This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Footsteps across the Delta
Footsteps across the Delta
Footsteps across the Delta
Footsteps across the Delta
Footsteps across the Delta
Footsteps across the Delta

Footsteps across the Delta


19°3’18.2"S 23°8’22.5"E

Reviews of Footsteps across the Delta

Wildlife sightings and reviews

42 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Footsteps across the Delta and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2019, 1 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Footsteps across the Delta.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

100% success

Wild dog

0% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Buffalo

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Sitatunga

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

White Rhino

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Showing 31-40 of 42
Duration
Arrival date
Three
Manchester

"Footsteps review"

2 nights Arrived 26 Apr 2010
"Footsteps is a rare gem of a place. The camp manager / guide Paul was the best guide and host we experienced and the food at footsteps is miraculous when you see the "bush kitchen" its prepared in. If you want to get up close with Africa and can live with a long drop toilet for a couple of days then this place has to be top of the list of anyones visit.

Whilst you don't see as much game on foot as you do in a vehicle. There really is nothing like several hours of walking in the African bush with just the sound of your footsteps and the workd around you for company. We had excellent game sightings at other camps of the more glamorous and famous game. However, I shan't ever forget walking across Pauls pan in the setting sun with elephants, impala and Giraffe in view. Then being followed by a journey of Giraffes for an hour or so before finding our sundowners set-up at four rivers (quite the most beautiful spot of the whole tri).

Our stay was topped off after being mock charged by an elephant in the camp itself.

Words don't really convey the feeling at footsteps, its Africa with all its beauty and rawness there for guests to experience and I hope it never changes." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Dr P & F
London

"Footsteps review"

2 nights Arrived 18 Nov 2009
"Raelly enjoyed it with an interesting guide. Nice to walk

You learn more walking than driving" See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs W
NHants

"Great Bush memories at Footsteps"

2 nights Arrived 17 Oct 2009
"For our third camp in Botswana ( 2 nights) we wanted the 'bush experience' with hurricane lamps, no electricity ( solar generator for battery re-charging), drop toliets and bag showers. As well as the opportunity just to walk from the camp and see nature from a metre rather than the back of a safari vehicle. We were not disappointed with the experience.

Finding the full skeleton of an elephant on the morning bush walk was an education. Seeing hundreds of carmine bee eaters leaving their ground nests, following a 2.5 metre python ( what a beautiful creature) into the base of an old tree were also very memorable. Going the opposite way to a black mamba was sensible! Seeing the male and female leopard on our return to the air strip was also very special.

We were amazed by the quaility and variety of the food on offer at the meal times, especially given the bush kitchen location. We needed the walks to lose the calories the camp was piling on us ! Home made bread and cakes, freshly made mushroom soup, quail casserole, chicken madras ,etc etc. Hot water delivered to your tent side bowl morning and evening. Hot water for the bucket shower on demand.

Sitting by the bush fire with a cold drink ( and yes they could even produce ice cubes) listening to the night sounds. Terrific !
Travel light as possible - like most camps there is a daily laundry service.
Highly recommended as a contrast to the ' more pampered bush experiences'

Walking is by far the best activity at the camp. Game drives were good and educational. Not the best location we had seen for mokoro." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr P & Ms A
Oxon

"Footsteps review"

2 nights Arrived 26 May 2009
"Great walks with TT.

Fantastic sundowner by a lagoon with 10 hippos." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr K & Mrs T
Germany

"Footsteps review"

3 nights Arrived 23 May 2009
"Amazingly luxurious when considering the basic basic set-up as remote camp outside of basic infrastructure. Food was excellent, service very good. The most important for us: the manager and leading guide TT and his assistant guide Aubrey were super-good, skilled and very knowledgeable – and most intelligent and entertaining dinner company, too. We had so good time there, that we really do miss the place already.

On our walks we encountered situations that really test the skills of the guides: black mamba crossing our path just in two meters, 5 male lions sighting us behind the grass in just 20 meters and some more. Even in such extreme situations everything our guides told us and how they reacted and managed the situations confirmed: perfect professionals!

We were sorry to leave the Footsteps! We loved every minute there and could have spent few more days. This is Africa as we like it." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs P
York

"Fantastic, most remote, great for walking"

2 nights Arrived 7 Sep 2008
"Great walking, superb knowlegeable guide in Titi, amazing food despite the remoteness, the mokoro trips can bring you VERY close to the hippos, but walking towards the roaring lions with Titi's expert guidance was the highlight." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
The O family
London

"Footsteps review"

2 nights Arrived 19 Jul 2008
"This was what we wanted - a remote small camp with the opportunity to walk, and some very congenial company who were also into walking.

We were amazed at the ingenuity and skill of the staff in creating amazing meals and hot showers from charcoal pits in the ground. The camp needs to make it clear - as you did to us - that it is a specialised walking place, where you'd be lucky to see big game (one of our co-guests would have been much happier at neighbouring Shinde).

The guides were again very knowledgeable and helpful, though a bit more distant than Lagoon. We found Ker and Downey camps in general somewhat more formal, and a bit more inflexible, than Kwando. But a great experience." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 4n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr M & Ms C
Dublin

"Magnificent!"

2 nights Arrived 29 Nov 2007
"No tea served at 5.30 allowing us time to struggle out of bed, wash and get to breakfast at 6.00. This camp was the only camp to serve porridge for breakfast. Other camps should take note!

Again food superb. The sightings were wonderful. Guide was amazed at number of sightings we saw over the two days, for instance we saw 4 different prides of lion in two days.

On way to airstrip we even saw leopard turtle to which the the guide exclaimed that we must have seen nearly everything available. We even saw a family of aard-wolf with puppies which was a first for the guide as well! Great place." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs F
Ireland

"wonderful footsteps"

2 nights Arrived 22 Nov 2007
"This was magic, best place of all the camps, small tents, close to nature. Great company from the staff and atmosphere. Only problem with walking safari's is the long wait after the morning walk before the evening walk.

This felt like camping in the bush but with the great food and wine." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 4n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms F & co
Sacramento

"Great start to our safari"

1 night Arrived 6 Nov 2007
"After a long flight from the US the previous day and our two short flights to get to Footsteps, we were delighted to be out and walking our first afternoon. We weren't sure this would work well but it certainly did for us.

Immediately immersed us in the experience, got us tired enough to sleep well. Our guide, Alberto, was very knowledgeable and led two very interesting walks.

Based on our experience, we would do another walking safari, maybe for two or three nights next time." See all these reviews: 5n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Showing 31-40 of 42
99%
42 reviews of Footsteps across the Delta by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
39
3
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okavango Delta Safari Reserves

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp's private reserve boasts land and water activities year round, with excellent game-viewing opportunities and access to permanent channels of the north-east Okavango Delta.


93% (184 reviews)
Little Kwara

Little Kwara

Little Kwara is an intimate camp offering enthusiastic guiding on both land- and water-based safaris in an area known for good densities of big game.


93% (177 reviews)
Little Vumbura

Little Vumbura

On a secluded island within a private reserve, Little Vumbura combines superb game viewing with a broad diversity of habitats in a truly picturesque setting.


96% (122 reviews)
Shinde Camp

Shinde Camp

With experienced staff and a wealth of activities, Shinde offers a traditional safari in an exceptionally varied and wildlife-rich environment.


93% (87 reviews)
Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba, in Botswana's southern Okavango Delta, is a small family friendly safari camp; it offers great dry-land safaris and in our experience consistently delivers good game sightings.


96% (78 reviews)
Sandibe Safari Lodge

Sandibe Safari Lodge

The luxurious Sandibe Okavango Safari Lodge lies in a private concession in the heart of the Okavango Delta, beside Moremi Game Reserve, with superb big-game viewing.


94% (71 reviews)
Kanana

Kanana

In a beautiful part of the Delta, Kanana focuses on fantastic water activities and birding – including exclusive access to an impressive heronry.


95% (67 reviews)
Chitabe Camp

Chitabe Camp

In the southern Okavango Delta, the excellent Chitabe Camp concentrates on dry-land safaris in an area that we've found particularly good for wild dog sightings in recent years.


96% (64 reviews)
Tubu Tree Camp

Tubu Tree Camp

A traditional tented camp with a distinctive tree-house feel, Tubu Tree offers some of the best game viewing in the Jao Reserve.


98% (38 reviews)
Splash Camp

Splash Camp

Set in the Kwara Reserve, offering superb wildlife viewing year-round, Splash offers both land and water activities led by guides with a particular knack for tracking big game.


95% (38 reviews)
Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp

Nxabega Tented Camp

Nxabega offers a selection of both land- and water-based activities, plus very good guiding, food and service, but game viewing can be somewhat erratic.


94% (35 reviews)
Vumbura Plains

Vumbura Plains

Indulgently stylish and luxurious, Vumbura Plains offers superb game viewing and birding on an exceptionally varied private reserve.


96% (34 reviews)
Gomoti Plains Camp

Gomoti Plains Camp

Overlooking a tributary of the Gomoti River, Gomoti Plains Camp is a classically designed camp with very comfortable tents in a good game- viewing area.


92% (30 reviews)
Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp is a small safari camp with an informal island feel; it is ideal for water-based activities in the Delta and offers excellent birdwatching.


98% (26 reviews)
Kwetsani Camp

Kwetsani Camp

Deep in the Delta, overlooking a floodplain, Kwetsani Camp is a small, high-end camp with good access to areas for land and water-based activities.


95% (22 reviews)
Mapula Lodge

Mapula Lodge

For an affordable yet varied safari encompassing a range of eco-systems, the traditional Mapula Lodge takes a lot of beating.


94% (19 reviews)
Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp is a well-run, intimate camp in a pretty part of the Okavango, offering a range of activities and the option to spend a morning walking with elephants.


92% (17 reviews)
Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp is a traditional safari camp, best known for the thrilling lion and buffalo interaction that is often found here in broad daylight.


94% (16 reviews)
Stanley's Camp

Stanley's Camp

In a private concession south of Moremi Game Reserve, Stanley's Camp offers 4WD game drives, seasonal water activities and a superb elephant interaction.


92% (15 reviews)
Little Tubu

Little Tubu

Little Tubu is a new, traditional camp with just three tented chalets and a distinctive tree-house feel. The areas around it can be explored by water and land-based activities year round.


100% (12 reviews)
Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp lies amidst stunning Okavango Delta scenery. Come for idyllic mokoro trips and great birdwatching, and accept that big-game sightings here are a bonus.


93% (12 reviews)
Xaranna Okavango Delta Lodge

Xaranna

Xaranna is a plush tented camp amongst the idyllic waterways and islands of the Delta. Each air-conditioned tent has a plunge pool. Water activities and pampering are the focus here.


90% (8 reviews)
Duba Explorers Camp

Duba Explorers Camp

Intimate and elegant, Duba Explorers Camp promises a firm safari focus in a remote corner of the Okavango, led by a team who value the highest guiding and hosting standards.


94% (7 reviews)
Pelo Camp

Pelo Camp

In a pristine wilderness environment deep in the Okavango Delta, the seasonal Pelo Camp is tented yet comfortable, with activities focusing on excursions by mokoro.


97% (7 reviews)
Seba Camp

Seba Camp

Seba Camp is a luxury camp in a lovely location that offers the full range of water and land safari activities, depending on the time of year. This camp is particularly suitable for families.


90% (6 reviews)
Jao Camp

Jao Camp

In a beautiful area with fantastic water activities, Jao combines an idyllic location with high levels of luxury and service, and a top-end spa.


80% (4 reviews)
Abu Camp

Abu Camp

Abu Camp is an exclusive safari camp on the western side of the Botswana's Okavango Delta - offering superb elephant-back safaris and opportunities to walk with them too.


70% (2 reviews)
Okavango Delta Walking Safari

Okavango Walking Safari

The Okavango Delta Walking Safari camps in a secluded Okavango Delta Reserve where there are few roads; the ideal location for a walking trail led by an expert guide.


100% (1 review)
Kiri Camp
No reviews yet
Setari Camp

Setari Camp

Setari Camp stands on an island dotted with palm trees, close to the base of the Okavango’s ‘Panhandle"


No reviews yet
Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge is a luxurious camp with international-style facilities including air conditioning and intercom in each room; offering water based activities in the Okavango Delta.


No reviews yet
Xudum Okavango Delta Lodge

Xudum Delta Lodge

Xudum is a beautifully crafted lodge well situated to explore the Delta waterways. Each air-conditioned suite has a private plunge pool and a lofty viewing deck with a sala that doubles as a 'star bed'.


No reviews yet
Qorokwe Camp

Qorokwe Camp

Luxurious and contemporary, the relatively new Qorokwe Camp is a gem in the Okavango Delta, offering land- and occasionally water-based activities in a prime wildlife area.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa