be charged for it. Not a big issue but we were a little surprised.

Lovely big room, luxurious bathroom and even a TV so that my husband could catch up with he Rugby World Cup." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Ms & Mr S
Switzerland

"Sam's Giardino review"

2 nights Arrived 16 Sep 2015
"it is an OK place for a short stay. The owner has an amazing Bernese mountain dog.

During their stay at Sam's, Expert Africa organised a Pelican Point Kayaking trip for these travellers. They commented:

Great activity to participate!" See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
M & M
Flanders

"Great hospitality"

3 nights Arrived 1 Sep 2015
"Can't imagine staying anywhere else in Swakopmund. The first and the best! Sam is a skilful and entertaining host who amused and informed us while never imposing himself. His staff are equally competent and welcoming. Food and wine are great - rather better than anywhere else we found in town. An easy 15 minute walk to the waterfront and town centre. We appreciated Sam spontaneously confirming our booked activities for us. Lovely tropical garden as well.

During their stay at Sam's, Expert Africa organised two activities for these travellers. Firstly, we organised a Pelican Point Kayaking trip. They commented:

Utterly delightful. A thoroughly enjoyable morning. Jeanne has this expedition organised to perfection and is a brilliant host and guide. Kayaking amongst the seals and flamingos is charming (and surprisingly comfortable and warm) and the environment around the lagoon is stunning.

These travellers also did the Day Trip to Sandwich Harbour, and commented:

Environment and adventure.

A fabulous day exploring the remote and inaccessible coastal environment south of Swakopmund. Berger was a great guide and fortunately, given the nature of the route, a great driver too!


" See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs R
Hereford

"Disappointing"

1 night Arrived 31 Aug 2015
"The only positive we can say is that it had a pretty garden. the place was very cold and Sam put gas heaters all over the place to try and warm it. we found him very disinterested in us and quite rude, he had a strange habit of coming and sitting by us, but not saying anything until we did.Im afraid we thought he was past it." See all these reviews: 27n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Good
Service:
Terrible
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Poor
Mr J & Mrs E
Surrey

"A very quirky and charming place"

2 nights Arrived 7 Nov 2014
"We were a little bewildered when we first arrived as the accommodation (run by Swiss Sam) has been decked out very much in Swiss chalet style, which seemed a bit incongruous compared to other places we stayed on our trip. However, it was very comfortable with lovely gardens we sat and enjoyed a beer in after our day trip, with Sam's adorable dog Beethoven.

Our host Sam was very charming, welcoming and interesting. We had a meal at the accommodation one evening, which was excellent and accompanied by delicious wine chosen by Sam.

Sam also arranged a Sandwich Harbour tour with Bruno Nebe of Turnstone tours which was really enjoyable. Bruno was very good company and a really interesting chap who gave us a good insight on various aspects of life in Namibia.

We would certainly recommend this accommodation." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Ms J & Ms C
UK

"Sam's Giardino review"

2 nights Arrived 6 Oct 2014
"very friendly and good food and wine, although a bit out of town." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Mr D & Mrs S
Hants.

"Sam's Giardino"

2 nights Arrived 6 Oct 2014
"Characterful place with warm welcome from Sam. A little out of town but easily walked . Had one meal here which was very good. A bit noisy in the morning as staff arrived and Beethoven barked otherwise room was fine.

Did not do any activities here as needed a rest after driving down the salt road along the Skeleton Coast. A another day here would had been good to do some of the local trips." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs H
UK

"Sam's Giardino review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Sep 2014
"The room was good. The food and location were both excellent. Sam was very helpful with our car problems.

I didn't find him the most welcoming of people, but he did his job. The trip with Turnstone Tours wasn't quite as good as expected. That may be in part because it was very windy that day." See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Worcs

"Sam's Giardino review"

3 nights Arrived 25 Sep 2014
"Sam was an interesting and attentive host, staff were friendly and helpful.

The restaurant at the Hansa Hotel was very good and much better than the very touristy Tug." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr M & Ms B
Brussels

"Sam takes great care of his guests"

2 nights Arrived 18 Aug 2014
"A visit at Sam's was a great experience. Sam takes great care of his guests, looking after them personally during meals and entertaining them through interesting conversation. Sam helped us to confirm our activity arrangements for the next day.

The room was comfortable, although due to the coastal location it felt a bit damp by comparison with our previous desert lodge. The food was excellent, both breakfast and dinner, and we wished we had dinner in the lodge on both nights of our stay, as on the first evening our restaurant outing was not very enjoyable.

The dinner at Sam's was much tastier, served in a pleasant, cosy setting." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Showing 41-50 of 173
88%
173 reviews of Sam's Giardino by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
88
71
13
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Swakopmund & Walvis Bay

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse is a small friendly B&B in a peaceful residential area. It's just a short walk from Swkopmund's waterfront & amenities.


95% (222 reviews)
The Stiltz

The Stiltz

Not your typical guesthouse, The Stiltz occupies a glorious location over the Swakop River on the edge of Swakopmund.


87% (62 reviews)
Villa Margherita

Villa Margherita

Villa Margherita is a beautifully renovated B&B in the heart of Swakopmund, with comfortable, well-appointed rooms, and friendly and attentive staff.


88% (58 reviews)
Beach Lodge

Beach Lodge

Right on the sea front, Beach Lodge offers good standard accommodation and its own restaurant, 15 minutes’ drive from Swakopmund.


90% (54 reviews)
Strand Hotel

Strand Hotel

One of the larger hotels in Swakopmund, the Strand is well placed on the seafront with good access to restaurants and the centre of town.


90% (47 reviews)
Lagoon Lodge

Lagoon Lodge

Lagoon Lodge is a quirky little guesthouse located right on the edge of Walvis Bay Lagoon, a good spot for watching the flamingoes that frequent the area.


90% (47 reviews)
Brigadoon

Brigadoon

In a quiet residential location, Brigadoon is conveniently located for the Swakopmund waterfront and amenities.


80% (21 reviews)
Swakopmund Guesthouse

Swakopmund G'house

Swakopmund Guesthouse is a family-run B&B, boasting comfortable and high-quality rooms with a maritime touch.


82% (20 reviews)
Sandfields Guesthouse

Sandfields Guesthouse

Friendly Sandfields guesthouse is a cosy and inviting place to stay just north of Swakopmund town centre, and is particularly suitable for families with children.


92% (20 reviews)
The Delight

The Delight

The Delight is a colourful modern hotel within a short walk of the Swakopmund waterfront and main attractions.


94% (17 reviews)
Hansa Hotel

Hansa Hotel

With a very central location in Swakopmund, the traditional Hansa Hotel is reliably good, though it is quite formal.


88% (16 reviews)
Secret Garden Guesthouse

Secret Garden

Secret Garden Guesthouse is well located in the centre of Swakopmund not far from the sea. With a seaside feel, it has its own small restaurant and bar.


86% (14 reviews)
Sea Breeze Guesthouse

Sea Breeze

Just north of Swakopmund, the delightful Sea Breeze Guesthouse is bright and well-looked after with welcoming and helpful owners.


83% (12 reviews)
Organic Square

Organic Square

Organic Square is a modern guesthouse across two properties in the centre of Swakopmund.


82% (11 reviews)
Desert Breeze Lodge

Desert Breeze

Not your typical Swakopmund guesthouse, Desert Breeze occupies a glorious location overlooking the Swakop River and the desert beyond.


90% (6 reviews)
Pelican Point Lodge

Pelican Point Lodge

Pelican Point Lodge sits on a remote peninsula offering panoramic views of the ocean and is only accessible by 4WD or boat.


100% (4 reviews)
Intermezzo Guesthouse

Intermezzo

In a quiet residential area just north of the town centre, Intermezzo Guesthouse is a comfortable and bright place to stay while in Swakopmund.


90% (4 reviews)
Hotel Zum Kaiser

Zum Kaiser Hotel

Hotel Zum Kaiser (formerly Swakopmund Boutique Hotel) is fairly large by Swakopmund standards, but has a good location in the centre of town, near to the beach.


80% (3 reviews)
Oyster Box Guesthouse

Oyster Box Guesthouse

Oyster Box Guesthouse is a small, modern and comfortable B&B, overlooking Walvis Bay Lagoon.


80% (2 reviews)
Namib Guesthouse

Namib Guesthouse

The Namib Guesthouse is a small, modern B&B, set in Swakopmund's peaceful Kramersdorf area. It's just a short walk from the coast and many amenities.


70% (2 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa