This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Sam's Giardino

Reviews of Sam's Giardino

Wildlife sightings and reviews

173 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Sam's Giardino and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 61-70 of 173
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs A x 5
Oxon

"Sam's is a great place to stay"

3 nights Arrived 15 Sep 2013
"We all asked to go back to Sam's, as we had enjoyed it so much 2 years ago. Luckily, we enjoyed it all just as much again.

Excellent well trained staff.

Superb service

Delicious food & wine

We had arranged our own activities, a full day 'Living Desert' tour with Chris Nels, and a Seal & Dolphin trip with Levo Tours, both of which we would thoroughly recommend. (Both companies collected us from Sam's)" See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana; 2n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms T & Mr C
San Fran

"Sam's Giardino review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Aug 2013
"Sam's was nice. The room was nicely decorated. Bathroom was huge, modern and clean.

We had dinner on site one night. It was 5-course fish meal at 5-star level for reasonable 2 star price. Sam was very helpful providing information, advise and suggestions. The restaurant he recommended in town (Erich's) was also excellent.

They also played a key roll in getting us a scenic flight to see the dunes and skeleton coast." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms W & Dr F
San Fran

"Lovely bit of Swtzerland"

2 nights Arrived 3 May 2013
"Sam's Giardino was like staying in a Swiss chalet. At first we thought the rooms were a bit basic, but realized the bed and duvets were great, the room was immaculate, and we really had all we needed. The garden is a beautiful place to relax. Sam was delightful and offered us a great selection of South African wines by the glass. Breakfast was excellent. We'd definitely stay there again if we were in Swapkopmund.

While there, we went on a Hafeni Cultural tour, which was a fascinating and very enjoyable visit to a township, run by two young men who grew up there. Highly recommended." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Dr F & Mrs A
UK

"Sam's Giardino review"

3 nights Arrived 9 Feb 2013
"We always enjoy staying with Sam and Beethoven, both of whom are extremely friendly and welcoming. We admire Sam for the way he cares for and trains his staff, for their benefit as much as for his own. Sam was so generous in giving us a free wine-tasting as a celebration.

We will stay there whenever we are in Swakopmund, the garden is delightful for relaxation and reading." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr R
Chicago, USA

"Wonderful Experience, Warm Personal Service"

2 nights Arrived 17 Dec 2012
"What can we say about our stay at Sam's Giardino other than how much we enjoyed it. We were welcome to the B&B by one of the staff members who made us feel immediately at home. We later met Sam and his very charming personality. We were able to experience the wine tasting our first night which is highly recommended. He initially lets you test your olfactory acumen and then your are thrown into wine bliss.

We also had the opportunity to have the prix fix dinner: what a treat! Everything was perfect from the table to the setting to the food. It was surprisingly romantic even with a table of about 12 people dining at the same time. Both mornings, almost at the end of our breakfast (which was delicious) he made a point of sitting with us and having a nice conversation.

During our stay we were also recommended some activities and a great restaurant for dinner. Both recommendations were excellent!!!

The only thing we wish is to have had another night or two in Swakopmund!" See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 8n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
Weymouth

"Beethoven - good meet and greet dog"

2 nights Arrived 19 Nov 2012
"We had a car problem on arrival, Sam directed us to the nearby Toyota garage, problem solved. A warm and friendly host, Sam was a font of local knowledge.

The Giardino was lovely, full of character, books and classical music. The gardens were wonderful, so relaxing, and Beethoven for company too.

The breakfast and evening meals were superb, definitely not worth going out in the evening looking for a restaurant." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 3n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs B
Hampshire

"Sam's Giardino review"

1 night Arrived 12 Oct 2012
"I had been here before,and it wasn't my first choice,it's ok but don't think the food quite comes up to the hyp. room re ok,but the bathroom a bit tired. Breakfast was very good.

You really have to like dogs to stay here,he is not restricted to the non food areas." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Average
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Mr & Mrs M
Suffolk

"We did not expect to be so cold!"

2 nights Arrived 12 Oct 2012
"We don't really understand why Swakopmund exists! More of that later.

After a bright but slightly chilly day exploring the lagoon at Walvis Bay we did not expect to drive into fog on the short drive up to Swakopmund. At Sam's we received a rather brusk reception followed by being shown a very cold room. Heating was a plate radiator which took a long time to warm up and as we were not prepared for such cold conditions, we were in the tropics after all, we were not in the best of humour. We decided to eat in and take Sam's five course dinner which was a mistake as the food was not the gourmet experience we expected but a rather ordinary affair. Sam himself warmed once we started asking questions about the town and its people, frequently putting his coffee cup down at our table and sitting down to converse with us. The second night we decided to eat out which we did at the end of the pier with some wonderful fish - kingclip - but there was no heat there either so we did not linger.

However the bread provided at breakfast was to die for. Perhaps one good thing to come out of the fog is that the moisture conditions makes for better quality bread. Lovely German rye bread along with a wide selection of meats, fruit, etc, and eggs cooked as you like them.

As to Swakopmund it seems to have very little going for it. It sits in the middle of the desert shrouded in fog for most of the year with very few on land attractions. If you want to see the wildlife of which the area has plenty than staying in Walvis Bay would be a far better bet. We wanted to see the Welwitscia plants and duly paid for a permit to go there but no one wanted to see it so rather a waste of time finding the location of the place to pay. The plants themselves for non botanists are not very exciting but for myself they were one of the reason why I wanted to go to Namibia.

All in all, apart from the Welwitscias we could easily have given Swakopmind a miss." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs Judd
London

"Hospitable host and comfortable stay"

3 nights Arrived 28 Sep 2012
"Great place to stay and Sam is very hospitable and helpful. Clean and comfortable rooms and a very good wine cellar.

We ate in a couple of times and the food was good and reasonably priced." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
E, S, E & R
UK

"Sam's Giardino - full of character"

2 nights Arrived 15 Sep 2012
"Sam is very much the front man of his Giardino, along with Beethoven the dog, and the establishment very much reflects his character. He is extremely welcoming and knowledgeable, and the whole place is infused with a quirky atmosphere, which you will either appreciate or not!

We really enjoyed his company at the bar and at various times during an excellent dinner. The garden is filled with a great selection of plants and has good siting areas if it is warm enough (not in mid-September!). Rooms are good, and there is a lot of very tasteful art and decor around.

The location of Sam's Giardino is perhaps a touch far from the centre of Swakopmund, in one of the streets that can feel a bit like Clacton on an overcast day. But the personality of the place makes it a great place to stay. Sam's employment policies are laudable, too, and are borne out by his welcoming and efficient staff.

Whilst here, we arranged for these travellers to go Kayaking at Pelican Point. They commented:

Playing with seals at Pelican Point

This trip was one of the highlights of our holiday.

Jeanne drove us past the salt pans, the flamingos, jackals and the Mad Max film set to Pelican Point, where we got into our kayaks. Amazingly, the seals along the lagoon love to play with you - swimming under the kayaks, jumping over, or on to, them, somersaulting, and frolicking next to you. It was a unique experience. We saw dolphins too.

Afterwards, we had hearty sandwiches and hot coffee to warm us up." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Showing 61-70 of 173
88%
173 reviews of Sam's Giardino by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
88
71
13
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Swakopmund & Walvis Bay

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse is a small friendly B&B in a peaceful residential area. It's just a short walk from Swkopmund's waterfront & amenities.


95% (223 reviews)
The Stiltz

The Stiltz

Not your typical guesthouse, The Stiltz occupies a glorious location over the Swakop River on the edge of Swakopmund.


87% (62 reviews)
Villa Margherita

Villa Margherita

Villa Margherita is a beautifully renovated B&B in the heart of Swakopmund, with comfortable, well-appointed rooms, and friendly and attentive staff.


88% (58 reviews)
Beach Lodge

Beach Lodge

Right on the sea front, Beach Lodge offers good standard accommodation and its own restaurant, 15 minutes’ drive from Swakopmund.


90% (54 reviews)
Strand Hotel

Strand Hotel

One of the larger hotels in Swakopmund, the Strand is well placed on the seafront with good access to restaurants and the centre of town.


90% (47 reviews)
Lagoon Lodge

Lagoon Lodge

Lagoon Lodge is a quirky little guesthouse located right on the edge of Walvis Bay Lagoon, a good spot for watching the flamingoes that frequent the area.


90% (47 reviews)
Brigadoon

Brigadoon

In a quiet residential location, Brigadoon is conveniently located for the Swakopmund waterfront and amenities.


80% (21 reviews)
Swakopmund Guesthouse

Swakopmund G'house

Swakopmund Guesthouse is a family-run B&B, boasting comfortable and high-quality rooms with a maritime touch.


82% (20 reviews)
Sandfields Guesthouse

Sandfields Guesthouse

Friendly Sandfields guesthouse is a cosy and inviting place to stay just north of Swakopmund town centre, and is particularly suitable for families with children.


92% (20 reviews)
The Delight

The Delight

The Delight is a colourful modern hotel within a short walk of the Swakopmund waterfront and main attractions.


94% (17 reviews)
Hansa Hotel

Hansa Hotel

With a very central location in Swakopmund, the traditional Hansa Hotel is reliably good, though it is quite formal.


88% (16 reviews)
Secret Garden Guesthouse

Secret Garden

Secret Garden Guesthouse is well located in the centre of Swakopmund not far from the sea. With a seaside feel, it has its own small restaurant and bar.


86% (14 reviews)
Sea Breeze Guesthouse

Sea Breeze

Just north of Swakopmund, the delightful Sea Breeze Guesthouse is bright and well-looked after with welcoming and helpful owners.


83% (12 reviews)
Organic Square

Organic Square

Organic Square is a modern guesthouse across two properties in the centre of Swakopmund.


82% (11 reviews)
Desert Breeze Lodge

Desert Breeze

Not your typical Swakopmund guesthouse, Desert Breeze occupies a glorious location overlooking the Swakop River and the desert beyond.


90% (6 reviews)
Pelican Point Lodge

Pelican Point Lodge

Pelican Point Lodge sits on a remote peninsula offering panoramic views of the ocean and is only accessible by 4WD or boat.


100% (4 reviews)
Intermezzo Guesthouse

Intermezzo

In a quiet residential area just north of the town centre, Intermezzo Guesthouse is a comfortable and bright place to stay while in Swakopmund.


90% (4 reviews)
Hotel Zum Kaiser

Zum Kaiser Hotel

Hotel Zum Kaiser (formerly Swakopmund Boutique Hotel) is fairly large by Swakopmund standards, but has a good location in the centre of town, near to the beach.


80% (3 reviews)
Oyster Box Guesthouse

Oyster Box Guesthouse

Oyster Box Guesthouse is a small, modern and comfortable B&B, overlooking Walvis Bay Lagoon.


80% (2 reviews)
Namib Guesthouse

Namib Guesthouse

The Namib Guesthouse is a small, modern B&B, set in Swakopmund's peaceful Kramersdorf area. It's just a short walk from the coast and many amenities.


70% (2 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa