This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Motswiri Camp
Motswiri Camp
Motswiri Camp
Motswiri Camp

Reviews of Motswiri Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

14 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Motswiri Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Sep-2018, 1 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Motswiri Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

100% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Roan antelope

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 14
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs S
Hampshire

"Motswiri Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2018
"We loved the remoteness of Motswiri and also that the staff was made up of so many local people.

Two Boy, our guide, was full of fascinating local knowledge about animals, birds, plants and insects. John also gave a lot of great insight into the natural world. BK is a superb host who, along with lovely team, all put in a lot of effort to make our stay truly magical - thank you!

It was also fun to have walking and boat safaris for a change." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 4n in Namibia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Roan antelope

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wild dog

1 sighting

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Prof V & Mr T
Oxford

"Excellent remote camp"

2 nights Arrived 4 Apr 2018
"This camp was also wonderful - quiet, remote and extremely well run. Witness was our brilliant guide, and we also enjoyed chatting to Russ the camp manager.

The tents are very pretty. There was a lot of dense vegetation around, so we thought that we might not see that many animals - but that assumption turned out to be wrong! Loads of zebras and giraffes - and when we went to try to do a mokoro trip, we found that there was a lioness and her four cubs playing around the mokoro! So that trip got delayed a bit, while we focussed on the lion family. When they finally wandered off, we had a splendid boat trip right at sundown.

A really excellent place." See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms A
Wareham

"Motswiri Camp Feedback"

4 nights Arrived 10 May 2017
"I thoroughly enjoyed this camp which was more relaxing. Breakfast and evening drinks were spent around the fire and under the stars.
Due to the nature of the activities at this camp the pace was a bit slower with shorter time spent walking or riding.

The emphasis was very much about the walking and riding and not so much on spotting the variety of animals. Visitors need to understand that due to the vastness of the concession with only at times one vehicle out and about the chance of spotting various animals is less likely. (Other camps have lots of vehicles communicating and working together to find the animals).

The emphasis for us was about being out in the bush with very experienced local guides who's expertise and knowledge of the flora, fauna, animals and birds is outstanding. I felt safe at all times with our two guides. They were very open and welcoming as well as professional at all times. I learnt more in one day about the natural environment than at the other camp.
So, in my view, this camp provides quite a different experience and not ideal for those seeking to spot and photograph lots of animals." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Darius
Paris

"Motswiri Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 17 Feb 2017
"Horses! Ran with zebra, observed giraffe, elephant, kudus etc from a saddle. Magic.

Canoes! Paddled for miles on the spillway (wet season).

Even had an outdoor banquet prepared by our team on the spillway in the wilds. Again, Magic." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs S
Oxford

"Motswiri Camp Review"

3 nights Arrived 28 Sep 2016
"The reason we visited Motswiri was because it is one of the few places in Botswana that offered horse riding (for my wife) plus other activities for non-riders (i.e., me).

The horse riding was excellent - very well looked after and well trained high quality horses, and very good terrain for riding. The horse safari guide was extremely good and helped to ensure the experience was both outstanding and safe.

The non-riding activities were also good and included game drives, walking safaris and canoeing. It should be noted that lion, leopard and cheetah sitings are infrequent in this area (hence riding is more practicable) but there was a lot of other game on view to keep the interest high, including lots of elephants, wild dogs, buffalo, giraffe, hippo, etc etc.

We would recommend the late afternoon canoe trip down the river running past the camp - our experience here was particularly memorable as about 100 elephants had congregated around the start point - making setting off very interesting.

Another highlight of our stay here was being treated to some fantastic singing and dancing by all the staff on the day of the 50th anniversary of Botswana's independence.

The location was excellent with a lovely view over the river. The rooms were not of the highest quality of the camps were stayed in but were more than adequate. The food was also good - a particular highlight being British Desserts (e.g., a yummy sticky-toffee-pudding one evening).

We stayed at Motswiri for 3 nights, which I think was ideal - long enough to really enjoy all the riding had too offer, but short enough that the non-rider didn't get bored." See all these reviews: 13n in Botswana; 4n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr B
Basel

"Beautiful, beautiful Motswiri"

2 nights Arrived 23 Jul 2016
"Walking safari is such a different experience to being in a vehicle! Walking puts your sightings much more in the hands of fate, as you are not able to cover as much ground, but the experience is much more intense. Our encounter with a herd of buffalo, looking them in the eye and feeling the ground shake under our feet, was brilliant. We really enjoyed our walks and learnt so much about tracks, behavior and plants, even though we saw fewer animals than at other camps.

The food was excellent, accompanied by friendly staff and great guides, who aren't shy of singing a song or two (which inspired the title of this review)! The hot water system and shower were the best we experienced.

The room was really comfortable, although some of the bed linen was a little tired, with a few small holes. This didn't affect our enjoyment, but may matter to others.

We'd definitely recommend Motswiri for a different safari experience." See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms C
Ontario

"Motswiri Camo stay"

3 nights Arrived 9 Nov 2015
"In short, it was paradise. The entire safari was a dreamlike experience, but Motswiri was the best part.

If at all possible please convey our deepest thanks to Carmen and Cliff for accommodating us." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr W
Freeport

"Treated like royalty at Motswiri Camp."

3 nights Arrived 19 Apr 2015
"We spent 3 nights at Motswiri and received great personalized attention.

We were constantly questioned about what we wanted to do next and always offered more food and drink. Food was varied and good and the tents were the most modern and spacious I've yet seen in Africa after maybe a dozen safaris.

The added attractions of horseback riding and boating were what attracted me to Motswirii and I wasn't disappointed. Trail bosses John and Carmen were both helpful and patient with us." See all these reviews: 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms B & Ms L
New York

"Unsurpassed Adventure"

3 nights Arrived 29 May 2014
"Motswiri fulfilled the dream of horseback riding in Africa! The horses were excellent and responsive, the guides are pros and the landscape is breathtaking.

The riding is not for wimps! The first afternoon, introductory ride was a lovely, serene way to ease into the Botswana riding scene for about five minutes, at which time, our guide received word that the wild dogs had made a kill. Off we went at full speed to see the spectacle. The dogs devoured a kudu as the horses grazed nonchalantly. They were so at ease, you'd think the dogs were domestic, until you saw them rip the flesh off a carcass. The dogs seemed slightly curious toward us, but somewhat unsure, when they came closer and flinched back again, as the horses munched away unperturbed on the choicest grass.

The next day, we had a long ride through the flooding landscape, sometimes cantering on land around holes and often swimming on horseback. We rode right over a python, which our guide picked up in his bare hands to show us, despite the unfortunate odor, and we rounded hippos, and passed elephants bathing. Finally on he way back, as my horse was about to swim across a channel, some splashing caught our guide Topper's attention. "Nile crocodile", he elucidated. "Ah, do they like horses?" I asked before taking the plunge. "Only the little ones, it's ok", he replied with such assuredness, that I led my very large horse to swim by as the croc receded...

It was a fantastic adventure! Delicious food, knowledgeable staff, lovely people and a beautiful setting made this camp unforgettable!" See all these reviews: 17n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Family L
Lagos

"Motswiri Camp review"

1 night Arrived 24 Mar 2014
"See previous comments. [Ed: see below]" See all these reviews: 6n in Zambia; 4n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 14
99%
14 reviews of Motswiri Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
13
1
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Kwando-Linyanti area

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Lagoon Camp

Lagoon Camp

Within the vast Kwando Reserve, renowned for its wild dogs, Lagoon Camp offers excellent game viewing that focuses on predators.


94% (229 reviews)
Lebala Camp

Lebala Camp

With enthusiastic guides and trackers, Lebala – in a vast private reserve – is a particularly good camp for seeking wild dogs..


95% (174 reviews)
Selinda Camp

Selinda Camp

In an attractive area that is particularly rich in game between June and November, the luxurious Selinda Camp caters particularly well for photographers.


96% (66 reviews)
DumaTau Camp

DumaTau

DumaTau, in the private Linyanti Reserve, offers game drives, seasonal boat cruises and walks. Wildlife safaris here are quite seasonal, and are at their best during the height of the dry season, between June and October.


95% (47 reviews)
Linyanti Bush Camp

Linyanti Bush Camp

An increasingly rare find in Botswana, Linyanti Bush Camp blends relative simplicity with numerous activities and very good guiding.


89% (38 reviews)
Savuti Camp

Savuti Camp

For years the Savuti Channel ran dry, but it's now flowing again and this newly refurbished, 7-room lodge has pride of place to witness the spectacle.


97% (26 reviews)
Selinda Explorers Camp

Selinda Explorers Camp

The luxurious, traditional tented Selinda Explorers Camp offers a mix of walking, canoeing and game drives led by really top notch guides in a game-rich area.


96% (17 reviews)
Zarafa Camp

Zarafa Camp

Zarafa is an exclusive camp overlooking the scenic Zibadianja Lagoon within the Selinda Reserve, a particularly game-rich area between June and early November.


100% (13 reviews)
Kings Pool

Kings Pool

King’s Pool is a top-end luxury safari camp with a price tag to match; the game viewing can be very good during the dry season.


71% (7 reviews)
Linyanti Ebony

Linyanti Ebony

Independently owned and run, the small Linyanti Ebony sits on the same site as Linyanti Bush Camp, with similarly high standards of guiding, and a strong emphasis on the wildlife experience.


100% (6 reviews)
Selinda Adventure Trail

Selinda Adventure Trail

The Selinda Adventure Trail offers a novel and tranquil way to travel through part of Botswana's pristine wilderness whilst staying in comfortable fly-camps and led by a knowledgeable guide.


100% (4 reviews)
Little Motswiri

Little Motswiri

A simple and remote satellite camp, Little Motswiri focuses on non-motorised activities, particularly walking and horseriding. It enables guests to explore 120,000 acres of private wilderness around the Selinda Spillway.


100% (1 review)
Footsteps across the Linyanti

Footsteps across Linyanti

Footsteps Across the Linyanti is the only true mobile walking safari we know of in Botswana. Explore a wild and remote wilderness on foot with a knowledgeable guide.


40% (1 review)
Linyanti Expeditions
No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa